We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Funky Dodo Backpackers

Main street, Hopkins, Belize
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    17
    9
    11
    4
See reviews for
1
26
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for a cheap dorm it's the place ... But don't expect a 5star hotel it's a hostel remember, everything you need for low price. Only bad thing is they couldn't offer any tours because they do it with other operator and in September there's NO tour operator open, it would be nice if they do their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lajosmizse, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The boss is very frendly,kind and helpful. The acomodation is comfortable and grateful. The food is very deletious. Everything are cheep. Due to the Dodo we could to hire a car. Thanks for everything Will. We were there in2013.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Cheap for the area and you get what you pay for. Had a nice vibe and was given useful information about the area and buses etc but the room had huge gaps in around doors and windows so no way of keeping bugs out, communal areas like the bathroom and kitchen were pretty dirty and there didn't seem to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DodoWill, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for your review, and i apologize about the tardiness of my reply. We had been having difficulty with cleaning staff and during the period that you were there we were away which did not help the situation. We have now restored our cleaning standards and we have a reliable staff member dealing with it. We have plans... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Reasonably priced for the basic rooms. Breakfast was not included when we stayed which was a bit of a shame considering it is advertised as included. Lucky for us the kitchen facilities were really good so making our own was no trouble. Wifi is really good and worked really well in our room. Tree top bar is a cool little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DodoWill, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your lovely review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Dodo. I am sorry there was some confusion about the breakfast. We have never offered or advertised inclusive meals and there must have been a box I did not tick or un-tick somewhere. I am glad you met cool people and enjoyed The... More

Ottowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

A cozy hostel with very helpful management. Unfortunately there was a break in at one of the rooms during our stay. If you have the choice I think it is better to stay at one of the rooms in the middle of the compound where the light is on and people are walking to decrease the risk of unwanted visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DodoWill, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that you suffered this unpleasant incident. Sadly opportunist thieves exist everywhere, in your home town and also here, and there are very few places left in the world where you can sleep with your door unlocked at night. We have implemented new security measures since this incident such as new deadbolts... More

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at the Funky Dodo several different times, as Hopkins became our "home base" for other explorations. We stayed in several different rooms, and while they are quirky- as you would expect with a hostel, they were all clean and comfortable. The hammocks, kitchen, and bar were great places to talk to other travelers. The staff were always working... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your lovely review of our place. We are fortunate to have lovely guests like you. I am so pleased to hear you felt at home in Hopkins and you discovered the chill out factors as well as going out and about to see the country. There is plenty to see and do in Belize and we... More

Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

had a great short trip in hopkins. the hostel was great; staff and guests alike were very friendly and entertaining. the place even has an above ground pool haha. you will meet great travelers here with great stories to share. bar upstairs is also a treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. Wow, time does indeed fly by and I am sorry that your lovely kind review has remained unanswered up until now. I am glad you enjoyed the place and the Tree Top Bar. Our above ground pool does indeed provide a refreshing swim right here in The Dodo. It is a temporary stop gap until we can build a... More

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had a great 2 nights here. It is very rustic as I expected (and wished). No luxury at all, but that didn't mean any trouble to me. The dorm is big and the beds are comfortable. The bar is good (nice music, great sofa) and I met lots of funny people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

They have an special environment there, it's really nice and perfect for chill. The barman it's really awesome. Visit this place you'll want to go back. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, the administrative staff are so friendly they have a lovely dog that follows you everywhere, Hopkins its a good place to stay, take your bags and jump into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review and the cool things you have to say about the place and the village, and I am pleased you enjoyed your time at The Funky Dodo and the bar. The bar is beginning to become an entity and is now called The Tree Top Bar and we are lucky to have excellent staff. Travel... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here for three nights in a dorm room. Hopkins is a funny little town, not much to do and we could of easily gave it a miss. The funky dodo rooms were ok, however the bathrooms and outside area were quite dirty. The only reason you would stay in hopkins would be to do some sort of tour but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Paula I am sorry if you were disappointed with your visit to Hopkins Village. There are in fact many things to see and do right here in the village as well as in the surrounding areas. In the hostel we have an information board wall where you can read with detailed info on what there is to see and... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Funky Dodo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Funky Dodo Backpackers

Address: Main street, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your The Funky Dodo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Funky Dodo Backpackers Belize/Hopkins

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay