We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Funky Dodo Backpackers

Main street, Hopkins, Belize
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    26
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
2
39
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (136)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It came with such promise, yet delivered so very little. At the time of writing, this is the only hostel in the seaside town of Hopkins, Belize. The hostel is a ramshackle of cabins with dorms and private rooms with one large shared bathroom area. We stayed in a private room which had unfinished dry wall, a ceiling fan with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks for your review and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Funky Dodo. Your review has prompted us to fully refurbish the room you were in and it is now insulated & redecorated, new screens, curtains lighting and furniture. The mattress you had however was brand new and we double checked both sides and... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Real nice place to chill out in hopkins, spitting distance from the beach. Will and his wife are lovely and helped us with transport around the rest of Belize. Definitely head to Jaguar nature reserve if you stay here, it was the best thing we did in Belize. At the moment the beach is a bit eroded as a resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for you lovely review and for staying with us. I hope your journey is going well and that you are having an excellent time exploring Central America. The Jaguar reserve is definitely a cool place to check out and have a swim in the cool waterfalls. I am pleased to say that the beach in Hopkins is back to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had an awesome time at the Funky Dodo, 2 min walk from the beach, friendly staff, nice rooms, toilets and showers. There's lots to do in Hopkins with numerous fun music events and restaurants. Also the hostel does a really great breakfast! Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

I am pleased you guys enjoyed your time in Hopkins and at The Funky Dodo. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Thank you so much for your nice review and for coming to stay with us. Here in Hopkins we are getting geared up for the Hopkins Mango Fest which is the 30th of May. there is Garifuna Collective... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a really chilled stay at this great hostel in Hopkins. The owners are fantastic and will go out of their way to help you with anything you need. Food and drink is cheap and very nice. Hopkins has a real laid back atmosphere and there's loads to do just a short walk or drive away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for coming to stay with us in Hopkins and for your lovely review. We take pride in going that extra mile for our guests making sure everyone has what they need and knows where they are going, and to be honest with you I enjoy helping people if I can. Lending a hand gives me a kick.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There isn't a lot to choose from in terms of budget accommodation in Hopkins, but then there isn't really a lot of reason to visit Hopkins despite it's recommendation from the Lonely Planet. When I stayed at the Funky Dodo I ended up with over 100 bites due to a serious bedbug infestation in one of the dorms. You could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. Firstly I would like to say to all people reading that there are no bed bugs at The Funky Dodo. We did have an outbreak one night which were brought in to the hostel on another guests luggage. This guest had been staying in a location highly prone to bugs of all kinds, we confirmed this with the guest... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at easily over a hundred hostels before and this one, by FAR, has the worst mattress I've ever slept on! It's pretty much non-existent. I may as well just be laying on the wooden slats. The showers suck, no water pressure. Most of the lights are burned out in this place right now. The guy at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello. I remember you. You two were the girls who came to the front desk asking for a refund because your friend was somewhere waiting for you... I am sorry but the management can not be responsible for your every change of plan or mood swing. And if bookings were refundable once you have already arrived and paid then they... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Really loved our stay here, only reason it didn't get 5stars was the lack of aircon gives the rooms a stifling heat. Marlon who seems to run the place is such an amazing and helpful bloke, full of local knowledge and good enough to have opened his own wallet to me as my cashcard wouldn't work in the local ATM.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your awesome review and I am happy to hear that our manager Marlon was his usual helpful and kind self. We are proud to have him on board. I am glad that you enjoyed Hopkins and The Dodo and maybe we will see you back here some time. have a great trip and many thanks. All the best... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Ended up staying here on a Saturday night because everything else in town was taken. This was actually my first bunk hostel experience ever, and at first I thought it would be horrible. But the bathrooms and showers were clean (cold water only), and the dorm was very quiet all night. I got like 10 hours of sleep. They were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thefunkydodo, Owner at The Funky Dodo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. I am sorry thee was maybe a temporary shortage on stock at the bar for our snack menu. The new bathrooms you mentioned have since been completed and they offers pleasurable experience. have a great trip. Many thanks for staying with us More 

Tegucigalpa, Honduras
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We stayed at Funky Dodo at the beginning of April and really loved it. The people that work there were super helpful and really cool. The treetop bar is awesome and had great music and an even better vibe. The private room was basic; a bed and a fan, but it served the purpose since we weren't ever in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
104 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We booked for 2 but ended up staying for 5. We stayed in a 4 person room with shared bathroom which was located at the back of the property. The room was really spacious and away from the common areas. It is cheap and basic and we loved it. The kitchen could do with some more cutlery. Moses was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay