We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath DE4 3PG, England
Hotel amenities
The Temple
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Temple to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Louise G Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    52
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
76
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have stayed there on quite a few occasions , nice comfy rooms, lovely squashy towels, very clean, really nice man who runs it, a really good host, the breakfasts are beautifully cooked, nothing is too much trouble, helped us change a tyre ! Pie night was good , it's the only place worth staying in Matlock, lovely views , whenever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at the hotel twice in the last 2 months. Location and views are great and the rooms very nice indeed. I was however disappointed by the breakfast - low quality ingredients , soggy toast. The real bug bear for me though was the lack of ice at the bar. On the first visit the barman said they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you have not had good experiances on your recent visits with us. On your second vist we were away but I can assure you that I left all of the usual quality products that we always serve for breakfast. The group organiser had arranged for you to have a buffet style breakfast as this was... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

This was our second time staying at the Temple Hotel and it won't be our last. The minute you enter the Hotel a warm welcome awaits you from the owners Chris & Mel. Our room was clean, tastefully decorated and had a great view over the river. The bar is extremely well stocked with a range of real ales and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Stayed for one Saturday night in order to attend concert at nearby Fishpond Pub. The hotel is situated on the top of an hill with plenty of free parking. It takes approx 5 minutes max to walk to the middle of Matlock Bath. The room was large and clean with bath and shower. The room had tea making facilities.The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

We stay at the Temple for a weekend every November for a get together with friends. Over the years we've seen steady improvements to the old place and, with fresh carpets and refurbished bedrooms, it's a comfortable and quirky place to stay near the centre of Matlock Bath. Having said that, it is situated up a rather steep hill which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
south yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Booked last minute and very impressed by 3 nights for the price of 2 - making it very affordable for families. Visited as a family of 4 with both sets of our parents, making a group of 8 in total. Puzzled on booking that our children had to be split between our room and a grandparents room as our family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review

Thank you for all the nice comments that you have written about the hotel and the area. We did discuss why we limit the amount of children and our policy with the person that made this booking so we can't see why you are surprised why we split the children in the group. This was agreed to at the time... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Very friendly staff and some fantastic real ales. Food is now only available on certain days, with a theme, targeted mainly at the locals, but guests are welcome and we never felt out if place. It was pie night for us and it was lovely, with really nice veg.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Just returned from a lovely couple of nights at The Temple. The hotel is old - walls and floors a bit quirky in places, but very clean and well furnished. Breakfast was excellent. Good value for money and friendly informative staff. Great views of the Derwent Valley due to it's location on the hillside overlooking Matlock Bath and the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I have just had a weekend here with my wife and some friends. We came for the "Lights and Fireworks", what a fantastic place to stay to enjoy these. The hotel overlooks the valley, with the display coming from the opposite hillside. The Rooms are good for the price paid, infact I've paid much more for a lot less. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

My three night stay was the accommodation highlight of my trip through middle England. To say this hotel has character is an understatement, it is over 200 years old after all, so if it's Hilton or even Premier Inn you're looking for you may be disappointed. I can't add much to the other good reviews, so will point out that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath DE4 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay