We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel

Hotel website
Long Bay, Barbados
Special Offer
Barbados Kadooment!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    18
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
12
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
St. John's, Antigua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

I usually never stay at a hotel unless I do my research. After looking up Tropical Winds on TripAdvisor and Hotels.com I felt like it would be a nice hotel to overnight in. From start to finish it was horrible. We get there and the AC in our room isn't working, my mother has hot flashes so we knew we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
tropic07, General Manager at Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest 'Awful", Remember on the night of check-in, because of your request for two (2) rooms with twin beds, you were given rooms a few feet apart as we wanted to make sure that all amenities were in good working order. You, yes you (an older adult and young adult - were at check in while two other young... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

I can't rate this hotel more highly. This is the 2nd time I've stayed at here and I wouldn't stay any where else on the island. The hotel is clean, quiet, beautiful location and above all great service. It's very close to the airport and also to the beautiful Bottom Bay beach and Crane. I have been coming to Barbados... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

This was my first trip to the island, and I am a solo-traveling female. So much can be said on that note, but this is what the Tropical Winds does best: serve as a quiet base location, guaranteeing a good nights' sleep and service (food, taxi, conversation with Anderson, drinks in the evening) when and as you need it. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We stayed over on Saturday night . We had a reservation as we were leaving the next morning for st. Vincent. The motel is very clean but there was no one there to check us in. There was a large birthday party at the pool. The Resturant was supposed to be open. When we inquired we were told we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

St Philip is in my view is the most beautiful parish in Barbados,with beautiful beaches like "Bottom Bay"This hotel is clean,but when I went at Christmas the hotel was virtually empty,and because of this were little staff,and therefore although very friendly people,had to rely on Anderson who was running the hotel to get breakfast.i know Barbados very well,and use the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Parry Sound, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this apartment/ hotel. The staff, Anderson and Margaret were lovely people and very helpful. We were pleased to be off the beaten track and to enjoy the peace and quiet and beauty and cooling winds of the area. Loud night life and Karaoke is just not our thing! The hotel was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times over the last few years usually for one or two nights whilst in transit, when we haven't managed to get put up by local friends. Although we've stayed during the High Season it always seemed to us to have a low occupancy. But it is a good budget location for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Felt at home from the first minute of entering the hotel Helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to make my stay so enjoyable Pointed out local attractions and the other attractions that the Island fad to offer and the best or quickest way to get there Shared local cultural knowledge and explained what local foods were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
road town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here for just abt 1 and a half day because the airline messed up and they put me up at this beautiful place. The food was good but could have been better, the dessert though was amazing and the coffee is the best i have ever had. Room was good, just ur basics but needed more tv channels.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Georgetown, Guyana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our fight got delayed so the airline put us up at Tropical winds ...the hotel is in an isolated area the wifi is on and off the food was no good lunch was served at 2.00 o clock we wanted to travel to st Thomas to tour the harrison cave we were abt to take the bus at 2.00 to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tropic07, General Manager at Tropical Winds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

First off we would like to apologise fto this family who did not make it to Harrisons Cave. We at Tropical Winds always make it our business to ensure that guest are happy. Fact: The family in question did come to the hotel sent by an airline which was delayed. The group got here just before midday. Fact: We prepare... More 

Travelers are raving about these Saint Philip Parish hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
0.0 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Butterfly Beach Hotel
#19 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunbay Hotel
Sunbay Hotel
#34 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#4 of 8 in St Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#22 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay