We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Green Dragon

Cowgate, Welton HU15 1NB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Green Dragon
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    50
    37
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
21
55
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
huddersfiled
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A clean room with comfortable bed and good hot shower which was needed after a days cycling. Arrived at the Green dragon which is on the TPT route wet through after a 35 mile cycle ride. The friendly staff greeted us with a smile despite our rather dishevelled appearance and we were able to leave our bikes in a secured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llansanffraid Glan Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a little gem within minutes of the M62/A63 into Hull! Set in the very pretty village of Welton, this historic old inn has really lovely rooms, along with very reasonably priced pub food. But what set it apart was the fantastic service we had from Sarah-Jane and her team! So friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have visited this pub many times in the past and we love the outdoor seating looking out onto the pond. We went over the weekend for a bar meal and that is exactly what we got. It was nice enough and didn't expect anything more from a bar meal. The pub is situated in nice surroundings the lager is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We would like to thank you for the positive comments that you have written about our pub and hotel and we really appreciate this. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, The Green Dragon Team More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well not sure where to start with this one, been one hick up after another! After getting the opportunity to get out for the night I googled hotels in Lincolnshire and amongst came up Green Dragon. So I called and took the four poster room. On arrival we checked in and were told that breakfast was between 7am to 9am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We apologise for the bad experience you had whilst staying at our hotel and visiting our pub. We have taken your comments into consideration and will be looking into these. If you have any further questions on any matters which you have raised please... More 

Cottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited after a long walk with high expectations as the food was recommended by a friend.Sadly i could not do the same! We ordered two adult meals and a childs meal and while the childs meal was more than adequate (even for a large hungry child) the two adult meals were terrible, one was so badly overcooked/burned that it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for taking the time out to fill out a review. We apologise for the bad experience you had whilst staying at our hotel and visiting our pub. We have taken all your comments into consideration and will be looking into these. If you have any more concerns on this matter please don't hesitate... More 

Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our village local we keep trying this pub in the hope new managers create was once was when Helen & Pete ran it. Well enough is enough as the advert says mum goes to Iceland well let me tell you I do not and will not pay again for such rubbish frozen food. In future we will go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for taking the time out to fill out a review. We apologise for the bad experience you had whilst staying at our hotel and visiting our pub. We have taken all your comments into consideration and will be looking into these. If you have any more concerns on this matter please don't hesitate... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Just come back from 3 night stay this weekend, our daughters wedding in village , so ideal located place to stay. Nice room overall , friendly , helpful staff and good food.We did have an issue on the last night which was noise from a fault in neighbouring room, not helpful for a good nights sleep,but when we raised the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend with us and we thank you for your positive comments about the hotel. We apologise for the issue you had on your final night however we are glad that we were able to resolve it for you. We hope to see... More 

Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

My second visit to this pub with rooms which are not actually in the pub but in buildings converted across .tthe courtyard. This time I had a ground floor room which I was pleased to get as the last room was up some steep stairs that were difficult to climb quietly without disturbing your neighbour. Again a delightful room not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We thank you for all your positive comments about our hotel and we are glad that you have enjoyed your second stay with us. We hope that we will be seeing you again soon and we hope that your stay is just as good if not better. Thank you. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

The Green Dragon public house with rooms is a historic very long standing establishment in the beautiful village of Welton with its old attractive houses, stream running alongside the main street with church behind. But unfortunately The Green Dragon lets down the village with its poor standards and service. The rooms are in the old stable blocks at the rear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for taking the time out to fill out a review. We apologise for the bad experience you had whilst staying at our hotel. We have taken all your comments into consideration and will be looking into these. If you have any more concerns on this matter please don't hesitate to contact us on... More 

Akaslompolo, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We stayed here on our half way point trip from London to Scotland. Room was good with nice fittings and tea and coffee facilities, evening meal in the pub was ok for pub grub. We did think it was famed for its restaurant but this isn't the case. Our room overlooked the side entrance of the pub so it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We apologise for the problems which you have raised, we have taken these into consideration and will be looking into these and rectifying these issues. If you have any more concerns on this matter please don't hesitate to contact us on 01482 666700 or email us at greendragon.welton@marstons.co.uk... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welton
3.5 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Hull West
Premier Inn Hull West
#4 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
4.0 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Village Urban Resort Hull
Village Urban Resort Hull
#5 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
9.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre
Premier Inn Hull City Centre
#1 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mercure Hull Royal Hotel
Mercure Hull Royal Hotel
#13 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay