We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Cascada Verde

Certificate of Excellence
Bejuco | entrada por tanque AyA, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica (Formerly Cascada Verde Eco lodge)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hostel Cascada Verde
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    103
    25
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
73
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (148)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best hostel experience ever and best accomodation in costa rica. This place is so beautifull and quiet, the ambiance makes you feel so relaxed : amazing garden, best facilities, clean and cosy. So so money worth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've read some of the other reviews which brought up some negatives e.g. The parking area, it's proximity to town and attitude towards young people and groups. Regarding the first two issues that's true enough. We had a car and didn't mind the short uphill walk, so they weren't issues for us but I can see it maybe for others.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belgian Westhoek, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a beautiful place in the middle of the forest. Great view, A big kitchen to use with everything you need. Rooms are simple but nice, not luxurious but eco... We had a great time staying here and would not hesitate to come back. Waking up with the sounds of nature is something I already miss here in Belgium.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The "outdoor" hotel is very beautiful. Only stayed one night in the family room, was super hot.The parking area at the bottom of the hill had lots of fire ants, making it slightly annoying to carry things in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monteverde, Costa Rica
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Everything about this hostel was wonderful, save for the attitude of the owners. I'm extremely disappointed with the way my group was treated during our short stay. I came with a group of 12 researchers from Monteverde. I'm not sure if the hosts are always this rude to 20-somethings, or if it was just our group, but either way we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie R, Manager at Hostel Cascada Verde, responded to this review

Thanks for your review but sorry - it's not true... We were very happy to meet you all - you were so friendly and nice! And I asked you immediately when I got your reservation to take notice of our quiet hours from 10pm on because we usually don't accept groups but you booked via booking. It clearly says on... More 

Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

This place was really beautiful. I was not expecting such a beautiful place for such a small fee. We only stayed one night, but I hope to stay longer if we ever return to Uvita. We had the private room, which was really nice and quaint. There are neat little handmade coat hangars which was a nice touch to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie R, Manager at Hostel Cascada Verde, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your friendly, positive and detailed review! Best wishes and hopefully "hasta luego"! Julie & family More 

Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

This was one of my favourite places to stay in Costa Rica. It is a hostel with fairly basic but comfortable rooms (ours was family room) which have flimsy bamboo walls with openings on to the corridors so prepare for little privacy. Could do with more pillows (just like everywhere in CR!) but it has a magical, free, laid back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

Cascada verde is the place to stay if you want to have a nice and cheap place in the middle of the jungle. Very comfortable, cosy and quiet, this hostel has a wonderful open kitchen and several places you can make yours. It is located in the hills of Uvita, a typical village of Costa Rica, close to a waterfall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

This is one of the best hostels of all time! The setting within the jungle is amazing, everything is so spacious, tidy and well thought through, there are so many comfortable seating areas the kitchen is well equipped, the wifi worked well... I especially loved the open top floor veranda with an insane view! We saw white faced capuchin monkeys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

This place is a little off the beaten path. It's better if you have a truck or 4x4 to get here. We had a small compact car and had to go very slowly the last kilometer or so because the roads are rough and rocky. It was well worth finding though. You can't see the place until you walk up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvita hotels
3.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
1.5 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
3.1 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#7 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tucan Hotel
Tucan Hotel
#12 of 28 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay