We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Dungarvan hotels

Clonea Strand Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clonea Road | Clonea Beach, Dungarvan, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Clonea Strand Hotel to your Saves list
Clonea Strand Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
65%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Dungarvan
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
TALKGalway Galway
  • Overview
  • Reviews (160)
  • Photos (44)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (45)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    40
    18
    16
    21
See reviews for
89
32
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have just returned from two nights at this hotel, we being 7 adults and 7 children aged 8 to 2 years. As previous reviews say the hotel is quite dated and in need of refurbishment. It's very old fashioned and I don't really like bed spreads on hotel beds. The rooms were spotlessly clean, which is very important to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a great placed hotel but the hotel it self is a terrible excuse for a hotel. The staff at the reception aren't to bad. Honestly this hotel need a majour clean up and a lick of paint. I had cousins staying over and the rooms were outdated the walls were even dirty! The best part of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Without Prejudice I would ask the reader to reflect on other reviews on this forum and draw your own conclusion to this one. I would like to ask the reviewer to contact me direct as I believe this review is written with the sole purpose of damaging our business. Interesting feedback - to be honest not sure that you have... More

Dundalk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Clonea Strand Hotel with my husband and 11 year old son and we all had a great time. We had a spacious room with a lovely side view of the beach, it was clean and comfortable, I could not fault it. On a rainy day we used the indoor pool and bowling, we also used the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us which I was delighted to read. Thank you for your warm and positive feedback which I have shared with all the team here. It is extremely heartening to read your words of praise for my colleagues as each and every one of them strive to... More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a young couple who stayed in the hotel recently. The room we were given had no view only of a roof of another building, we asked on arrival (and also I asked 2 weeks previous to our stay by phone) could we have a room with a view which they told us these were all given to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide us with a review of your experience at the Clonea Strand Hotel on your recent “HotelsinOne Offer” I am delighted to read that you found our breakfast offering to be of a high standard and that the staff were very pleasant. My sincerest apologies regarding the confusion over your seaview... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 nights with my two sons aged 6 and 9. The hotel is right on the beach which is beautiful. It has good kids facilities like play loft, bowling and swimming pool. The staff were extremely helpful especially Breda on reception. The hotel is a 3 star probably because it's decor is a bit dated but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review posted following your recent stay with us at the Clonea Strand Hotel. We're delighted that you and the boys enjoyed your stay with us. We're very pleased with the guest response to our Bowling and Play loft and ideal place to spend a few hours. Thank you in particular for your kind words regarding... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great family friendly experience Staff really helpful. Between bowling and swimming pool , soft play area and the great beach beside the hotel you need never leave the hotel . Will definitely return for a longer stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review of the Clonea Strand Hotel following your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments particularly about the friendliness of the staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Clonea and thank you once again for your strong recommendation. I do hope... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great family style hotel, welcoming, friendly with very helpful staff. Bedrooms are simple and very adequate, especially as hotel is so close to the beach, where any visitor wishes to spend their time!. Rooms with a sea view are particularly attactive. Meals in the hotel restaurant are of a high standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Clonea recently and also for taking the time to write your review. I am thrilled to read that you were so impressed with our location, more so our food. I am also pleased to read that you were impressed by our friendly and dedicated team, it is... More

Kilrush, Ireland, Europe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a stay here with my husband and to visit friends in the nearby campsite on the Fifth to the Seventh of august. Very expensive. We paid €160 a night and booked directly from the hotel. On the door of our hotel room the maximum price was listed as €130 per night so I am currently seeking information into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Without Prejudice I believe this review to be written with some agenda behind it, I felt I had to respond in the manner herewith to clarify several incorrect and indeed misleading statements. 1. I have checked our computer system and there was no room with a rate of €160 on the night in question. Perhaps you might furnish evidence to... More

Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent two nights at this hotel last week with our two children, 2 and 1 years of age. First impressions on entering the hotel was that it had a very warm & welcoming atmosphere. Check in was hassle free and the receptionist was both friendly and helpful. We booked a 2 night stay, B&B with one evening meal. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation. It is always great to hear guests having a wonderful time at our hotel and that you felt welcome throughout your stay. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our Team who will be delighted to hear your children enjoyed themselves , as our little guests are just as... More

cork
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Im a bit late with this review as we stayed in this hotel back in May. The hotel overall needs a makeover although clean and welcoming it is a bit drab and outdated. The room we were given was to the front on hotel overlooking the sea and the room showed obvious sun damage to furniture and fittings. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and also for your constructive feedback, which I will be discussing with my team. I do hope that overall, you had a relaxing and enjoyable visit to Clonea. The Clonea Strand Hotel is a seasonal Hotel open May to September annually, we would be delighted to welcome you to our Gold Coast Holiday, Golf... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Clonea Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Clonea Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonea Strand Hotel

Address: Clonea Road | Clonea Beach, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clonea Strand Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clonea Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonea Strand Hotel Gold Coast

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Dungarvan with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clonea Strand Hotel & Apartments, Dungarvan - one of the finest Dungarvan Hotels Now just 1 hour and 50 minutes from Dublin via the new Motorway! The 3 Star Clonea Strand Hotel is one of Waterford's best kept secrets. Our Dungarvan Hotel enjoys a unique and privileged position on the South East coastline in one of the most stunning locations in West Waterford.This beachfront 3 star hotel in Dungarvan has been run by the McGrath Family since 1982 and offers fantastic accommodation, an enviable location, a consistent first class welcome and the finest hospitality. The Clonea Strand Hotel, one of the most popular Waterford Hotels overlooks the beautiful Clonea Beach, which boasts a Blue Flag status, making it a paradise for water enthusiasts and families alike. Why Stay With Us ?In addition to our 57 stylish bedrooms all with modern facilities to make your stay a comfortable one the Clonea Strand Hotel in Dungarvan also offers a variety of dining options. The Ocean Lounge Bar with its breath-taking views across the Atlantic and toward Helvic Head is an ideal place to relax with a morning coffee, lunch or a unwinding drink from our bar. The Bay Restaurant with bright and contemporary décor and its intimate setting offers succulent cuisine and a unique and memorable dining experience. The Bay Restaurant prides itself on the local produce and fresh fish.Situated close by our Dungarvan Hotel is the 18 hole Gold Coast Golf Course which boasts breath-taking views of the Atlantic Ocean, Dungarvan Bay and the stunning Comeragh Mountains. The Clonea Stand Hotel offers exceptional facilities that are unrivalled anywhere in the region. The Clonea Strand Hotel boasts an indoor leisure centre, swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi turkish bath, gym, 10 pin bowling alley and a children's soft play area - the Play Loft. Our facilities are uunrivalled making us one of the most unique Dungarvan Hotels. The Clonea Strand Hotel is the ideal base from which to explore what is, arguably, Ireland's most scenic and unspoilt coastline ... more   less 
Number of rooms
58

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clonea Strand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer