We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Montagu Springs Resort

Uitvlucht Street, Montagu, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Montagu Springs Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    9
    10
    11
    8
See reviews for
22
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and seven friends spent two days at the Villas at Montagu Springs. A plus was that it was outside the peak season so the property was quiet and relaxing. The rooms were clean and a nice time was spent around the braai and inside fireplaces on the chilly evenings. Only disapointment was that the warm baths were broken but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyle D, Public Relations Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this review

Good afternoon Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are elated you had a positive experience with us. The heater unfortunately had to be replaced, but we did this as quickly as possible as it had to be ordered from overseas - the good news is that the heated pool is up and running so when... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good sized one bedroom flat. Windows all around sitting room and kitchen with a fabulous view of the beautiful mountain. Pity that the maintenance is average. Flat smelled of stale smoke. Bathroom shower glass partition was full of mold where it was siliconed to the bath. Unnecessary window above bath had rotten and moldy window frames. Splash board above sink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Expensive for the average South African, especially for a family. The place was full due to the school holidays. Everything is extra, to use warm pools etc. place is neat etc. Day stop was good, but will recommend for childless couples to visit off peak times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Strand, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Unfortunately a bad experience from start to finish. We wanted to check in early (midday) as we have 2 little kids, we phoned well in advance to ask and were told straight off the bat that no check in before 3, they didn't even check to see if a unit was a available, which there was when we got there,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers are raving about these Montagu hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

High prices even during off-season are not justified by the limited included items and antiquated facilities. Rooms are possibly 2 star (in the case of the chalets, at least). Remember to bring your own towels and dish washing kit for self catering! The staff members were very helpful, though. Maybe try Avalon Springs instead...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Strand, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

Stayed for 4 nights with my family, website is deceiving. Over priced and under delivered. Stayed in Plettenberg chalets, no towels provided, no remote and when we arrived the room smelt like gas as the gas stove was left on. At reception we were informed,the heat pumps,were,not working therefore pools were free - I thought these pools were free anyway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

The polls are really lovely and the setting is beautiful. My boys love the many wildfowl that hang around! The only drawback is the number of people (it's obviously very popular) and the noise they make.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I stayed in the Villa and was greeted by a mop lying in front of the pathway near the garden. Has a small, old TV, One has to pay to use the hot pool and it is limited to 10h30pm. Why can't it be the whole night? After all, apart from security, it's only residents on the premises surely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Montagu Springs Resort is a good place to visit and relax. Great nature and hot mineral water springs. The problem I had is that there is no guide to explain what kind of facilities are available and how to be used. There are no signs to specify what is the mineral content of the water, what is the water temperature... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Booked here for a nice relaxing couple of days after a week in Cape town. We were a party of four. The chalets were old and needed to be updated. We were not to worried as we were there for the springs. So we couldn't believe it when we were told we couldn't use them as they were filming in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
1.5 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Montagu Vines
Montagu Vines
#1 of 26 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
27.8 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 26 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
7.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
13.7 mi away
African Game Lodge
African Game Lodge
#6 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay