We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior

Via Regina 41, 22011 Cadenabbia di Griante, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Add Photo Write a Review

1,890 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    391
    579
    433
    230
    257
See reviews for
245
1,081
73
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1890)
  • Mar-May only
    (465)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (716)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (523)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (186)
All months
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

we paid extra for a lake view room and it was well worth the money, the view was superb across to Belagio. loved the floating pool and the girl at the pool bar was very friendly and helpful. the meals on all inclusive were excellent quality and a good choice. Reception and dining room staff very efficient, pleasant and hard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

you are treated as a second class citizen when all inclusive, they hire there sunbeds to the public on weekends so you cant sunbathe, they ran out of glasses and refused to serve there larger ones so we received our beer in tiny white plastic cups they hold about a quarter of a pint and are not filled up! bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Cadenabbia di Griante hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

we travelled with Shearings (first time) and had a great holiday. Coach trip long but manageable due to regular stops,drivers first class!. Have read poor reviews on here with disbelief. The hotel is 3 star so don't expect 5 star luxury but we found hotel very clean,room well serviced,comfy bed, and powerful shower and air con. It is typically Italian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When we arrived to the hotel they offered us a deal to pay extra to make our stay there an all inclusive. We wore the platinum wrist bands. All meals & all drinks including liquor were included. NO restrictions. It was a no brainer & made our trip easy.We were also upgraded to a deluxe room which was spacious. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is an old hotel in need of repair and upgrades. It smells, the heat is unbearable due to the A/C not handling it or working. The employees are RUDE especially the little old man that tends bar by the pool. Just ugly.. Wifi connections are awful and it is in and out. No air in the lobby or sitting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location is wonderful and the floating pool is fabulous. Other than that, look elsewhere, especially if you have asthma or allergies. The hotel is very old, dingy and has mildew and mold everywhere. The hallways are dirty. I had a severe allergy attack as I have allergies but I haven't had a reaction so severe in many years. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just arrived back from a weeks stay, its an older hotel but clean, rooms a bit on the smaller size and bathroom was a bit of a squeeze, also clothes storage limited. Go for platinum all inclusive package so you can eat out at either the Brazilian grill or the Lido a la carte in the evening, where the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rotherham
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

July 23/7/15 From Yorkshire England Just returned from the Brittania, it could be such a beautiful place but is in need of a big refurbishment, its tired and needs some tender loving care, our room was spacious and decorated in traditional Italian style with a wonderful lake view but definitely needed updating especially the bathroom ,new shower, hairdryer was unsafe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seaford, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel last week. We were a little apprehensive after reading a few of the bad reviews but decided to book due to always wanting to visit Lake Como, Bellagio, Lugano etc. When we arrived we were quickly checked in by the great staff who carefully explained the various facilities, restaurant included in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haslemere, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked a weeks stay in this hotel and from the moment we stepped through the door we were appalled by the attitude of the staff, the dingy surroundings, the awful food. So much so that the next morning we left and traveled up the lake to an idyllic spot away from the typical Brit abroad boorish tourists. The pictures... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
fil2, Owner at Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear Steve P, You booked a special offer with Thomson lakes and mountains one week before departure. You were allocated room 438 as per your booking. You loudly told everyone who would listen that you expected a cooked meal although it was 24.00hrs. Having found there was only cold food and salad bar you proceeded in attempting to make a... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very good(24)
  • Reception staff(18)
  • Sun terrace(12)
  • Bar area(7)
  • Friendly and helpful(5)
  • Ice cream(4)
  • Great holiday(4)
  • Swimming pool(4)
  • St Moritz(4)
  • View rooms(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

995 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (764)
Viewed
Room/suite (146)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (192)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (76)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (218)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (180)
Viewed
Comfort Room (20)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Floating Pool (11)
Viewed
Lake View Deluxe Room (30)
Viewed
Lido Beach Club Pool (14)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
Superior Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenabbia di Griante
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
#1 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
#8 of 8 in Tremezzina
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa La Mirabella
Villa La Mirabella
#1 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Ready to book?