We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Funky Dodo Backpackers

Main street, Hopkins, Belize
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    17
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
1
31
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent four nights in the funky dodo in November 2014. We just wanted to stay two nights actually, but it was so nice and fun so we extended. The place is good value for money. The rooms are simple. The kitchen area is nice and the kitchen is fully equipped. There are also Tables, benches and hangmats. On top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I thought this place was fab. Having just arrived from the uk I was tired and wanting to feel safe in my new surroundings. Loved the cute little dog, the table for people to sit around and chat - meeting new people, wifi, secure rooms, coffee, toilets. Generally as someone who adores creature comforts i felt safe and cared for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place could have a lot of potential but you can definately tell there is no heart and soul put into a hostel. Its been renovated at the moment which could surprise future guests. A rule for having a kitchen in my book is you cant have half a kitchen. People love it when a place is clean and well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello there. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. As a professional person, I am supposed to "not take it personally" and write a simple reply to your comments but this is a little hard to swallow. The fact is that the hostel did not even exist 3 years ago. I have built it myself... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

This hostel is very nicely set up and run. Marlin (owner) is eager to help with any information about hopkins, belize, tours, busses - honestly anything. I would bring bugspray, the rooms arent exactly mosquito proof. Marlin makes the stay worth it, and the tree top bar aint bad!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two days during our three week honeymoon-adventure through Belize. Those two days were very good days! It's a hostel, sometimes it can feel kinda grubby, you should watch your stuff, lock your door/bag, etc. but hey - it's a hostel! What else are you expecting?! This place is as cool as they come.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

This place has it all. Cheap rooms (dorm or private), lots of cool laidback backpackers (even in low season!), a well-equipped kitchen, a bar upstairs, and very excellent owners who are willing to go above and beyond to make your time in Hopkins comfortable. While you're there, relax in the hammocks above the sand gardens and play some cards with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Generally very laid back and an easy walk to just about anything in Hopkins. We went to the Funky Dodo intending to stay for a full week on our Honeymoon, but sadly for us we got married during the off-season and didn't realize just how dead Hopkins would be. As well as how bad the bugs are during September and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

If you are looking for a cheap dorm it's the place ... But don't expect a 5star hotel it's a hostel remember, everything you need for low price. Only bad thing is they couldn't offer any tours because they do it with other operator and in September there's NO tour operator open, it would be nice if they do their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lajosmizse, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

The boss is very frendly,kind and helpful. The acomodation is comfortable and grateful. The food is very deletious. Everything are cheep. Due to the Dodo we could to hire a car. Thanks for everything Will. We were there in2013.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Cheap for the area and you get what you pay for. Had a nice vibe and was given useful information about the area and buses etc but the room had huge gaps in around doors and windows so no way of keeping bugs out, communal areas like the bathroom and kitchen were pretty dirty and there didn't seem to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DodoWill, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for your review, and i apologize about the tardiness of my reply. We had been having difficulty with cleaning staff and during the period that you were there we were away which did not help the situation. We have now restored our cleaning standards and we have a reliable staff member dealing with it. We have plans... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Funky Dodo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Funky Dodo Backpackers

Address: Main street, Hopkins, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Funky Dodo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Funky Dodo Backpackers Belize/Hopkins

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay