We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Green Dragon

Cowgate, Welton HU15 1NB, England
Hotel amenities
Green Dragon
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Welton B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015
alinchris Norwich, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    50
    34
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
20
52
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Just come back from 3 night stay this weekend, our daughters wedding in village , so ideal located place to stay. Nice room overall , friendly , helpful staff and good food.We did have an issue on the last night which was noise from a fault in neighbouring room, not helpful for a good nights sleep,but when we raised the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend with us and we thank you for your positive comments about the hotel. We apologise for the issue you had on your final night however we are glad that we were able to resolve it for you. We hope to see... More 

Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

My second visit to this pub with rooms which are not actually in the pub but in buildings converted across .tthe courtyard. This time I had a ground floor room which I was pleased to get as the last room was up some steep stairs that were difficult to climb quietly without disturbing your neighbour. Again a delightful room not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We thank you for all your positive comments about our hotel and we are glad that you have enjoyed your second stay with us. We hope that we will be seeing you again soon and we hope that your stay is just as good if not better. Thank you. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

The Green Dragon public house with rooms is a historic very long standing establishment in the beautiful village of Welton with its old attractive houses, stream running alongside the main street with church behind. But unfortunately The Green Dragon lets down the village with its poor standards and service. The rooms are in the old stable blocks at the rear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for taking the time out to fill out a review. We apologise for the bad experience you had whilst staying at our hotel. We have taken all your comments into consideration and will be looking into these. If you have any more concerns on this matter please don't hesitate to contact us on... More 

Akaslompolo, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We stayed here on our half way point trip from London to Scotland. Room was good with nice fittings and tea and coffee facilities, evening meal in the pub was ok for pub grub. We did think it was famed for its restaurant but this isn't the case. Our room overlooked the side entrance of the pub so it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We apologise for the problems which you have raised, we have taken these into consideration and will be looking into these and rectifying these issues. If you have any more concerns on this matter please don't hesitate to contact us on 01482 666700 or email us at greendragon.welton@marstons.co.uk... More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

The staff were lovely friendly people, the room we had was pleasant, recently upgraded and well equipped. The village was lovely and the pub is well placed with good parking. Unfortunately the food was over cooked, though there was plenty of it. It was good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We would like to thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We have also taken into account the problem you have raised about the food and we apologise for this and we will be looking into this. We hope to see you again soon for another stay.... More 

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in May. The pub is ideally placed for the wolds way & the setting is lovely with a little village green & pond plus pictueresque church. The room we had allowed us to take our dog & was a good size with large bathroom with shower & bath. The staff were really friendly &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. However we do apologise for the problems you have raised and we will be looking into these. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and we look forward to seeing you and your dog again in the near... More 

Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

We stayed here overnight while walking the Wolds Way. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was fairly typical of a village pub - don't expect anything too trendy - but everything was clean and worked. A nice evening meal - again don't expect a trendy restaurant - but a nice enough pub meal. A comfortable bed - we slept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We would like to thank you for all your positive comments about our hotel they have been very helpful to us. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you. More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I have stayed her several times in past years whilst on business. Unfortunately this was not one of my favourites. New management ! I must say have got their work cut out. Bedroom curtains filthy and bathroom curtains had mold on them. Hand shower on the bath would not stay on, stairs leading up to the bedroom needed a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We have taken all your comments into consideration and are looking into these. We apologise that your stay wasn't very good this time. We hope to rectify all the issues you have raised. If you have any more concerns on this matter please don't hesitate to contact us on... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Stayed in the family room for four after a nearby wedding so didn't arrive until late. The staff were very hospitable in the bar and the room was very clean with lots of extras - tea, coffee, biscuits, iron, bottled water, extra pillows, tv, plenty of towels etc and we slept really well (although the sun was a bit bright... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting family nearby. Wow what a little Yorkshire gem! ....so quaint. The staff are great, so helpful and friendly. The restaurant/bar was intimate whilst still being busy,as a picky eater food was amazing and I have to recommend the breakfast.....you won't need to eat all day. Our room was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welton
3.5 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Hull West
Premier Inn Hull West
#4 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Weighton
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
4.4 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Hull, Willerby
5.8 mi away
Village Urban Resort Hull
Village Urban Resort Hull
#5 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay