We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bayview Beach Resort

Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bayview Beach Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

1,233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    341
    519
    252
    78
    43
See reviews for
471
396
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1233)
  • Mar-May only
    (295)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (340)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (255)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (343)
All months
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

the hotel has a very disgusting smell. food is very bad and no international varities. staff is very tough and they blackmaled me to pay 1800 ringett for breaking the t.v in the room. i didnt break the t.v and i suffered daily of the non working tv and finally they said i broke it and after alot of debates... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had an amazing stay, room was spotless with great staff that are friendly. Breakfast buffet had a good variety. The pools were great, clean and family friendly. Short trip to monkey island which has a better beach. Taxis always available in front of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was here alone to attend a 5-days conference last year November 2014. Staff are very friendly and helpful. However, I don't find the environment comfortable. The building is a little bit old, the furniture in the hotel smells 'old'. The hallway is rather dark at night, the brightness of the hallway depends on the small led light place in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear aprilpretty, Our Resort built in the early 90's has mostly maintained its original design with some genuine antique furniture around the hotel so not sure you are referring to them. As posted previously by other guests we may be ‘old’ in style but we have many positive attributes that many enjoy when staying here. Due to the layout of... More 

China
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is the first time I come Malaysia Penang , I search at the internet , this is the hotel I'm choosing to stay because it near by beach . I like the buffer lunch which provide by the hotel , local food . I will recommend my friend to stay here .

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear xiaochao5817, I am delighted to note you have enjoyed our famous Sunday buffet lunch which is definitely renown for the wide selection of Heavenly & Healthy dishes ranging from local & international favourites and the famous meatless selection of over 40 items with a rotating weekly menu that draw many repeat customers. Many thanks for choosing our hotel and... More 

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel was fine. One complaint is that they have activities for kids and teens that you need to reserve. We reserved one activity for both my young teens. Everything was OK. when we went to start with the "Coconut bowling" they did not have anything set up, did not receive the reservation. There were no other kids playing and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We decided to Visit Penang and booked The Bay View beach hotel Ok room was dated I switched on the TV and expected to see Starsky & Hutch but it was not that bad Firstly you have the beach and the food was good . The rooms was cleaned daily with Fresh towels The staff was really nice and 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear MegaMik, All of our rooms have recently completed a progressive renovation for the enjoyment of our current & future guests including the completed change of all older carpets with new ones. We are so glad you enjoyed the food served in our restaurant and that our barman Teik Chin had the right mix made for you and your wife’s... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

All in all a nice hotel nice pool area, rooms dated and they need to get rid of the stale carpets and replace with flooring, the large percentage of Arab Muslims in full hijab, was an eye opener was expecting more Malay of which there were none. Alright for a short break though

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear caljmcc, We have invested a significant amount each year in upgrading our hotel rooms and facilities progressively particularly on important areas such as beds, beddings, bath-linens, wall-repainting and so on whilst all older carpet in the rooms has currently been changed to refresh those remaining rooms. I am glad we have served you well and that you liked our... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is awful. It looks like it dropped out of the 80's and hasn't been invested in since. The food was terrible, the milk on the breakfast buffet was sour (although they did change it pretty sharpish once I'd pointed it out) The glasses in the bathroom hadn't been washed for what looked like weeks. Disgusting. The bathroom ceiling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear red b, I am disappointed to read that our style of the hotel has put you off and we regret that you have not reported your unhappiness over the ‘dirty’ glasses and the leaking ceiling that ‘produced’ an ice rink under an inch of water all the time which I am sure we could immediately rectify had we been... More 

Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in July for 4 nights. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a full sea view family room for an extra 50 ringits a night. After comparing the two rooms we decided to pay the extra even though there wasn't a great deal of difference to the side view room we had originally booked. We originally booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear nitrams027, I am glad that you were happy with the nominal surcharge for an upgrade to a family seaview room with partition for privacy and giving you a restful sleep. The usual comments on our “dated” look by some guests are more on the style of resort which is designed in the late 80’s that still hold heritage charm... More 

Penang, M'sia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was just located next to Hard Rock Hotel. Parking space available but no shade. Breakfast wasnt bad, lots of selection but some items like sausages and nuggets were cold and hard. Had a deluxe and a superior room. Deluxe room has a king size bed, 2 shower rooms (1 with bath tub). However would prefer to have main bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear tanal, Thank you for rating us 4/5 in value, sleep quality and service. I appreciate your positive endorsement of our daily varied breakfast that has a large selection that you have enjoyed and I have copied your specific comments to our Executive Chef for his attention and improvement. I am also disappointed to read that the reception staff appeared... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,095 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (597)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (130)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (137)
Viewed
Room/suite (93)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (144)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (480)
Viewed
Adult Pool (31)
Viewed
Amenities (91)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Family Side Seaview Suite (44)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Seaview Room (47)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (5)
Viewed
Meditation Pool (3)
Viewed
Play Pool (6)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (58)
Viewed
Standard Room (42)
Viewed
Superior Hillview Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 13 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 13 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,778 reviews
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#4 of 13 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay