We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Schlogen hotels

Hotel Donauschlinge

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schlogen 2, Schlogen A-4083, Austria
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Donauschlinge to your Saves list
Hotel Donauschlinge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
72%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schlogen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
charlesandlaura London
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
32
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel is second to none, on the famous bend on the Danube. We had a deluxe room, with the perfect view from our private terrace area. The room was very large, as was the bathroom. Strange catering, looked almost like school meals, limited choice. We were fortunate to be vegetarian, given an individual meal which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
fort mill, sc
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed as park of a Danube cycle trip. This is the only hotel in schlogen- food was average and rooms average too. It is typical of Austria- where 4 star really means three star ( dated holiday inn in my book) but it is the only game in town. Staff were friendly and the front desk spoke English, restaurant staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A great place to stay, on the Danube river bank... Enjoyed a lovely dinner and breakfast on the terrace, with a wonderful view of the river. We were there just passing, with the bikes, but I'm sure it is a great place to stay longer, to relax at the spa and to visit the surrounding area with spectacular views. Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The best of the hotel is the ubication, just in the DonauShlinge. The room is spacious and correct but there is no air conditioned, so it is quite hot. The place is quite chaotic. On the other hand the restaurant terrace is a great point.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This large hotel occupying a commanding position on a spectacular bend on the Danube deserves an extra 'point' because of its location. Quaint it is not, and expect lots of transient walkers and cyclists crowding you at breakfast, but the view from the terrace over drinks or dinner will compensate for any quibbles. A 20 minute steep uphill trail behind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I travel all over the world and at times we have experienced a dislike of Americans by the locals for whatever reason. When we first started traveling it used to bother us and we could not understand why we were treated poorly relative to someone who "speaks their language ". We now just relish the good service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Eva G, Manager at Hotel Donauschlinge, responded to this review

Dear sir, we are terribly sorry to hear your complaints about your bad experience. As manager of the hotel donauschlinge, I have to apologize for the poor service, I will personally look after these issues and will make everything to set things right. Unfortunatelly our service wasn´t the best on the day you have mentioned, because due to the unpredictably... More

niceirmas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Fantastic location, right on the Donau. The terrace is amazing, however, using it for an al fresco breakfast (it's a self service buffet) in the sunshine is discouraged - disappointing. Great, well set out walks and flat bike rides and boat rides on the doorstep. Beware prices given out by the hotel are per person, not per room - works... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We used this hotel as part of a bicycle trip, including dinner and breakfast. When we arrived, it was a nice warm and sunny day. When we did drink a nice beer on the terrace, the view (the biggest asset of the hotel) overlooking the river curving was fully blocked by a big river-cruise ship. Our room was very big,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel was a part of our bicycle tour and we really enjoyed staying here. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very accommodating. We had a very nice time here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shoham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is located in a beautiful spot, overlooking the Danuba. we stayed there as part of our cycling trip. The room was O.K. we got a big room with an extra bad and everything was nice and clean. No bath, just shower but they have a nice worm pool and a sauna. The restuarant was very good although quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Donauschlinge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Donauschlinge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donauschlinge

Address: Schlogen 2, Schlogen A-4083, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Schlogen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Donauschlinge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Donauschlinge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)