We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Valhalla Inn

Hotel website
509 Slocan Avenue | P.O. Box 157, New Denver, British Columbia V0G 1S0, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Valhalla Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Valhalla Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent an overnight here recently before starting our paddle down the Slocan Lake. Front staff very friendly and worked hard to accommodate your needs. Rooms were a decent size, clean & beds comfy-though a bit soft for my liking. No a/c, but fans in the room & usually the nights cool down, so all good. The restaurant was tasty with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki Q, Owner at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us before your paddle on the beautiful Slocan Lake. We look forward to accommodating you in the future. Regards, Team Valhalla More 

Victoria, British Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have enjoyed our second visit to the Valhalla Inn and were greeted by Vikki and Maggie like old friends. What a welcoming. Dinner under the huge maple tree is another highlight. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Odin's Pub is a nice place to while away the evening.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki Q, Owner at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review and feedback. We had great fun and look forward to your annual visit next year, or sooner! Regards, The Valhalla Team More 

Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is easy to find as it is right on the main highway going through the small town of New Denver. It has a restaurant and is close to a market and other places to shop and eat. The lake is a short walk away. Our room was comfortable and spacious. The staff were friendly and very accommodating! Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki Q, Owner at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our very own piece of paradise. The Valhalla Team More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights while visiting the area. The room was clean and comfortable. Nothing special to report. Dinner in the pub was fine as was the breakfast. The hotel in New Denver was a great jumping off point for visiting Sandon and Idaho peak.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki Q, Owner at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Thank you for your positive feedback and taking the time to write a review. We hope you enjoyed exploring the area. We look forward to accommodating you in the future, upon a return visit to our paradise we call home! With regards and gratitude Team Valhalla Inn More 

Edmonton
Level Contributor
175 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile

I booked into the Valhalla because the Dome Quixote was being renovated and options are few in New Denver. Turned out to be the second worst stay I have experienced. Check my other reviews for that story. This place is less than basic and way overpriced for the services provided. So it's 32 degrees Celsius outside, we check into our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Vikki Q, Public Relations Manager at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you noted, are a very nostalgic character inn - not to be confused with a full-service hotel. Unlike other places, including the domes where you had hoped to originally stay - we offer portable air conditioning upon request. We are one of the only local accommodations that offer... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom had obviously been recently, tastefully, renovated. No problem with wi-fi. The owner/operator team was very friendly & accommodating to our needs. They are making a great effort to renovate the hotel and improvements continue. We dined in the restaurant in the evening - a delicious meal & great service. The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki Q, Owner at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! We look forward to your return visit. More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This place takes pride in their business. Rooms were clean and spacious, food was great, service was with a smile and a desire to make your stay memorable and satifying. The lady who seems to manage just about everything was super friendly and very accomodating. We booked in early, she answered all our questions about local sites and we dashed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki Q, Owner at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Inn. We are glad you enjoyed our cuisine, as well as enjoy the wonderful area. We look forward to you visiting us again! The Valhalla Team More 

Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Excellent central location. The room was HUGE - two queen beds + a futon with plenty of room to spare. The bath was tiny, typical of an older property. Both were spotlessly clean. Although there was supposed to be wifi, we were continually disconnected. There was no air conditioning and the electrical outlets were so old, anytime we plugged something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vikki Q, Manager at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your suggestion, we will upgrade the building continuously. It will be our honor to have you back next time and see the changes. Vikki More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The reviews are correct. It is good place to stay at resonable price. Very friendly and the food was great. It does seem like a family run business & they take pride in what they provide. We are a family of three & we had lots of room. We will be back & recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki Q, Manager at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Dear Colin Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and We are looking forward to seeing you next time in New Denver. Thank you very much again Vikki More 

Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This property was purchased about 4 yrs ago by an executive lady chef from Vancouver. It was a run down dump 5 yrs ago. My 5th Annual Ghost Towns Tour stayed there again this year, & what a treat for such a small historic community...She has been modernizing it each year & it's very clean..She not only runs the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki Q, Manager at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thank you very much for your review, We will keep up with the work and look forward to seeing you next year. Vikki More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Denver
0.0 mi away
Kicking Horse Kabins
Kicking Horse Kabins
#6 of 43 in Golden
5.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
5.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crazy Creek Resort
Crazy Creek Resort
#11 of 11 in Sicamous
3.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay