We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Chapada

Certificate of Excellence
Rua Urbano Duarte, 121, Lencois, State of Bahia 46960-000, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Chapada
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hostel Chapada
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
15
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Really clean and nice hostel for outdoor people who will spend most of their days out in the nature. They have also one of the best breakfasts for 4 reias I have ever eaten in a hostel! There are though quite a many rules in the hostel, especially if you are looking for a "outgoing" type of accommondation. I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Substantially better-than-average, atmospheric hostel in central Lençois. Four person dorms, small but adequate, small lockers do not fit large rucksacks. Comfortable private double with bathroom, serviced daily very rare for this type of accommodation. Good quality hot showers. Noise from the street an issue at night for the front rooms. Reasonable internet, moderate speeds. Very extensive breakfast for a hostel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostelchapada, Front Office Manager at Hostel Chapada, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of the hostel; we appreciate you taking the time out to leave a response about your stay. Thank you also for your kind words, we were pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us enough to give us a 4 star rating. In your review, you also raised a few issues... More 

Cartagena, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I loved my stay here. They came and picked me up from the bus station for free, you just let them know in advance what time you will arrive. The staff are all lovely especially Marcia who speaks perfect English and can help you organise tours through them (I did and it was fabulous, they have a whole book you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostelchapada, Front Office Manager at Hostel Chapada, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of the hostel; we appreciate you taking the time out to leave a response about your stay. Thank you also for your kind words, we were pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us enough to give us a 5 star rating. Our free transfers are something that we offer to... More 

Belo Hirizonte
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Always clean in all areas including showers and toilets. This is very important when you come back from a whole day of excursion. Several comfortable areas to rest and relax. Breakfast is amazing! Leaders on sustainability practices: rubbish classification, energy efficiency systems, recycled materials for infrastructure and even carbon offsets available to get rid of your carbon footprint during your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostelchapada, Front Office Manager at Hostel Chapada, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of the hostel; we appreciate you taking the time out to leave a response about your stay. Thank you also for your kind words, we were pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us enough to give us a 5 star rating. Our rooms and bathrooms are indeed serviced daily, the... More 

Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nice hostel, good breakfast! Great location and nice garden. But too many rules!! You have to pay to let your luggage after the check out...etc / breakfast until 9 am!...we are on vacation! And it is a hostel not a hotel! Staff and owners could be more friendly and smile :) I thought i had mosquitoes but it seems to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostelchapada, Front Office Manager at Hostel Chapada, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of the hostel. Thank you also for your kind words, we were pleased to know that there were parts of the stay that you enjoyed substantially. In your review, you also raised a few issues about services that you were not completely satisfied with, and though we do apologize for any inconvenience, we... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

From the minute we walked into the place the friendly owners bent over backwards to help and inform, from digging up people from all around town (calling other hostels) to form a 4 day trekking group for us to helping book onward travel and accommodation. They offer tours at reasonable prices, the breakfast is large and varies everyday and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostelchapada, Front Office Manager at Hostel Chapada, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time out to leave a response about your stay. Thank you also for your kind words, we were pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay enough to have left us a 5 star rating. We are proud to be one of the few lodging establishments in Lençóis that have an agency working directly within... More 

San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a great experience when we stayed here in February 2013. Our bus got in from Salvador at 4am, and even though we were initially told they did not do a free transfer at that time, we called the day before and a staff member was kind enough to pick us up at that early hour!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostelchapada, Front Office Manager at Hostel Chapada, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we were pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay enough to have left us a 5 star rating. We are proud to be one of the few lodging establishments in Lençóis that have an agency working directly within the hostel, as this allows us to help our guests meet all of their trekking... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in HI chapada hostel for about a week. I really liked the hostel , rooms , breakfast . The only problem was the ORWNERS , especially Juan the Argentinian man. Few girls at a time complained that he was flirting, occasionally touching & basically harrasing them. One girl actually left right away because of this. I expressed my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hostelchapada, Front Office Manager at Hostel Chapada, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of the hostel and for taking the time to leave a response about your stay. In your review, you raised a few issues about services that you were not completely satisfied with, and though we do apologize for any inconvenience, we would like to address your concerns as a part of our continued... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The staff are all really friendly and helpful. They offer a free transfer to and from the bus station. Breakfast is really simple but good. The 100 year old building is cool, but a bit kooky - took us a while to work out how to lock our door with the antique key that was easily pushed all the way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
44 hotel reviews
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a quiet, cozy and relaxed basic hostel... Club 18-30 type folk WILL be disappointed. Nice rooms, breakfast provided and location is pretty good. RECOMMEND to those who wish to experience Chapada Diamantina without the need for jelly vodka shots or jager slammers!?

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostelchapada, Front Office Manager at Hostel Chapada, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of the hostel and for taking the time to leave a response about your stay. We are glad that you had such a positive experience and chose to leave a review letting others know about your stay with us. We were glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, We appreciate your pointing out that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities