We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Batu Ferringhi hotels

Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La to your Saves list
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
78%
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
A recent review
Write a Review

1,304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    525
    479
    190
    72
    38
See reviews for
604
401
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I used to frequent this establishment throughout my childhood usually for auspicious occasions thus it forges fond memories. However my last stay last week was a heartfelt disappointment that one of Penang's "icon" is deteriorating. In general, the entire place looks over utilized and tired. Reception staff lacked the required "Asian" hospitality. No one offered to carry our bags or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On arrival we checked into a hill view room- which in reality was a view of the bus shelter and main road! The noise was unbearable. After a very costly payment we upgraded to the sea view. This was a beautiful outlook. The rooms and soft furnishings are tired, worn and badly stained. The shower curtain was in fact disgusting.... More

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just returned from 10 nights at Golden Sands, great hotel and location, extremely friendly staff. Our rooms were perfect 4th floor (family combo) seafacing interconnecting rooms, it was great to have a drink on the balcony once our 5 & 9 year olds were asleep. They loved childrens pool, duly populated daily with kids of all nationalities and laid out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were not sure what to expect given some of the reviews. However, we were really impressed with the setting, staff, food and service with a smile. The grounds were lovely and well kept. The pool was wonderfully warm and inviting . Thank you to you all for a superb holiday.

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Just back from golden sands can't fault anything. We had a sea facing deluxe room 4rth floor. Room was very clean. The breakfast was great,accommodated every tastes. The pools were lovely and there was plenty of available sun beds. Staff were very friendly ,food and drink at zigis bar was lovely but a bit pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very pleasant hotel resort with friendly environment. Staff are helpful and also cheerful. My only comments as follows: 1. Hillview Rooms are better to have double-glazed windows to insulate road traffic and other noise in the morning. 2. Swimming Pool - Better to have larger area with shallower depth of 1.3m for users with less swimming skill. Overall Golden Sands... More

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Georgetown, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night 2014-04-12. Reception staff extremely too friendly. Hahaha...anyway, upon check-in into the superior room, the interior design of the room blown me away. Makes you want to hibernate in the room for the rest of your life. Splitting the pool into four different reservoir activities is great idea. Not everyone having lunch/dinner at hotel, but everyone will... More

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

People are generally friendly and willing to help out. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Location is good with night markets nearby and convenience stores to be reached easily. Have taxi frequently to go elsewhere.

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We are a group travelling from KL booking 6 rooms through an agent on Malaysian tour after nearly 7 hours of travelling we arrived at the hotel about 6pm and we expect the room to be ready upon arrival but to our disappointment they told us the would not be ready until 7.30pm which is absolutely ridiculous. Our tour guide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SL_Penang, Colleague at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review

Dear Allan T, Thank you for your review of our resort and bringinyour disappointment to our attention. We regret to hear that were note able to offer you an early check-in, though we always try our best to accommodate a request like this if guest room situations allow it. We are disappointed that you were not able to have a... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely smart hotel, we arrived with 2 young children and only 1 extra bed was provided which was slightly annoying as obviously we had booked for 2, the manager suggested the children share a single or he could charge us for an upgrade in the end we made a bed up on the sofa which was fine, room lovely, clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SL_Penang, Colleague at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review

Dear SallyG_11, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed yourselves at our resort. We are disappointed to know that you were not accorded the 2 beds you booked for. Please contact us at communications.rsr@shangri-la.com so that we can obtain more details and hope to make amends. Thank you again and we... More

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Night market(46)
  • Very good(15)
  • Long beach(14)
  • Adventure Zone(13)
  • Water sport(8)
  • Cool lounge(7)
  • Sea View room(7)
  • George town(6)
  • Rasa Sayang(5)
  • Kid Club(5)

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La in Malaysia, Penang is the epitome of premier resort getaway for families, groups and individual travellers. Situated in the midst of a laid-back seaside village and the popular Batu Feringgi beach, its locale provides ample opportunity for exploration and leisure. Embraced by sun, surf and fun, the resort's diversity and accessibility is the perfect antidote for jet lag and boredom. Among its 387 rooms include the biggest family suites, with some equipped with Murphy beds (a retractable bed that fits neatly into walls). Dining options include Sigi's Bar & Grill on the beach, a Garden Cafe with 360 degree view of the gardens and pools, a Lobby Lounge overlooking the landscaped garden, state-of-art meeting rooms, banquet hall and Cool Lounge, an innovative transit lounge for early check-in and late check-out stand ready to serve guests. George Town, a UNESCO world heritage site is a short drive away. So are the island's nature trails and myriad cultural centres. Recreational facilities include a water sports center, three tennis courts, Health Club , a Par 3 Executive Golf Courts, two swimming pools with an outdoor Jacuzzi and Adventure Zone, an in house Family Entertainment Centre. An evolving recreational calendar includes activities organized for in-house guests of all ages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.