We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Donauschlinge

4.0 of 5 Schlogen 2, Schlogen A-4083, Austria
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hotel Donauschlinge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Donauschlinge
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
35
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

This is the very huge hotel on the Schlogen Bend of the Danube. My husband and I were on a private bike trip along the Danube and spent the night at this hotel. We upgraded our room to the "Danube dream" room. It was big, modern bath and comfortable. I had a fantastic massage. However the restaurant was mediocre at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

The location of this hotel is second to none, on the famous bend on the Danube. We had a deluxe room, with the perfect view from our private terrace area. The room was very large, as was the bathroom. Strange catering, looked almost like school meals, limited choice. We were fortunate to be vegetarian, given an individual meal which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Stayed as park of a Danube cycle trip. This is the only hotel in schlogen- food was average and rooms average too. It is typical of Austria- where 4 star really means three star ( dated holiday inn in my book) but it is the only game in town. Staff were friendly and the front desk spoke English, restaurant staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A great place to stay, on the Danube river bank... Enjoyed a lovely dinner and breakfast on the terrace, with a wonderful view of the river. We were there just passing, with the bikes, but I'm sure it is a great place to stay longer, to relax at the spa and to visit the surrounding area with spectacular views. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The best of the hotel is the ubication, just in the DonauShlinge. The room is spacious and correct but there is no air conditioned, so it is quite hot. The place is quite chaotic. On the other hand the restaurant terrace is a great point.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This large hotel occupying a commanding position on a spectacular bend on the Danube deserves an extra 'point' because of its location. Quaint it is not, and expect lots of transient walkers and cyclists crowding you at breakfast, but the view from the terrace over drinks or dinner will compensate for any quibbles. A 20 minute steep uphill trail behind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I travel all over the world and at times we have experienced a dislike of Americans by the locals for whatever reason. When we first started traveling it used to bother us and we could not understand why we were treated poorly relative to someone who "speaks their language ". We now just relish the good service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Eva G, Manager at Hotel Donauschlinge, responded to this review

Dear sir, we are terribly sorry to hear your complaints about your bad experience. As manager of the hotel donauschlinge, I have to apologize for the poor service, I will personally look after these issues and will make everything to set things right. Unfortunatelly our service wasn´t the best on the day you have mentioned, because due to the unpredictably... More 

niceirmas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Fantastic location, right on the Donau. The terrace is amazing, however, using it for an al fresco breakfast (it's a self service buffet) in the sunshine is discouraged - disappointing. Great, well set out walks and flat bike rides and boat rides on the doorstep. Beware prices given out by the hotel are per person, not per room - works... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We used this hotel as part of a bicycle trip, including dinner and breakfast. When we arrived, it was a nice warm and sunny day. When we did drink a nice beer on the terrace, the view (the biggest asset of the hotel) overlooking the river curving was fully blocked by a big river-cruise ship. Our room was very big,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel was a part of our bicycle tour and we really enjoyed staying here. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very accommodating. We had a very nice time here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Donauschlinge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donauschlinge

Address: Schlogen 2, Schlogen A-4083, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Schlogen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Donauschlinge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Donauschlinge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay