We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Otorohanga hotels

Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels

59 Main North Rd (SH 3), Otorohanga, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels to your Saves list
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
86%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Otorohanga
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014
algor50 Katikati, New Zealand
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Katikati, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We only spend one night, but with the very friendly welcome with great hospitality shared it made you feel very welcome in there place. Yes it is old, but it was clean. Even through you are right next to state Highway 1 there was not much noise from the trucks passing, we both hard a good nights sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I booked this motel because of the good reviews and was very disappointed. I don't know if we were unlucky and got a unit that hadn't been refurbished and others had but this was the worst accommodation we came across. Everything was old and shabby and the bed linen and pillows smelled musty. We had 2 bedrooms and the twin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willem D, Manager at Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels, responded to this review

We were very disappointed to receive your review and that you did not approach us at the time of your stay so that this matter may have been resolved. We consider ourselves to be a traditional New Zealand motel providing clean and comfortable accommodation. We are aware that we cannot please all the people all of the time but as... More

NZ
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Clean and tidy, perfect for our family of two adults and two children - with single beds in the lounge the kids were happy they didn't have to share. This is an older motel but it has been well maintained and is very well equiped/ Very friendly host, although we didn't need anything extra you got the feeling that nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Excellent friendly hosts where nothing is too much trouble. Very clean and tidy rooms and everything one needs for a safe and comfortable stay. Very much a home away from home and I will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Motel was clean and well equipped with all amenities and friendly staff. The pool and spa were an added attraction for the kids. Conveniently located on our way from the Waitomo caves, the Kiwi house nearby being an added attaction the motel made a great stopover.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed for one night in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment itself was spacious, clean, tidy and well-stocked. Everything you need for a decent stay was provided. The motel is very close to the centre of town, and local attractions - the Kiwi House is about two minutes back down the road, and the Waitomo Caves are an easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

As an older female solo traveller, I like to stay in places where I feel safe and comfortable and, as I travel by bus, I need to be able to reach amenities on foot. This motel is perfect on all counts. My unit was towards the back of the motel, close to the pool, spa and playground. It was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Staff were lovely, they room was clean, somewhere were for our little boy to run around. We came back and stayed another night. It was exactly what we wanted didnt disappoint. Thanks guys keep up the good work

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Friendly staff. Rooms well priced with bed, kitchen (microwave, stove, fridge, etc) Nice laundry and very close to the cases and town. Well recommended (but the building is old the units have been done up. Heaps of car parking...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

A nice simple motel with a warm welcome. The unit we had was very clean and tidy and serviced daily. The owners were very helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We opted to have our breakfasts in the motel; we only wanted juice and toast but they were delivered at the promised time and proved very acceptable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels

Address: 59 Main North Rd (SH 3), Otorohanga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Otorohanga, closest town to the world famous Waitomo Caves. The wide range of activities on offer is guaranteed to satisfy all age groups and complement any family holiday. Stay with us for friendly service, comfortable, spacious and affordable accommodation in a picturesque rural setting. All our units are fully self-contained with ample free parking & WiFi plus a spa pool and outdoor swimming pool. We are located just 1km north of the Otorohanga township on SH3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.