We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Valhalla Inn

2.0 of 5 509 Slocan Avenue | P.O. Box 157, New Denver, British Columbia V0G 1S0, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Valhalla Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Valhalla Inn
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This place takes pride in their business. Rooms were clean and spacious, food was great, service was with a smile and a desire to make your stay memorable and satifying. The lady who seems to manage just about everything was super friendly and very accomodating. We booked in early, she answered all our questions about local sites and we dashed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Excellent central location. The room was HUGE - two queen beds + a futon with plenty of room to spare. The bath was tiny, typical of an older property. Both were spotlessly clean. Although there was supposed to be wifi, we were continually disconnected. There was no air conditioning and the electrical outlets were so old, anytime we plugged something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki Q, Manager at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your suggestion, we will upgrade the building continuously. It will be our honor to have you back next time and see the changes. Vikki More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The reviews are correct. It is good place to stay at resonable price. Very friendly and the food was great. It does seem like a family run business & they take pride in what they provide. We are a family of three & we had lots of room. We will be back & recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki Q, Manager at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Dear Colin Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and We are looking forward to seeing you next time in New Denver. Thank you very much again Vikki More 

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This property was purchased about 4 yrs ago by an executive lady chef from Vancouver. It was a run down dump 5 yrs ago. My 5th Annual Ghost Towns Tour stayed there again this year, & what a treat for such a small historic community...She has been modernizing it each year & it's very clean..She not only runs the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki Q, Manager at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thank you very much for your review, We will keep up with the work and look forward to seeing you next year. Vikki More 

Johnstown, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was my second visit and I was not disappointed once again. The hotel is under new management since my first visit 4 years ago and they have cleaned up the rooms a bit, but made it just as great a place to set up as a home base for taking rides around the amazing surrounding areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vikki Q, Manager at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your continuous support. We are so glad you enjoy your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Vikki More 

Mission, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were shocked to find that we were charged $80 for a room so small that the double bed barely fit, and no A/C. The food in the restaurant was ok. The server was very nice and helpful. I will not stay here again. There were people partying in the parking lot till after 11pm. The front desk was closed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki Q, Manager at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments and I am sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectation. Our hotel has different types of rooms for our guests and we would love to show them all to you upon next trip. Also, our lobby has a door bell and a night telephone which our guests can access at... More 

Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

It is a very nice small motel. fast food, nice lake view. The location, amenities, and simple of access for the motel are its main highlights. It is close to many view points, trails.excellent services. nice staffs. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

we are repeat visitors to the Valhalla Inn in New Denver. We keep returning because we are treated so well! This hotel is trying hard. New Denver is a very small place not main stream at all a small easy going town but is truly a beautiful, relaxing place. The rooms in the hotel have been tastefully updated and look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Vikki Q, Manager at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

It is really a proud moment for the hotel when a guest appreciate the hotel staff for their Above and Beyond the call of Duty. It was a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sure that in future we will surely keep doing better. Thank you again and see you in future. Regards... More 

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

For those people looking for a nice stopover on a ride, this is just the place to do it. The Valhalla Inn is nestled in New Denver on Highway 6 on the edge of Slocan Lake. New owners are learning the ropes of managing the hotel and have been in the process of upgrading the building which was built some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vikki Q, Manager at The Valhalla Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience here. Delighted to note that we exceeded your expectations in being better than normal quality. Hope to see you again in the future. More 

Cochrane, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great facility for small group meetings. Hotel rooms are spacious and newly renovated. Some rooms have separate bedroom and small kitchen... great for family stays. Small private room inside restaurant that can hold 20 people for team building or company meeting. Restaurant can arrange group meals and speical dinner (we had Chinese theme dinner). Facility is only one block away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Valhalla Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valhalla Inn

Address: 509 Slocan Avenue | P.O. Box 157, New Denver, British Columbia V0G 1S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > New Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Valhalla Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Valhalla Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay