We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clonea Strand Hotel

Clonea Road | Clonea Beach, Dungarvan, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clonea Strand Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clonea Strand Hotel
Clonea Strand Hotel
Clonea Strand Hotel
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    41
    18
    16
    21
See reviews for
89
33
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We held our wedding reception here and without doubt was a fantastic day. Mark and his team could not have been more helpful. The food, location was excellent. We had family stay here from N Ireland, and they loved it. Honeymoon suite was beautiful. Thanks again to all at Clonea for making our day so special. Nora + Paul.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We have just returned from two nights at this hotel, we being 7 adults and 7 children aged 8 to 2 years. As previous reviews say the hotel is quite dated and in need of refurbishment. It's very old fashioned and I don't really like bed spreads on hotel beds. The rooms were spotlessly clean, which is very important to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This hotel is a great placed hotel but the hotel it self is a terrible excuse for a hotel. The staff at the reception aren't to bad. Honestly this hotel need a majour clean up and a lick of paint. I had cousins staying over and the rooms were outdated the walls were even dirty! The best part of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Without Prejudice I would ask the reader to reflect on other reviews on this forum and draw your own conclusion to this one. I would like to ask the reviewer to contact me direct as I believe this review is written with the sole purpose of damaging our business. Interesting feedback - to be honest not sure that you have... More

Dundalk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed at the Clonea Strand Hotel with my husband and 11 year old son and we all had a great time. We had a spacious room with a lovely side view of the beach, it was clean and comfortable, I could not fault it. On a rainy day we used the indoor pool and bowling, we also used the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us which I was delighted to read. Thank you for your warm and positive feedback which I have shared with all the team here. It is extremely heartening to read your words of praise for my colleagues as each and every one of them strive to... More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were a young couple who stayed in the hotel recently. The room we were given had no view only of a roof of another building, we asked on arrival (and also I asked 2 weeks previous to our stay by phone) could we have a room with a view which they told us these were all given to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide us with a review of your experience at the Clonea Strand Hotel on your recent “HotelsinOne Offer” I am delighted to read that you found our breakfast offering to be of a high standard and that the staff were very pleasant. My sincerest apologies regarding the confusion over your seaview... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my two sons aged 6 and 9. The hotel is right on the beach which is beautiful. It has good kids facilities like play loft, bowling and swimming pool. The staff were extremely helpful especially Breda on reception. The hotel is a 3 star probably because it's decor is a bit dated but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review posted following your recent stay with us at the Clonea Strand Hotel. We're delighted that you and the boys enjoyed your stay with us. We're very pleased with the guest response to our Bowling and Play loft and ideal place to spend a few hours. Thank you in particular for your kind words regarding... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Great family friendly experience Staff really helpful. Between bowling and swimming pool , soft play area and the great beach beside the hotel you need never leave the hotel . Will definitely return for a longer stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review of the Clonea Strand Hotel following your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments particularly about the friendliness of the staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Clonea and thank you once again for your strong recommendation. I do hope... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a great family style hotel, welcoming, friendly with very helpful staff. Bedrooms are simple and very adequate, especially as hotel is so close to the beach, where any visitor wishes to spend their time!. Rooms with a sea view are particularly attactive. Meals in the hotel restaurant are of a high standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Clonea recently and also for taking the time to write your review. I am thrilled to read that you were so impressed with our location, more so our food. I am also pleased to read that you were impressed by our friendly and dedicated team, it is... More

Kilrush, Ireland, Europe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I booked a stay here with my husband and to visit friends in the nearby campsite on the Fifth to the Seventh of august. Very expensive. We paid €160 a night and booked directly from the hotel. On the door of our hotel room the maximum price was listed as €130 per night so I am currently seeking information into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Without Prejudice I believe this review to be written with some agenda behind it, I felt I had to respond in the manner herewith to clarify several incorrect and indeed misleading statements. 1. I have checked our computer system and there was no room with a rate of €160 on the night in question. Perhaps you might furnish evidence to... More

Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel last week with our two children, 2 and 1 years of age. First impressions on entering the hotel was that it had a very warm & welcoming atmosphere. Check in was hassle free and the receptionist was both friendly and helpful. We booked a 2 night stay, B&B with one evening meal. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CloneaRep, Owner at Clonea Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation. It is always great to hear guests having a wonderful time at our hotel and that you felt welcome throughout your stay. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our Team who will be delighted to hear your children enjoyed themselves , as our little guests are just as... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clonea Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonea Strand Hotel

Address: Clonea Road | Clonea Beach, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Clonea Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonea Strand Hotel Gold Coast

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay