We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Salty House

21 Northumberland Place, Teignmouth 01626 879574, England
Old Salty House

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Old Salty when attending our friends' wedding. It was very quaint, with a spiral staircase to the rooms which are set up to make either 2 B&B rooms or a 2-bed apartment and kitchen to let self-catering. The lady owner is very friendly and welcoming. Close to the sea and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just spent 2 nights in this wonderful B&B, our room was very well presented with everything we needed and a brilliant shower! Sarah your breakfasts were some of the best we have ever had! sorry to have to come back home to cereal and toast again! Would definitely return again, make sure your there when the laundry man arrives... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my partner stayed over bank holiday Sunday for just the one night. It was fantastic! Sarah is such a friendly host. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious and the bed was lovely giving us both a great nights sleep. Breakfast was fantastic! It was lovely to be able to make a pot of tea in a china... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

My wife and I stayed at The Old Salty House for the last night stay of a three day walk along the SW Coastal Path before our last leg from Teignmouth to Exmouth, with our friends. It is located right in the main part of Teignmouth which is handy, but it does mean that it can be a little noisy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

I've just returned from a wonderful couple of days at Old Salty House. Sarah was a fantastic host and was friendly and helpful. the breakfast was delicious, free range eggs, locally sourced sausages and the best fried bread I've ever had! The room was spacious and clean. The local area is delightful, wonderful local pubs and a stones throw from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSaltyHouse123, Owner at Old Salty House, responded to this review

Really glad you enjoyed your stay in Teignmouth. Thank You for your great review. Sarah :) More 

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

The Old Salty House is located within handy walking distance of the sea, river, shops, pubs and restaurants which is its best feature. The rooms need tidying up, the tv didn't work and the bathroom was tiny. The towels for example should have been thrown out about 3 years' ago. The breakfast was fine but we were instructed that it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldSaltyHouse123, Owner at Old Salty House, responded to this review

Hello Moira, Thank You for your review and I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and also that you didn't speak to me about your concerns during your stay. If you had mentioned to me that you couldn't operate the TV and freeview box I would have shown you how, as they are working perfectly. We... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

In the heart of Teignmouth 2 minutes from the sea front. This was a really comfortable bedroom with plenty of room to move about. Tastefully decorated. Lovely hospitable hostess for which nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Great communication leading up to my stay made check-in easy. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

This a warm and welcoming b&b. A spacious, clean room that had tin of coffee and lots of teabags and choc chip cookies. A lovely warm room with a good shower and plenty of hot water. Bed was comfy too! The breakfast was brilliant..considering there was only 2 of us staying there was a good choice and combinations of cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

This was a last minute with little research but it was such a great find! There was a warm welcome and the room was spacious, with lovely tea and coffee and biscuits..none of the sachets that you get in corporate places. It's in a very convenient position-1 minute to back beach area and 2 minutes to the promenade and beach..and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Found this at short notice. Very happy with price and service. Room and shower excelllent. Food amazing for price, very good quality. Sarah was very friendly and easy to talk to. Will definately come back and highly recommend to anyone staying in or near Teignmouth. Good location for shops, pubs and beach etc. Terry and Chris Meeke.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities