We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Mere B&Bs / inns

Castleton House

Save
You added Castleton House to your Saves list
Castle Street, Mere BA12 6JE, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Castleton House
Ranked #2 of 5 Mere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mere
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
52
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We received a warm welcome when we stayed as a family at Castleton House for one night last weekend. Castleton House is located just off the A303 in the centre of the village of Mere and is particularly well situated for pubs and restaurants. My husband felt safe parking his (“pride & joy”) car on the road right outside the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review, lots of content and I so appreciate all the effort you put into writing it. Over the past week we've had the shower panels replaced in the en-suite shower room from the double room and it looks much better - painting will commence shortly to finish the room off. I hope that... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My thanks to Gail for her warm hospitality, great B&B, good value, clean lovely room, excellent Tea making facilities, Superb breakfast, nothing too much trouble. Good central location. Enhanced our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

David, thanks for taking the time to write this great review. I really enjoyed meeting you both just after Christmas and hope that you might come and stay again when you're visiting your family. With all best wishes for 2015 - Gail More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Don't be fooled by the exterior, once inside your told were and when to go by the proprietor, which I found very off putting, the tea and coffee facilities were very poor, 1 tea bag each, and an open bottle of milk in the noisy fridge. Breakfast was fine, told us it was from locally sourced bakers etc, I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Dear Stewart and Linda, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us some six weeks ago. I'm sorry you felt rushed when you arrived; however I'm glad you liked my recommendation for somewhere to eat the night you stayed, as shown on your contributions notices. I apologies for their only being a teabag... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We spent last weekend at Gail's B&B and did not know what to expect... the house was perfect; clean, warm and the room was spacious(we had our 2yr old sleeping in a travel cot) and we felt really at ease and comfortable. Gail has been really nice and helpful from the start! she kindly provided us the travel cot and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this great review and I so enjoyed having you to stay - you're daughter is too cute! I'm finally getting to the end of Cutting for Stone, what a great and informative read. With best wishes to you both, Gail More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Extremely comfortable, excellent breakfast, charming and helpful owner. Excellent location within easy reach or Stourhead. Opposite good pub/hotel (The George). On road with easy parking. Windows well sound-proofed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and very nice to hear from you after your visit last month. Hope all goes well in London for you both and that perhaps we'll see you down here another time. More 

London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Our last B&B having closed due to retirement we needed to find another top quality bed and breakfast in the area. We had been through Mere a few times and noticed Castleton House B&B a few times and, having looked it up on-line, decided to book it for our next visit to the area. Castleton is a delightful stone building... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a long and flattering review. Really pleased you both so enjoyed your stay and hope to see you down here again soon. Stourhead's autumn colours will soon be featuring in the national press so hopefully that might tempt you down before too long. With very best wishes to you... More 

Redruth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a 2 night stay in this beautiful house at the beginning of June and were made to feel very welcome by Gail who was an excellent host. We were in the twin bedded room which had a very large bathroom, comfortable beds and even a fridge containing fresh milk! The quality of the breakfasts was 'second to none'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Wow John and Sheila, what a lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time to write it. Lovely having you to stay, as you can imagine lots of our current guests are coming down your way right now. Hope you have a good summer and that we'll see you again soon. Very best wishes, Gail More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We recently had a lovely 2 night break in Mere staying at Castleton House. The room was spacious with everything you'd expect to find. The house is very beautiful and the room for breakfast is something special! Peter and Gail were lovely hosts, giving us lots of advice on Stourhead and the local area, as well as their suggestions for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this lovely review for us. Sorry it's taken me so long to respond, for some reason I've only just picked it up. Very much hope you'll be passing this way again and come and stay, with best wishes, Gail More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The bed was so comfortable, having a memory foam matterous and a light and airy duvet, it was like heaven. the room was well decorated and equipped with a fridge and even down to water bottles, not that they were needed. The Guest house is well situated just a minutes walk to the shops and public houses that do food.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Hi Andy, Thanks for writing us a review and it was great to meet you last week. Just to let you know the noisy shower issue is currently being sorted out and next time you come please just ask for beans with your breakfast. Oh yes toast is always available again please ask as I always just put out either... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Castleton House is immaculate with beautiful furnishings in the centre of Mere. We stayed for two nights last week-end and had the most delicious cooked breakfast on both mornings, home made jams, marmalade, kippers served up as well as the full English Breakfast. Gail was most enthusiastic to ensure we made the best of our time in the area. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you Anita for writing this review for me. I so enjoyed meeting you both and was really touched to receive a letter saying how much you'd enjoyed your stay here. Hope the jams and marmalade are going down well. Very much hope to see you both again when you're down this way. Best wishes, Gail More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Castleton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleton House

Address: Castle Street, Mere BA12 6JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Mere
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Castleton House Mere, England

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay