We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adventure Lodge & Motel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Special Offer
Tongariro Freedom Package
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Adventure Lodge & Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    200
    94
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
48
176
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (323)
  • Mar-May only
    (107)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I gave 12 days notice of cancellation via Adventure Lodge website using the 'contact us' email provided. Their system seems to have failed as when they rang me on the night of my original booking Jason said they didnt receive my email. I forwarded it to him again where it clearly showed date sent. Jason angrily ranted at me in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdventureLodge, Manager at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you felt Jason acted in an unprofessional manager. If Jason had any evidence your booking had been cancelled 12 days, one week or 48 hours before your arrival date, then the credit card would not have been charged the one night cancellation fee. The cancellation policy is clearly stated on the... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Adventure Lodge and Motel was perfect for our 2 night stay in the national park. We were warmly welcomed by Lorraine and after hearing that were leaving at 6:15am for a hike the next morning she packed us 2 egg sandwiches the night before so that we wouldn’t have to worry about breakfast. The room was clean, spacious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdventureLodge, Manager at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Julianne for taking the time to review Adventure Lodge. It is truly a pleasure welcoming people from around the world to New Zealand and to our wonderful Tongariro National Park. I hope the three of you get a chance to come back some time to this part of the world happy travels More 

Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stayed one night but check in, check out, breakfast, local information all provided seamlessly. Booked the family room which had separate bedroom - everything very clean and heaters kept us nice and warm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our 4 day ski weekend was a great experience - assisted by 50cm of new snow and the friendly, informative and service oriented team at Adventure Lodge. We found the accommodation clean and warm, the breakfast excellent and the overall value outstanding. We will be sure to use again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The lady at the front desk when we checked in was incredibly helpful with best places to eat for each night of the week and best hiking spots. Since it was winter this was especially helpful since not all trails and crossings are open at that time. Our unit came with a fully stocked kitchen, living area and 2 beds,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with the Tongariro Hike bundle- 2 nights, with breakfasts, a packed lunch, and a dinner, along with transportation to and from the hike, as well as advice and support. (Or along those lines- it was several months ago now). I can't say enough good things about our experience. All the food was delicious home cooked goodness- the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've stayed here a few times now and we've always been warmly welcomed by Lorraine on the front desk. We booked a lodge room and breakfast package and were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a studio unit. The Units are clean, tidy, well equipped. Great heating for chilly nights and very comfy bed with good quality linen. Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

This motel / lodge is conveniently located not far off the state highway. Several eateries and the convenience store and snow sports rental places all within a walking distance. It has a mix of motel units and lodge rooms. We stayed in motel units, and the review is only for the motel units. The motel units we had were very,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Arrived to a warm, modern and clean family unit. Heater was on which was nice touch after arriving in the cold. We initially came to do the tongariro crossing but due to weather were unable but lorraine helped us find the best alternatives for us. Breakfast was part of our package so it was great to wake up and sit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

We were there the night before doing the Tongariro crossing and staff were very helpful for directions and restaurant recommendations. Room was small but comfortable. Bathroom difinetely needs more shelves for bath products.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongariro National Park
7.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
7.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay