We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Buonconvento hotels

Villa Armena Relais

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Villa Armena Relais to your Saves list
Villa Armena Relais
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
93%
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Buonconvento
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Richard S London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (166)
  • Photos (145)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    9
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
112
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a long but picturesque drive from Pisa via Siena, we pushed our Fiat 500 rental up a long and winding road to Villa Armena. Their pre-sent instructions were spot on, no sat nav can find this ace, and that is indeed part of its charm. Being cut off brings an instant relaxation. We discover landscaped grounds and a beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed Three days at this beautiful hotel in July. As an Interior designer I seek hotels that inspire me, and this truly did! It was beautifully decorated in every room, and the bathroom in our suite had lots of luxury details. We loved the pool area, though the water could have been a little warmer. Nice base to explore... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you're looking to get away from it all and have a quiet, most enjoyable experience, then this hotel is for you. It's very luxurious and the staff are fantastic. We quite enjoyed our dining experience and our kids loved being able to watch the chef preparing our meals from the viewing window. The pool is very pretty but a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights recently in July and after reading the amazing reviews and seeing the awards that Villa Armena had recently won, we were so excited. Maybe because of all the great reviews, my expectations were high, but unfortunately our experience didn't meet expectations. It was a lovely hotel. Lovely breakfast, lovely room, clean... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Having just been there this week with my wife, I can't share enough pleasure about the property. In the middle of nowhere it is an oasis in Italy. The care that was put into the property and its renovation from the food, the service, the rooms, the bathrooms and the grounds makes it a diamond in the rough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Although the hotel is beautiful and a perfect hideaway, we were very much disappointed. The first thing that welcomed us to our room was a sign that told us: "it is strictly forbidden to consume your own food in and around the hotel. Failing to comply with this rule will result in a charge of 25 Euro per day and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review

Dear Bulutsuzl, We both know that what you wrote is just completely false. And we both know that you threaten us of writing a very bad review, as you did - congratulations!!! - if we were not going to give you a "special price". Shame on you. Tripadvisor is not meant to be used as a tool to get free... More

Arroyo Grande, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I had the fortune of spending 2 nites at Villa Armena in June 2014. The villa has been beautifully and painstakingly restored and decorated to a grace and grandeur only found in gorgeous Tuscany -- all by the husband and wife team of Edoardo and Elena (with adorable baby Leonardo!). The furnishings and appointments (many of which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Perched atop of a hill at the end of a long unpaved climbing road (narrow and with many potholes), this Renaissance Villa offers modern accomodations with fabulous views of the gorgeous countryside. The bed is firm and super comfortable, the pillows good (and you can choose different ones), the bathroom absolutely fantastic with luxury amenities. Where the Villa comes short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review

Good evening dear AGrassini and thank you very much for your very good review of Villa Armena, I'm glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. I think you have really hit the spot with your review: we are not the Four Season, we do not want to be the Four Season and we don't charge the prices of the... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

An outstanding property which has been renovated to the highest standards by the owners. A great deal of thought and good taste has resulted in a retreat which matches the wonderful surrounding countryside. Eduardo and Laura worked so hard to make our stay memorable and we would not only recommend this location, but will return. I can sympathise with and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review

Ciao John L! Thank you very much for your excellent review and for your company over the past few days. We have enjoyed your company as much as you seem to have enjoyed your stay with us and of course we cannot wait for you to visit again as you promised :-) See you soon! Edoardo More

Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My daughter and I traveled to Tuscany for a week. We chose to stay in Buonconvento for it is close to Montepulciano, Pienza, San Quirico D'Orcia and Montalcino. I really wanted to book two days in the Villa Armenian since I saw the photos on their site. And we're glad we did! It is just outstanding! The villa is beautiful... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review

Hello LoisSPSP! Wow what a fabulous review! Thank you so much for your kind words. It's been a true pleasure looking after you ladies for the few days you stayed with us. Come back soon! Edoardo More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Villa Armena Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Villa Armena Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Armena Relais

Address: Localita Armena, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Armena Relais 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Escapio so you can book your Villa Armena Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Armena Relais Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Buonconvento with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the romantic heart of Tuscany, only 20 minutes from Siena, only a stone’s throw from Montalcino and Val d’Orcia, in a fairytale world exuding magic and beauty, Villa Armena is a late Renaissance structure. Built of red brick, with original oak beams and roof, and having terracotta floors and a beautiful Italianate garden, Villa Armena today is an exclusive establishment with just 10 rooms, each one unique, where service, attention to detail and exclusivity are the cornerstones of our offering. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Villa Armena Relais and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Villa Armena Relais staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer