We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    416
    202
    76
    19
    16
See reviews for
92
448
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (729)
  • Mar-May only
    (188)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (270)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (177)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
Carnwath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband & I stayed in Room 1 on 15th August. I booked & paid for a Superior Twin Room-room 1 certainly isn't that. We had a lovely dinner-food & service was excellent & the staff were very friendly. Lindsay, the manageress, listened to all I had to say about the awful room-she said she understood. She gave us our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We cannot understand why you chose to grade us with the lowest 1 star, we also disappointed that your review was so derogatory especially when you have stated that you were so well looked after. It is our belief that you were just after a free upgrade or a free meal which you eventually received after pestering poor Lindsay all... More 

west sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is situated in a wonderful location on the banks of the loch and mountains so maybe that's why you have to pay that bit extra , the view from the room was amazing but the room itself was clean but very old furniture and really needs updating . There is a musty smell through out the hotel apart from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we are extremely disappointed that you saddened by the size of your sausage! I will mention this to the head chef but i can assure you that these are not your cheap frozen sausage but are homemade by Letterfinlay. Your comments regarding a musty smell are totally bizarre and rather insulting as were your slightly worrying about our... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel has great potential, but it seems that the owners forgot about it. The staff is a mixed bag - some are great, some look like they'd rather be somewhere else. Our room was on the lower ground floor, and was big and quite comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for recognising that our hotel is great, however your comments regarding our "mixed bag" of staff are insulting. We do find at this time of year that some of our guests cannot be pleased no matter what and i believe you are in this category. More 

Beith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Wish we arrived earlier and could have stayed longer - hotel was lovely and staff very nice. There was a powercut between 3 and 9pm and we had to head back to Fort William for dinner which was a shame as we had been looking forward to dinner there and enjoying the dramatic scenic views but we managed that a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and it was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at Letterfinlay Lodge hotel, please come back at any time. Kind regards More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found the views to be stunning, the room comfortable, and the restaurant food delicious (with reasonable pricing). This location is less than an hours drive from Fort William/Ben Nevis, about an hours drive from Inverness (Urquhart Castle is between here and Inverness), and around two and half hours drive from Skye. We would stay here again. WIFI is available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We really appreciate having such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel at anytime. Kind regards More 

Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as part of a tour of Scotland for three nights and even though the hotel and rooms are a little dated and 'quirky' (especially the bathroom) , we had the best time. The views are stunning, the food is really good and the staff are simply lovely - incredibly helpful, informative and personable - even though the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and it was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Kind regards More 

Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the accommodations were not luxurious, the setting of this hotel made up the difference. Beautiful views from the restaurant and the back deck. The food at the Osprey Restaurant was excellent and the staff was very attentive. My only complaint was that the bathroom had a moldy odor that became problematic after the second night we were there. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we have investigated some of your comments and dealt with them appropriately. Kind regards More 

Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice scenery, helpful staff, great food. But no hot water, no accessible outlets (one hidden behind the dresser), and the door of room next door so creaky it wakes you too early in the morn! Tap water turns amber (like weak tea) when it rains outside!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review and as we are in the Highlands our water does stain slightly with the peat when it has been raining heavily, that's why we make such great whisky! :-) Kind regards More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights and had booked a double room for us & the dog friendly room for our friend and her cocker spaniel. The staff were very helpful and the evening meals were excellent. However, the torrential rain meant that we were unable to eat together the first evening, as dogs are not allowed anywhere in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Our staff were relieved when you finally checked out, you did nothing but complain from the moment you walked in the door! The manager bent over backwards for you and your party and we feel very let down by your boring and untrue comments. Unlike your review we will keep this short and sweet please do not return! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the end of last year and the location is beautiful, the food was delicious but i don't feel it should market itself as a pet friendly hotel. We stayed with our dog and although the pet friendly room was basic we weren't too bothered. However, pets are not allowed in the hotel itself. I fully understand that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Seems strange that you've reviewed our hotel in August when you say you stayed at the end of last year!!! It is ridiculous people feel that they cannot leave their dogs to have a nice romantic dinner/evening. Our pet friendly room is more than adequate to provide comfort for your dog and it;s quite sad that we are being ridiculed... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Loch lochy(12)
  • Very good(8)
  • Friendly and helpful(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

394 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (299)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (81)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
1.4 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
7.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
7.1 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 3 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenspean Lodge
14.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay