We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau de Mazan

#1 of 2 Hotels in Mazan
Certificate of Excellence
Place Napoleon, 84380 Mazan, France
Hotel amenities
Chateau de Mazan
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mazan
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014
Donna G Australia
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    56
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
23
103
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Aktau
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015 via mobile

As with other reviewers, the cement mixer is still outside the window! Utterly confused decor giving what could be a stunning property random character with little thought. We have stayed in better hostels. The room we stayed in was horrible, awful shabby chic furniture with such poor quality, lumps of wood nailed together. The bed was like a brick with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
chateaudemazan, Directeur général at Chateau de Mazan, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your comment about our hotel. I am very sorry that you didn't like the room which was booked for you. This room is actually visible on our website on the rooms and suites section in the Charme rooms pictures. We could have change your room and propose you another if you had complain to reception.... More 

Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We are a family of four and enjoyed everything the Chateau had to offer. There was easy parking for our hire car. Reception helped us with laptops and wifi for booking and printing tickets. Reception also helped with planning our days and indicating sites not to be missed especially with children. We enjoyed the beautiful dinner in the Chateau but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Sea Ranch, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We have had two extended stays at this lovely country hotel. Service is caring and excellent. Nice rooms. Good food. Great spot for celebrating a special occasio. Well situated for touring.Decor is droll.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essex Fells, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Margret and I arrived at Hotel Mazan September 27 and departed early October 1, 2014 for the American Consulate in Marseille. While in the area our passports and credit cards were stolen. We are so grateful to all the staff at Hotel Mazan for their caring and unlimited support without which our crisis would not have been so easily resolved.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fairhope, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Arrived with my traveling group of fifteen ladies, and this was the last leg of our trip; we were actually expecting a chateau in the country. The view from my window was of a cement mixer and trash on the adjacent property. The chateau itself is lovely, but there was no shower and I had to go to a friend's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I organised my 50th birthday at Château de Mazan - 2 nights and 2 diners - and cuold not have been more pleased. The place is very special: luxurious enough but not pretentious! The Director was very helpful and personal in the way he helped me prepare the détails of the weekend, and the staff were friendly and attentive. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Stayed here for four nights while on a cycling tour of the area. We found it a good base to explore by bike with quiet roads leading to mont ventoux and the gorges de la nesque. Friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant fit for foodies with a decent wine list. Rooms a little dated but clean and have plenty of character. Mazan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

I think the fact that this was once residence to the Marquis de Sade lends itself to the overall kitsch of the hotel. The artistic flair is captivating if not borderline creepy at times, but in a good way. The front desk staff is extremely accommodating (and speak excellent English) and the rooms, by any country standard, are enormous. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I visited for a bicycle tour and this was one of the selected hotels. This is a charming and lovely hotel with lovely French gardens. Quiet and spacious and the staff are so polite and helpful. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This was our second stop along our French road trip and the one we were most looking forward to. Unfortunately it was disapointing. I dont have anything specifically bad to say about the hotel, except that it feels like they could have done so much better, This is a gorgeous building, full of history. It deserves to be furnished as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities