We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Hopkins accommodations

The Funky Dodo Backpackers

Main street, Hopkins, Belize
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Funky Dodo Backpackers to your Saves list
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
75%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014
tregena London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    16
    9
    11
    4
See reviews for
1
25
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Cheap for the area and you get what you pay for. Had a nice vibe and was given useful information about the area and buses etc but the room had huge gaps in around doors and windows so no way of keeping bugs out, communal areas like the bathroom and kitchen were pretty dirty and there didn't seem to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DodoWill, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for your review, and i apologize about the tardiness of my reply. We had been having difficulty with cleaning staff and during the period that you were there we were away which did not help the situation. We have now restored our cleaning standards and we have a reliable staff member dealing with it. We have plans... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Reasonably priced for the basic rooms. Breakfast was not included when we stayed which was a bit of a shame considering it is advertised as included. Lucky for us the kitchen facilities were really good so making our own was no trouble. Wifi is really good and worked really well in our room. Tree top bar is a cool little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DodoWill, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your lovely review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Dodo. I am sorry there was some confusion about the breakfast. We have never offered or advertised inclusive meals and there must have been a box I did not tick or un-tick somewhere. I am glad you met cool people and enjoyed The... More

Ottowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

A cozy hostel with very helpful management. Unfortunately there was a break in at one of the rooms during our stay. If you have the choice I think it is better to stay at one of the rooms in the middle of the compound where the light is on and people are walking to decrease the risk of unwanted visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DodoWill, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that you suffered this unpleasant incident. Sadly opportunist thieves exist everywhere, in your home town and also here, and there are very few places left in the world where you can sleep with your door unlocked at night. We have implemented new security measures since this incident such as new deadbolts... More

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at the Funky Dodo several different times, as Hopkins became our "home base" for other explorations. We stayed in several different rooms, and while they are quirky- as you would expect with a hostel, they were all clean and comfortable. The hammocks, kitchen, and bar were great places to talk to other travelers. The staff were always working... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

had a great short trip in hopkins. the hostel was great; staff and guests alike were very friendly and entertaining. the place even has an above ground pool haha. you will meet great travelers here with great stories to share. bar upstairs is also a treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had a great 2 nights here. It is very rustic as I expected (and wished). No luxury at all, but that didn't mean any trouble to me. The dorm is big and the beds are comfortable. The bar is good (nice music, great sofa) and I met lots of funny people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

They have an special environment there, it's really nice and perfect for chill. The barman it's really awesome. Visit this place you'll want to go back. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, the administrative staff are so friendly they have a lovely dog that follows you everywhere, Hopkins its a good place to stay, take your bags and jump into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review and the cool things you have to say about the place and the village, and I am pleased you enjoyed your time at The Funky Dodo and the bar. The bar is beginning to become an entity and is now called The Tree Top Bar and we are lucky to have excellent staff. Travel... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here for three nights in a dorm room. Hopkins is a funny little town, not much to do and we could of easily gave it a miss. The funky dodo rooms were ok, however the bathrooms and outside area were quite dirty. The only reason you would stay in hopkins would be to do some sort of tour but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Paula I am sorry if you were disappointed with your visit to Hopkins Village. There are in fact many things to see and do right here in the village as well as in the surrounding areas. In the hostel we have an information board wall where you can read with detailed info on what there is to see and... More

Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Funky Dodo was great! We are a couple in our late 20's traveling long term through Central America and for a budget traveler this place is exactly what we look for. Clean rooms, a kitchen for guest use, hammocks to relax, 2 full size fridges, close to the beach, welcoming staff, and a great owner! I find it a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello :) I was so pleased reading all the nice things you wrote in your review and it is so nice to see someone who realizes how much work it is having a place like this and the difficulties that one must overcome. I love the place, I cherish it, it is everything for me but far too many people... More

London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Private room w/shared bathroom, $46 BZD/night for two, 14th-16th April 2014 Vibe: Funky Dodo ticks all the perfect hostel boxes upon arrival: lots of colour, an outdoor kitchen and several hammocks. However, after a few nights, certain inadequacies become all too prominent. Location: Central location, a one minute walk from bus stop and close to all amenities. Best thing: Clearly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Funky Dodo Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Funky Dodo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Funky Dodo Backpackers

Address: Main street, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and Booking.com so you can book your The Funky Dodo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Funky Dodo Backpackers Belize/Hopkins

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Hopkins with
any amenities