We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castleton House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Castle Street, Mere BA12 6JE, England
Castleton House
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
53
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly welcome by the owner. Comfortable room with lots of little thoughtful extras in the bathroom. B & B in centre of the town, but not at all noisy. Tasty breakfast. Would certain stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

It was so nice to meet you when you stayed with us and thank you for writing a nice review for me. It would be lovely to see you again if you're passing. We're all enjoying this week of great weather and getting busy in the garden! Thanks again, Gail More 

Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our daughter recently moved to live in this lovely small town and we stayed at Castleton House to see her and the, new-to-us, delights of this beautiful area of Wiltshire. We booked the twin room which was most comfortable, especially the beds and pillows, and appreciated the fresh milk in the little 'fridge - something which many larger establishments could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for writing this review. It was so nice to meet you both in February, particularly having had your daughter to stay at the end of last year. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that we'll see you again for your next visit. with best wishes, Gail More 

Newbury
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for a night with my Mum and my 1 year old after a cold afternoon visiting Stourhead. Firstly, the location could not be more convenient; just 5 minutes away, and we were able to park directly outside the front door. We received a very warm welcome from Gail and I especially appreciated the welcome for baby who had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

What a great review and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay - it's so nice to have families and your daughter was a complete delight. I managed to pop into Stourhead yesterday and it's looking good and over the next fortnight when all the rhododendrons come out it will look amazing. Hope perhaps to see you again sometime. With... More 

Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last minute booking made 2 visit family & what a lovely find. Really warm welcome from Gail. Twin room we stayed in was prefect. With lovely big en-suite & loads of good quality toiletries. Well stocked tea-tray with real coffee, result. Fresh milk on the small fridge & bottled water. Lovely comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent. Loads of local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thanks for writing this great review. I really enjoyed meeting you and hope to you might stay with us again on your next visit to see your family. I've been feeling exhausted for most of the week after my 40 mile cycle ride on Tuesday! Hope you had a good drive home, best wishes and thanks again - Gail More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Our stay was very comfortable, Gail was a great host and lovely lady. The B&B was easy to find, the cars stayed on the road overnight and were perfectly safe. I stayed in the double room, the bed was comfortable, it was very cosy and clean. The shower was spotless. My friend stayed in the twin room and had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Avril, thank you very much for writing such a complimentary review. I really enjoyed meeting you and obviously hope to see you again and that your move goes well. With best wishes and thanks again, Gail More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We received a warm welcome when we stayed as a family at Castleton House for one night last weekend. Castleton House is located just off the A303 in the centre of the village of Mere and is particularly well situated for pubs and restaurants. My husband felt safe parking his (“pride & joy”) car on the road right outside the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review, lots of content and I so appreciate all the effort you put into writing it. Over the past week we've had the shower panels replaced in the en-suite shower room from the double room and it looks much better - painting will commence shortly to finish the room off. I hope that... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My thanks to Gail for her warm hospitality, great B&B, good value, clean lovely room, excellent Tea making facilities, Superb breakfast, nothing too much trouble. Good central location. Enhanced our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

David, thanks for taking the time to write this great review. I really enjoyed meeting you both just after Christmas and hope that you might come and stay again when you're visiting your family. With all best wishes for 2015 - Gail More 

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Don't be fooled by the exterior, once inside your told were and when to go by the proprietor, which I found very off putting, the tea and coffee facilities were very poor, 1 tea bag each, and an open bottle of milk in the noisy fridge. Breakfast was fine, told us it was from locally sourced bakers etc, I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Dear Stewart and Linda, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us some six weeks ago. I'm sorry you felt rushed when you arrived; however I'm glad you liked my recommendation for somewhere to eat the night you stayed, as shown on your contributions notices. I apologies for their only being a teabag... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We spent last weekend at Gail's B&B and did not know what to expect... the house was perfect; clean, warm and the room was spacious(we had our 2yr old sleeping in a travel cot) and we felt really at ease and comfortable. Gail has been really nice and helpful from the start! she kindly provided us the travel cot and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this great review and I so enjoyed having you to stay - you're daughter is too cute! I'm finally getting to the end of Cutting for Stone, what a great and informative read. With best wishes to you both, Gail More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Extremely comfortable, excellent breakfast, charming and helpful owner. Excellent location within easy reach or Stourhead. Opposite good pub/hotel (The George). On road with easy parking. Windows well sound-proofed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and very nice to hear from you after your visit last month. Hope all goes well in London for you both and that perhaps we'll see you down here another time. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question