We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Uvita accommodations

Flutterby House

Save
You added Flutterby House to your Saves list
150 Meters North of Cabinas Bamboo, Uvita, Costa Rica
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Flutterby House
Ranked #8 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    38
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
52
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Naples, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place looks great, at first.. All dorms and private rooms are houses on the trees, comfortable common spaces..but the rest..during all my stay I've never heard any spanish word.. Just english (US owners and US guests eccept few exceptions). Los huespedes tambien como los vuluntarios (todos de lo estados unidos) quieren hacer fiesta y emborracharse todas la noches.. Costa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlutterbyHouse, Owner at Flutterby House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Gina P. Yes, my sister and I are from the United States of America, as published in Lonely Planet and on our website. Our staff is from all over the world including Germany, England, South Africa, Australia, Belgium, and Canada, so yes, our common language is English. Many of our staff members are proficient in... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

The flutterby is a dream come true . Everything about this place is spiced with love and creativity. The treehouses and lofty styled dorms are clean and comfy and I think everyone would be able to find some comfort here. The food at the flutterby was also not to disappoint! A creative mix of home like favourites and costa rican... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Wood rooms, many different areas for yoga sessions and chilling, a good bar, and helpful staff. We waited over 40 minutes to get our meal by ordering dinner (10$) and breakfast (8$). Quite expensive compared to other places we visited before. A good option if you are staying for a long time and cooking by yourself in the kitchen. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlutterbyHouse, Owner at Flutterby House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Ignacio. All of our dinners are under $10, ranging from $7-9 depending on the night/ meal. Breakfast starts at $5 including coffee or juice with extras available only if you want them for the extra cost. I apologize for the wait time, we had just re-opened after being closed for a month and were still... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Hey Lovely Fellow Vagabond Travelers ~ if you're wondering whether you should book a bunk, cabina or treehouse here for a night, I vote YES !! My boyfriend and I stayed in the private treehouse for three nights and I've just moved to a bunk above the shared kitchen for my final two nights here while my friends make a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Awesome place to stay and hang out. Close to the beach, surf boards, amazing staff, clean and cool facilities, good prices for the accommodation, variety of food for dinner (veggie or not). Excellent spot for backpackers. 100 % pura vida !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I really cannot say enough good things about this place. It is beautifully planned, well thought out and well built. The entire property is covered in trees and vegetation, most of which is edible. There are paths that wind through to all the cabins and tree level dorms. We stayed in a cabin called the Magic Box, and it lived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Flutterby House for 3 nights and everything about this hostel exceeded our expectations. First off, it's located in the perfect location - almost on the beach and far enough from town to get away from any (annual event) noises, but close enough to walk there easily. The public bus stop was only 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Flutterby House is a nice 'hippie-esk' oasis next to a beautiful beach and the owners have certainly succeeded in creating a unique hostel which let's you choose between different types of accommodation (e.g. cabins or tree houses). We loved the experience of spending two nights in a tree house and we also enjoyed the overall relaxed and friendly atmosphere. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We had planned to leave earlier but stayed - just because we loved this place sooo much. It is the perfect place to stay with the beach nearby with great surf and snorkelling. You can buy really good food for both breakfast and dinner for a neat price, enjoy good drinks, nice hang-out spots and meet really nice people. Don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lausanne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The flutterby house really has it all: super friendly team of staff and volunteers, close to the beach, relaxing lounge spots to have their organic diners and meet other people while also offering very cute private cabins which are very quiet. We intended to flutter by for one night, stayed three. A perfect blend of hardcore backpackers, surfers, flaspackers, couples... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Flutterby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flutterby House

Address: 150 Meters North of Cabinas Bamboo, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Flutterby House Costa Rica/Uvita

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Flutterby House

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby