We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castleton House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Castle Street, Mere BA12 6JE, England
Castleton House
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
52
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Last minute booking made 2 visit family & what a lovely find. Really warm welcome from Gail. Twin room we stayed in was prefect. With lovely big en-suite & loads of good quality toiletries. Well stocked tea-tray with real coffee, result. Fresh milk on the small fridge & bottled water. Lovely comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent. Loads of local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thanks for writing this great review. I really enjoyed meeting you and hope to you might stay with us again on your next visit to see your family. I've been feeling exhausted for most of the week after my 40 mile cycle ride on Tuesday! Hope you had a good drive home, best wishes and thanks again - Gail More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Our stay was very comfortable, Gail was a great host and lovely lady. The B&B was easy to find, the cars stayed on the road overnight and were perfectly safe. I stayed in the double room, the bed was comfortable, it was very cosy and clean. The shower was spotless. My friend stayed in the twin room and had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Avril, thank you very much for writing such a complimentary review. I really enjoyed meeting you and obviously hope to see you again and that your move goes well. With best wishes and thanks again, Gail More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We received a warm welcome when we stayed as a family at Castleton House for one night last weekend. Castleton House is located just off the A303 in the centre of the village of Mere and is particularly well situated for pubs and restaurants. My husband felt safe parking his (“pride & joy”) car on the road right outside the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review, lots of content and I so appreciate all the effort you put into writing it. Over the past week we've had the shower panels replaced in the en-suite shower room from the double room and it looks much better - painting will commence shortly to finish the room off. I hope that... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My thanks to Gail for her warm hospitality, great B&B, good value, clean lovely room, excellent Tea making facilities, Superb breakfast, nothing too much trouble. Good central location. Enhanced our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

David, thanks for taking the time to write this great review. I really enjoyed meeting you both just after Christmas and hope that you might come and stay again when you're visiting your family. With all best wishes for 2015 - Gail More 

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Don't be fooled by the exterior, once inside your told were and when to go by the proprietor, which I found very off putting, the tea and coffee facilities were very poor, 1 tea bag each, and an open bottle of milk in the noisy fridge. Breakfast was fine, told us it was from locally sourced bakers etc, I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Dear Stewart and Linda, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us some six weeks ago. I'm sorry you felt rushed when you arrived; however I'm glad you liked my recommendation for somewhere to eat the night you stayed, as shown on your contributions notices. I apologies for their only being a teabag... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We spent last weekend at Gail's B&B and did not know what to expect... the house was perfect; clean, warm and the room was spacious(we had our 2yr old sleeping in a travel cot) and we felt really at ease and comfortable. Gail has been really nice and helpful from the start! she kindly provided us the travel cot and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this great review and I so enjoyed having you to stay - you're daughter is too cute! I'm finally getting to the end of Cutting for Stone, what a great and informative read. With best wishes to you both, Gail More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Extremely comfortable, excellent breakfast, charming and helpful owner. Excellent location within easy reach or Stourhead. Opposite good pub/hotel (The George). On road with easy parking. Windows well sound-proofed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and very nice to hear from you after your visit last month. Hope all goes well in London for you both and that perhaps we'll see you down here another time. More 

London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Our last B&B having closed due to retirement we needed to find another top quality bed and breakfast in the area. We had been through Mere a few times and noticed Castleton House B&B a few times and, having looked it up on-line, decided to book it for our next visit to the area. Castleton is a delightful stone building... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a long and flattering review. Really pleased you both so enjoyed your stay and hope to see you down here again soon. Stourhead's autumn colours will soon be featuring in the national press so hopefully that might tempt you down before too long. With very best wishes to you... More 

Redruth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a 2 night stay in this beautiful house at the beginning of June and were made to feel very welcome by Gail who was an excellent host. We were in the twin bedded room which had a very large bathroom, comfortable beds and even a fridge containing fresh milk! The quality of the breakfasts was 'second to none'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Wow John and Sheila, what a lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time to write it. Lovely having you to stay, as you can imagine lots of our current guests are coming down your way right now. Hope you have a good summer and that we'll see you again soon. Very best wishes, Gail More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We recently had a lovely 2 night break in Mere staying at Castleton House. The room was spacious with everything you'd expect to find. The house is very beautiful and the room for breakfast is something special! Peter and Gail were lovely hosts, giving us lots of advice on Stourhead and the local area, as well as their suggestions for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this lovely review for us. Sorry it's taken me so long to respond, for some reason I've only just picked it up. Very much hope you'll be passing this way again and come and stay, with best wishes, Gail More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question