We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jambiani White Sands Bungalows

Certificate of Excellence
Jambiani Beach, Jambiani 254, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

These lovely bungalows are set on an endless white sand beach. The sea is turquoise and 26 degrees. There are a number of beach side bars and restaurants serving amazing seafood. You can watch the kite surfers in the afternoons and reef walk in the morning. Blissfully relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank Julie C
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This little place is great value for money. Located right on the beach, the view is amazing. The manager/owner is very friendly and so are the staff. The food is good. The beef samosas are great, when they have them! The service in the restaurant is very slow, but the view makes up for it! The garden rooms are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

This very nice place to rest yourself. Its peacefull, full of ocean sounds, beautiful sunrising, very kind staff, don't forget delicious pancakes! Firstly I booked 3 days and then I extend my stay 3 more days. When you come here you never want to go. Beach is beautiful as well. They are not serving alcohol. Wifi is working well, house... More 

Helpful?
Thank Furkan_KLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015 via mobile

My sister and I stayed only one night as a back up solution since we were supposed to stay at the papaye verte but the hosts totally took us for fool..we found a very welcoming staff and had a front see view bungalow. We did not really like the food at restaurant and the beaches are less dirty in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luce M
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

The beachside rooms are so lovely--romantic, cool, beautifully decorated, right on the beach and very reasonably priced. The rooms are super clean and the bathrooms are very nice. The breakfast was wonderful, so fresh. Everything was taken care of--there was nothing to do but relax. The only downside is that the restaurant does not serve alcohol but there are other... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are glad that you have enjoyed our beach bungalows and the food. As you noted, some villagers are trying to make a living by selling various items and souvenirs to tourists; it is another way of spreading the benefit of tourism to the villagers. However if one is not interested can... More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

After a week safari, followed by stays in Lushoto, Tanga and Stonetown we stayed at the beachcottages of Jambiani White Sands (not the posh resort with the big wall around). The cottages are attached and surround a nice garden. Rooms are airy, the beds have nets, toilet and shower are clean. Hot water is no always available but who wants... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank phnijman
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

The bungalows are just perfect for a couple or 2 friends. We only stayed for one night, but were very happy we got to spend some time on the beach and meet some of the locals. Actually, because it's Ramadan one of the locals invited us to eat at his place, his sister would cook for us. I have to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sharina25
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

White sands bungalow is a beautiful place in a heavenly surrounding. It's location is awesome directly at a beautiful beach and just a couple of minutes away walk from Jambiani village. From the second I arrived, I felt very welcome and nicely taken care of. I did not feel uncomfortable at any time of my entire stay of 7 days.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Adebukola M
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are very grateful for your generous words about us! Likewise, it was pleasure having you. I will pass the massage to the team including Carlos and I am sure they will all be happy to hear about this. Many thanks again for visiting Zanzibar Island, and specifically Jambiani White Sands... More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

No brickwalled compound, just a wooden fence and an open gate between you and the Indian Ocean - maybe that is one of the really nice things about Jambiani White Sands Bungalows. And it is small enough for you to get to know the other guests. I has quite the family feel about it. It´s got what you need, the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Margareta L
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are grateful for your kind remarks about us – this is really motivates us all to do more to ensure our guests feels at home and have enjoyable vacation in Zanzibar. I passed the note to my team. They send their regards and say, “Asante Sana!” (Thank... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

We booked here to stay for 4 nights during our 2 weeks on the island. We arrived here early afternoon from Nungwi. We did email them direct to arrnage accommodation but got no reply after 3 days and so we booked via agoda as it was cheaper than booking.com. Unfortunately we were not expected but we were well received by... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mariabountouraki
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review

We are grateful for your stay with us. We also thank you for your kind remarks and the very constructive comments, which will help us to improve; we are always open to suggestions. I would like to comment on the points raised as follows: (1) The breakfast: We will vary the breakfast items on alternate days. (2) Room Clean: We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
0.5 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 11 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 11 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Rock Hotel
Coral Rock Hotel
#9 of 11 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
5.4 mi away
Pumzika Beach Resort
Pumzika Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Makunduchi
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
29.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay