We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Stourbridge B&Bs / inns

Talbot Hotel

High Street, Stourbridge DY8 1DW, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Talbot Hotel to your Saves list
Talbot Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
44%
Ranked #4 of 5 Stourbridge B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
ukadventuregurl Plymouth, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (151)
  • Photos (78)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (41)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    36
    24
    29
    36
See reviews for
19
52
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was good value for money and had huge bathroom. The room was warm so slept with the window open, which unfortunately meant lots of loud noise from the street below late into the night (stayed on a Friday night). Breakfast was good and service was super quick. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last week with my husband who is working in the local area. Dont expect modern 5 star luxury. The hotel is very old and quirky. This for me was an added attraction. Our room was on the High Street side No 28. Veŕy warm but we left the window open and slept on top of the covers. Very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Albany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Talbot is in the middle of Stourbridge. It has been a hotel since the 17th century and has character. The room we had was large and well appointed with a good bathroom but if you don't like wonky floors and walls this is not the place for you - still not bad for over 300 odd years. The breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked the Talbot for a reunion of old colleagues from all over the UK. I was detemined to bring people to my home town instead of a local clinical national chain hotel, but I was a bit dubious before the event: the foreign staff all seemed a bit vague and I was concerned that there would be hiccoughs. How... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a lovely little coaching inn built in 14th century. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were part of a group booking and the spread that was laid on as a buffet was great. Would have fed another 10 people at least. The only thing I would say is that the plumbing was a little noisy through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I went in for coffee an lunch here.. It was absolutely beautiful inside and out..They have some beautiful flowers in hanging baskets.. The staff were lovely very helpful indeed,very pleasant. The food was fabulous aswell..would certainly recommend am will be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed one night on a 'girly break' and found the Hotel easily..take the turning for the Aldi car park off the one way system..then straight ahead into the back of the Hotel's car park in Talbot St.. Check-in was easy and reception had a lot of local info.We had a family room.. No.9..2 single beds and double in a large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Litcham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

just arrived for a weeks stay, whilst working away from home. greeted with a warm welcome. checked in to my room, very clean and warm. could not work the tv, so went to reception and spoke to Shaun , he came up right the way and sorted it out.. i have just finished my meal in the bar, great value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed for one night at the end of May.....most reviews were good so took a chance. Won't be doing that again. It was our first night away after having a baby three months ago, so was looking forward to a good nights sleep....but it never came. The room had no window that would open properly and it was so warm,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
jcs1945, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review

As a business we take customers comments very seriously. With regards to your remarks we have responded twice to you and addressed your concerns. However having investigated your remarks they were found to be incorrect and without just cause, there was nothing wrong with the room, if during your stay you had mentioned your concerns a member of staff (... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed one night on business,great location in the town centre with free parking at the back of the hotel.my room was on the second floor and was well equipped ,the bathroom was very clean. parts of the hotel are 14th century,so don't expect a premier inn.The hotel has plenty of character and the evening carvery was very good,The breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Talbot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: High Street, Stourbridge DY8 1DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Stourbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Number of rooms
31

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Talbot Hotel and other travelers.
2 questions
Questions? Get answers from Talbot Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer