We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bayview Beach Resort

Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bayview Beach Resort
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    483
    229
    72
    41
See reviews for
434
380
46
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1152)
  • Mar-May only
    (267)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (287)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (255)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (343)
All months
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
87 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Resort located on the beachfront on the North-West coast of Penang Island .overlooking the tranquil and scenic bay of the "Foreigner's Rock" or Batu Ferringhi.It is 18 km or 25 minutes from Georgetown and 33 km or 50 minutes from Penang International Airport. Enhancing the magic of its beach-front setting at the quieter end of the lovely and scenic beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear SINGARAMMOHAN, We are delighted that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and given us a 4/5 rating. Thank you for staying with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bayview beach Resort for another nice stay with us. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We arrived at 12april..Staff were friendly and helpful..The view of our room wasn't good as it was level 4 facing the road but was block by the trees..That doesn't matter as long the room was good..Big bed and big room..Everything was okay..Water activity was a bit expensive but still okay to try out..Staff of water activity was friendly approach..Good for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jules90s, I am so glad our staff have served you well and that you found our services and room excellent. Thank you very much for rating us 5/5 and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again for another enjoyable holiday with us at the Bayview Beach Resort. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived on 6th April and are due to leave on 16th .after a harrowing journey (missed connections no transfers from airport etc)it was wonderful to be met by friendly and efficient staff at this hotel. The room was spacious,clean and had all the bits you would expect (hair dryer etc) When my wife asked for a softer bed, room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear peter s, I am glad that our staff made your day after a long and tiring flight. Our heartiest congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary and we are honoured you have chosen to celebrate this special occasion here. I am delighted we were able to make your special holiday so enjoyable and memorable. Your excellent 4/5 rating is much appreciated... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the third hotel for my trip to Malaysia. I booked at this hotel in a family room and boy was I glad. The room is huge and has two separate rooms for master and kids room. Everything is excellent and I can't find any issue apart from the location. It's a bit too far to the local market... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear rdrooster, I am so glad our team have served you well and that you found our service and room excellent. It was a pleasure to have been in service to you and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again for another enjoyable holiday when you are next in Penang. More 

Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived expecting the worst after reading some of the earlier reviews but have been pleasantly surprised. On arrival we were upgraded from a hill view suite to a sea view suite which is lovely. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well presented with comfortable beds and lots of space. Yes the hotel looks a little dated but that adds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear brownie1973, The Management and Staff would like to thank you for rating us 5/5 in Trip Advisor and for choosing the Bayview Beach Resort as your choice of accommodation in Penang. Indeed, I am delighted that there are many aspects that pleased you especially after having read some negative reviews. The management has always emphasised on maintaining the resort’s... More 

Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first time to Penang and after extensive research I chose Bayview beach resort. Overall Bayview recieves good reviews but I must say they exceeded my expectations of them. The staff were smiling and friendly during check in, your bags are taken off you and magically transported to your room. The lobby is magnificent, especially the glass elevators.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear stoko42, Thank you for your excellent 5/5 Trip Advisor rating on your recent stay with us and I am glad to know that we have exceeded your expectations on your first time visit to Penang and our hotel. We are grateful for your nice comments of our staff, overall impression of our lobby, bubble lifts and all the other... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I needed a place to sleep and checked in at 3am. Was given a room 941 which had faulty airconditioning and worst off all had small cockroaches running around all over. And for this resort room I paid RM287.50 without breakfast. I should have listened to my friends and gone to one of the many motels situated nearby and paid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Paulgs1966, We have in our records the last pest control fumigation was on 3 April, 2015 which was just over a day before you actually checked-in on 5 April, 2015 at 1.45 a.m. and that may explain the cockroach seen. We only got a note from you after you have checked out at 1.30 p.m on 5 April, otherwise... More 

Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is really beyond my expectations. I was like wow when I entered the big, fancy, beautiful lobby, and then wow again when I entered my room :). I booked the room with balcony and the view is so nice, the hotel pools are under my balcony and I could also see the beach from the balcony. The bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Flicka1712, I am delighted that we have exceeded your expectations for a first time visit to Penang with your liking of our lobby, huge bed, lovely view from the balcony, good staff service and our various facilities. Regrettably all Batu Ferrighi beach hotels is about an hour ride from the other side of the island where the airport is... More 

Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a hotel which has many things going for it, but sadly is empty. I could see too few guests during the day and night, which seemed very unusual. The room itself was ok. There was no view, but inside the room was spacious and clean. The pool area is excellent and beach is a short walk outside. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear gauravlal80, Your description of our hotel as “Empty Hotel” could be due to the low period in the month of March where it was quieter than normal. I am glad you liked our spacious clean rooms and have enjoyed a relaxing time at our meditation pool. For your information, the Sagar Indian restaurant is closed for lunch on Mondays... More 

Belgrave, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this was mine and my husband second visit in 2 years however this time we brought my mum and our kids. I love LOVE this hotel. The staff are amazing, the rooms were great large rooms with amazing views. We loved the fact that they have a free shuttle bus down to the night markets at 7:30 which dropped us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,079 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (571)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (125)
Viewed
Room/suite (89)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (132)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (132)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (480)
Viewed
Adult Pool (31)
Viewed
Amenities (91)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Family Side Seaview Suite (44)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Seaview Room (47)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (5)
Viewed
Meditation Pool (3)
Viewed
Play Pool (6)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (58)
Viewed
Standard Room (42)
Viewed
Superior Hillview Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question