We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center

Certificate of Excellence
Casa Zen Beach Acess | 50 mts West from Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    82
    28
    18
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
42
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Barra Honda, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I am not one to write bad reviews, especially about a country that is so dear to my heart. After living in Costa Rica for about a year, I am pretty familiar with the way things work and that it is not always necessary to make reservations, especially during the off season. That being said, booking a trip with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julio C, Gerente at Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, responded to this review

Hello Savannah Thank you very much for take your time and make a second review to us, I am sorry if I was aggressive to you, but really I was super relax, I had no reason not be nice to you, I remember to offer to looking for other place but you said no, you tell me -I just go... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I agree with most the comments below except the suggestion it was really noisy (it's only the cleaner). I stayed for three nights and overall loved the look of the place. With breakfast included this place represented good value for money. The cleaner is noisy! I actually don't know how she breaths because she does not stop talking (LOUD) from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's a good place if you know what you are going into. No hot water, shared bathroom and shower. No AC, no lunch and dinner. Yoga is on site, the beach is 100 meters away and there is a few restaurants a minute walking distance. The worst thing of all is the cleaning ladies who constantly converse between each other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff is really welcoming and nice. We stayed there for six nights and I would recommend it. The dorms and rooms are very clean and the breakfast is good with toast, coffee and fruits. The bathrooms are nothing special and you just can get a cold shower. It is only 300m to the beach and there are some nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights in July. The place is beautiful with lush greenery, hammocks and colourful murals. On arrival I was really impressed with the look of the place. Evening yoga class which very relaxing as it was by candle light and you could hear the sounds of the forest. My one biggest issue was the noise! Had I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

My friend and I saw that Casa Zen had good reviews, so we decided to stay there. The room was really hot, with no natural air and somewhat expensive compared to other places in the town. The staff was not very friendly either. We rented bikes and after 30 minuets, two of them practically broke out of nowhere from not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julio C, Gerente at Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you very much for take a moment a write us a review. First of all I would like to apologize because I was a little exalted in the way talk to you at the time, I get little bit upset because you left the bicycle in the street and also just how your friend talk to my... More 

Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

The hostel is nicely decorated, facilities are fine and breakfast is lovely. The rooms are quite noisy though, I got out of my bed to ask the people in the dorm next door to lower down their voices, and it was not as if they were screaming. The atmosphere is like a budget backpackers hostel, which is fine if that's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

We loved our stay at Casa Zen, If back in Santa Teresa we'd surely visit again! The accommodation is basic but very clean, And at night it is so quiet our sleep was serene. The breakfast of fruit and coffee and toast, For the price of the hostel, was what we valued the most. The sea was so close and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

This place is a true hostel. A lot of common space, nets to relax when it´s raining your even you feel like a siesta. Good tips from the Staff (thank you Julio and Mariano). 2 minutes walk to the beach, 2 minute walk to the supermarket, a lot of different classes during the day, from yoga to fitness. 2 kitchens,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Casa Zen is a beautiful hostel located in Santa Teresa. Everyone was really welcoming and the hostel seemed to be in high demand. We stayed 1 night in a dorm, and another couple of nights in a room with 4 beds. I had no complaints of either room. Casa Zen emphasizes having a low impact on the environment, so everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
2.6 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Carmen
Hotel Playa Carmen
#19 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay