We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Salty House

21 Northumberland Place, Teignmouth 01626 879574, England
Old Salty House
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've just returned from a wonderful couple of days at Old Salty House. Sarah was a fantastic host and was friendly and helpful. the breakfast was delicious, free range eggs, locally sourced sausages and the best fried bread I've ever had! The room was spacious and clean. The local area is delightful, wonderful local pubs and a stones throw from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Old Salty House is located within handy walking distance of the sea, river, shops, pubs and restaurants which is its best feature. The rooms need tidying up, the tv didn't work and the bathroom was tiny. The towels for example should have been thrown out about 3 years' ago. The breakfast was fine but we were instructed that it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSaltyHouse123, Owner at Old Salty House, responded to this review

Hello Moira, Thank You for your review and I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and also that you didn't speak to me about your concerns during your stay. If you had mentioned to me that you couldn't operate the TV and freeview box I would have shown you how, as they are working perfectly. We... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

In the heart of Teignmouth 2 minutes from the sea front. This was a really comfortable bedroom with plenty of room to move about. Tastefully decorated. Lovely hospitable hostess for which nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Great communication leading up to my stay made check-in easy. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

This a warm and welcoming b&b. A spacious, clean room that had tin of coffee and lots of teabags and choc chip cookies. A lovely warm room with a good shower and plenty of hot water. Bed was comfy too! The breakfast was brilliant..considering there was only 2 of us staying there was a good choice and combinations of cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

This was a last minute with little research but it was such a great find! There was a warm welcome and the room was spacious, with lovely tea and coffee and biscuits..none of the sachets that you get in corporate places. It's in a very convenient position-1 minute to back beach area and 2 minutes to the promenade and beach..and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Found this at short notice. Very happy with price and service. Room and shower excelllent. Food amazing for price, very good quality. Sarah was very friendly and easy to talk to. Will definately come back and highly recommend to anyone staying in or near Teignmouth. Good location for shops, pubs and beach etc. Terry and Chris Meeke.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Of all the places we have stayed in the world this has to be the best B&B and rates as highly as some 5 star hotels in Japan, USA, and most European cities for cleanliness and service. Sarah's breakfasts are absolutely perfect in every way and the best I have experienced anywhere. Rooms are tastefully furnished with perfect details for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast, we stayed three nights for the Jazz Festival. Which is equally worth a visit. We found the accommodation well equipped and furnished, the en-suite was immaculate in design and cleanliness. First class. Being foolhardy I attempted and succeeded on the full breakfast on the first morning. What a delight. I never managed it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A spotlessly clean bnb, beautifully presented and ran by the lovely Sarah who makes the most amazing cooked breakfasts ever, I was only going to have one on the first morning but could not help myself every other morning! Local high quality sausages, crispy fried bread, perfectly cooked lean bacon, glowing golden egg, grilled tomato, mushrooms, baked beans.. mmm!! Plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSaltyHouse123, Owner at Old Salty House, responded to this review

Wow, what a great review, Thank You very much :) More 

London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights and found everything very clean and comfortable - the creaky stairs are a feature of such a lovely old property! Would use again. Only thing I would say is maybe Sarah could provide an oversheet in addition to the duvet, as we found it very hot in the warm weather - probably should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldSaltyHouse123, Owner at Old Salty House, responded to this review

Thank You for your lovely review. So sorry about the top sheet - I meant to ask you at breakfast the first morning if you would like one and then forgot! The stairs are creaky as it is the original Georgian staircase. Last summer, when we had so much rain, they hardly creaked at all :)) Thanks again, Sarah More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question