We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Occidental Grand Papagayo

Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Occidental Grand Papagayo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Occidental Grand Papagayo
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    687
    356
    217
    152
See reviews for
246
1,142
47
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1992)
  • Mar-May only
    (544)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (446)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (393)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (609)
All months
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I traveled with friends to this resort for 5 days. The grounds were beautiful and scenic. I loved all of the wildlife that was all around us, absolutely gorgeous! The staff is what separates this hotel from most, as they were extremely accommodating and friendly. The staff that took care of the activities were great! The housekeeping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear Danielle G, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We`re happy that you enjoyed all the flora and fauna our surroundings have to offer and the intimacy and friendliness of our Adults Only resort. It`s great to see that our staff contributed so much to your stay and I`ll... More 

West Sussex UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Travel Details: We stayed at the above property during the beginning of May 2015. We travelled via American airlines via Miami to Liberia. As mentioned on route you do need to collect your luggage and then drop it off whilst going through transit. On our return the bags where checked right through to London. You also need to go through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear LatravelWestSussex, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed the flora and fauna of our natural surroundings and the intimacy and friendliness of our Adults Only concept. It`s great to see that our staff... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you are looking for a vacation filled with party time, do not go here! If you want to relax and get some sun then you will love this place. Be careful though because in July the weather was pretty cloudy during our stay. Also, I would try to get a room not all the way on top of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experiece Manager at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear Carla S, Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience last July in Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing time and appreciated all the flora and fauna in our natural surroundings. We are grateful for your comments and for the information and great tips you have provided our future guests.... More 

Bragg Creek, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed for 10 days that included celebrating in the New Year at the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I agree with the folks that recommend ignoring the negative reviews. You are going to stay in a tropical place near the ocean -- it will feel musty if you come from a dryer climate. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear AdeleeP, Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience last December in Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased that you had a great time and that our staff contributed so much to your holiday experience. We are grateful for your comments and for the information and great tips you have provided our future guests. It... More 

Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Over the top hospitality ! Beautiful resort with wildlife all around...just a little bit of paradise. Best time to visit...probably December through April. The people who work here are amazing! The food is delicious and presentation outstanding. The beach access is easy and cean and comfortable. You can snorkle and enjoy a variety of fish !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear sdcavallo, Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience at the moment in Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased that you are having a great time and that our staff are contributing so much to your holiday experience. We are grateful for all the resort features you highlight in your review and for the information... More 

Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Read lots of the previous reviews. We decided to upgrade since those reviewers seemed to have a more positive experience and it was a special occasion for us but unfortunately we did not breeze through by upgrading to Royal Club. The wildlife on the resort was terrific. We were able to watch howler monkeys make a seemingly regular swing over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear GrffindorOtt, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the flora and fauna and experienced lots of wildlife in our natural surroundings and appreciate you mentioning the members of our staff that contributed to your stay. We regret that you did... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights May 6 - 13 for our anniversary. We opted for Royal Club because we found a great deal, I would say it is definitely worth it. Once we found Josue we checked in in air conditioned comfort with sparkling wine and shots. The staff at this resort and all the people we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear Dolezilek, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time with our Royal Club experience and we appreciate all of your feedback. It`s great to see that you enjoyed and interacted with all the wildlife and flora and fauna... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at Occidental Grand Papagayo for our honeymoon. The grounds and views are beautiful with tons of wildlife. We bought the grand luxury room package and were treated very well. Our room was dated but the views made up for it. The food was outstanding. The only food I did not care for was the snack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear Cassy W, Thank you so much for sharing your recent honeymoon experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased to read you had an enjoyable experience here, especially with all the flora and fauna of our beautiful natural surroundings. We really appreciate all your comments and feedback so that we may continue to improve our services to... More 

Woodstock, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am really shocked to hear negative reviews! Don't listen to them! My room was great, nice and clean and had a very nice washroom and shower. It was 95 degree weather and the air conditioning worked fine. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The view from the sitting area in the lobby was awesome!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear V L, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed the intimacy and friendliness of our Adults Only concept along with all the flora and fuana of our beautiful, natural surroundings. It`s especially great... More 

central islip
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Promises are lies. Our concierge was there to push us for time sharing{Vacation sharing}. Once we were done , we never saw him again. We were never able eat at any of the restaurants. The only way to the pool was climbing down what is equivalent to 10 flights of stairs. Then we found out about the shuttle. This resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda Anne W, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Grand Papagayo, responded to this review

Dear nadine f, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and give us your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we are concerned to read that an employee of the Vacation Club was offering services that our own department of Guest Service experts are... More 

Travelers are raving about these Gulf of Papagayo hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1936)
Viewed
Room/suite (198)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (385)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (485)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
View from room (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (58)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
0:35
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (590)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (with Honeymoon Premium Package) (26)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (64)
Viewed
Royal Club Luxury Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities