We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Montagu Springs Resort

Uitvlucht Street, Montagu, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Montagu Springs Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked one night at Josmont Heights at the end of December 2015. The rooms are quite old and could use an upgrade. To use the hot springs you have to unfortunately pay as a day visitor which I found strange. The balcony had good views of the mountain but overall other facilities pretty average. Quite a few insects about... More 

Helpful?
Thank naasman786
Neil Hemming
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Had a very enjoyable day in the sun and in the pools. Despite the 100 rand entrance is was a nice query day. Cocktails where lovely and very cheap. Staff we friendly the pool area was very clean. After reading reviews I don't think I would stay there but for the day was perfect.

Helpful?
Thank Spellar
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

Over the weekend of the Robertson Wine on the River we stayed in unit 4 (I think) of the Josmont Heights. After this stay I would be loath to use this facility again.The bathroom area was riddled with mould around the bath and wash basin.The general appearance of the furniture was tired and the kitchen is in urgent need of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gordon M

Travelers are raving about these Montagu hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

My wife and I stopped over for one night on our way to Cape Town. We would have stayed much longer if I'd known how lovely this resort is.We were checked in by a very friendly receptionist who gave us a detailed description of the services offered. We were also given a discount meal voucher which we used in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Haystack007
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

How can someone make a space that is naturally so intoxicatingly beautiful, so ugly? It appears that all the hot springs in South Africa have to be destroyed by bad design , devout of imagination and religiously have to position brai stands like an alter in a church!!why? Can't there be a space of natural beauty that is enhanced for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
MontaguSprings, General Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Mark G, Montagu Springs does not have day visitor facilities...I do believe that you visited the Avalon Springs Hotel. Regards More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

We went to this place not expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised and regret not having stayed longer. When it comes to booking, they were a bit slow to respond and did not advise much on what was available. When we went to the resort, there was this very nice lady at the reception, can't remember her name. She... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RubysMRU
Kyle D, Public Relations Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We couldn't agree with you more as we have tried to provide our guests with friendly service, superb heated and cool pools that is complimented with clean accommodation - enjoyed by family and friends with very competitive prices. If you want to get out of town... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
210 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

Great resort but could be so much better. Lots to offer- great kids playground, hot and cold swimming pools and yes the super friendly ducks! :) Houses very outdated and worn but sufficient for a day or two. Luckily we went during the week as I think over weekends the dreaded 'day visitors' could make it unbearable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan-12345
Kyle D, Public Relations Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this review

Hi Stefan Many thanks for the review. We are elated you had a positive stay with us. It's a great place for a family trip or a weekend with friends. Our pools are enjoyed by all throughout the year and the friendly resident ducks are great (feeding time is lots of fun for the little ones). That being said, weekends... More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

Myself and seven friends spent two days at the Villas at Montagu Springs. A plus was that it was outside the peak season so the property was quiet and relaxing. The rooms were clean and a nice time was spent around the braai and inside fireplaces on the chilly evenings. Only disapointment was that the warm baths were broken but... More 

Helpful?
Thank everster
Kyle D, Public Relations Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this review

Good afternoon Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are elated you had a positive experience with us. The heater unfortunately had to be replaced, but we did this as quickly as possible as it had to be ordered from overseas - the good news is that the heated pool is up and running so when... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Good sized one bedroom flat. Windows all around sitting room and kitchen with a fabulous view of the beautiful mountain. Pity that the maintenance is average. Flat smelled of stale smoke. Bathroom shower glass partition was full of mold where it was siliconed to the bath. Unnecessary window above bath had rotten and moldy window frames. Splash board above sink... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizegouws
Kyle D, Public Relations Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this review

Hi Ellize Thank you for providing us with feedback. Our guests are and will always be our number one priority. We have paid extra attention to ensure that the bathrooms are well ventilated to prohibit the formation of mold around the silicone strips. That being said, we are elated your linen, bed and views were fabulous - we are confident... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 via mobile

Expensive for the average South African, especially for a family. The place was full due to the school holidays. Everything is extra, to use warm pools etc. place is neat etc. Day stop was good, but will recommend for childless couples to visit off peak times.

Helpful?
Thank JandB281
Kyle D, Public Relations Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to write a review. At Montagu Springs Resort we have a number of accommodation types, ranging from our entry level Plettenburg Chalets to our Villas which cater for various budgets. Whichever accommodation type one chooses you can be assured to be greeted by friendly staff, enjoy wonderful heated and cool pools, all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (46)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
1.5 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
1.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
27.8 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
African Game Lodge
African Game Lodge
#6 of 30 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 26 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
7.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay