We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    189
    67
    17
    15
See reviews for
80
424
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (688)
  • Mar-May only
    (184)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (233)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (177)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Letterfinlay Lodge hit the spot - good service, food and accommodation. Lindsay was a star and delivered great service, and the whole experience was very enjoyable. (Question... when is the reception renovation going to be finished? Or started? That sign has been there for the past five years!)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
33 hotel reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our second stay at Letterfinlay. We had a very pleasant and memorable two night stay in October or November 2012, (after my father’s death following a long illness, when we really felt the need to ‘get away’ and it was the perfect escape then). Thanks to Facebook, we knew there have been some refurbishment/upgrades/changes since then, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your return to Letterfinlay, I'm sorry you were disappointed with Room 1 - this is a superior room as it has a loch view. When you return ask for Room 2. Kind regards More 

Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading all the amazing reviews I was disappointed with this hotel. It has nice traditional features which are spoiled with cheep modern decor giving a very confused overall look. We travelled with friends and paid £20 more a night for an executive room with view of loch. Our room was virtually the same and actually had a bathroom half... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very disappointed to read that you felt our prices were on the high side, I can assure you that we use only the finest locally sourced seafood where possible and our team of chefs cook all our food to a very high standard so we find your food comments unjust. We have... More 

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped in for an overnight break and dinner while travelling up north and found an absolute diamond of a hotel. Outstanding value considering the quality of the accommodation. The room was neat with breathtaking views and the loch shore was right outside the window. We slept soundly in an ample bed listening to the loch break against the shingle. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review and we're glad that you chose our hotel to stop off at on your travels, I will pass on you kind comments to all our hard working staff and I hope you return in the near future. Kind regards More 

Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here for just the one night. Was heartily recommended by good friends and we were not disappointed. The food and staff were absolutely brilliant. What a great time we had. The room was large, and comfortable. Also spotlessly clean. My only gripe, I would've liked to have been able to take our dog into the lounge rather than rush... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and we hope you enjoyed walking your dog inb our lovely grounds and private beach. Please return at anytime. Kind regards More 

Kirkwall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just had a 3 day break there and also stayed in room 10 with the loch view. The room does tend towards the small side and the sockets are not ideally placed but the plus side is 3 good lounge areas with recliner chairs and settees and the room with the t.v. has a pool table in it. Room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and I will pass on your comments regarding the sockets to the owners. Kind regards More 

Scottish Borders
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent last weekend at Letterfinlay and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are good and very clean. The food is excellent and reflects local produce particularly seafood. The staff are exceptionally helpful and pleasant. At dinner, when chatting to a member of staff she noted our interest in music and brought a couple of guitars in for our use.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and I will pass on your comments to all our staff. Kind regards More 

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this break in March. We had two days in room 10 Great Views across the Loch. The room was small , however we enjoyed the view. Only real problem was due to sockets not being in correct position for tea making or using hairdryer. We want to compliment a young girl from Poland Ola she made us very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for great review and I will pass on your comments to all our hard working staff. Kind regards More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the pleasure of staying at the Letterfinlay Lodge for two nights on the 14th and 15th April this year. We were allocated room 7 (Dunkeld) the room was lovely and had dual aspect windows, one looking to the south end of Loch Lochy and the other to the west looking across the loch to the mountains. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're pleased that you enjoyed your break at Letterfinlay and we hope you return soon. Kind regards More 

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After visiting Loch Ness driving it got quite late driving back to Glenfinnan where we were staying for the week, we stopped off at the Letterfinlay on the off chance of a table for dinner,we was met at the door by a friendly lady who worked at the bar and gold us dinner was going to be 30 minutes before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and our fantastic scenery from our sun deck and restaurant and hopefully next time you return it will be to stay at Letterfinlay. Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

384 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (289)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (69)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities