We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Whitney-on-Wye B&Bs / inns

New Inn at Brilley

Brilley, Whitney-on-Wye HR3 6HE, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added New Inn at Brilley to your Saves list
New Inn at Brilley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
97%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Synicist London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (102)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Grumpy landlady on arrival, gave us different information from what was on acceptance email; dusty, ran down accommodation, old, shabby. If you are (even slightly) bothered about health & safety, avoid! If you are (even slightly) bothered about ancient and rusty cooking appliances, lack of even minimal mod cons, disgusting and very dusty old blankets and settees, lack of and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daphne T, Owner at New Inn at Brilley, responded to this review

There is no place on this earth that is absolute for every body (if it was the case we would be crammed in one single space!) You obviously chose the wrong place for yourselves, you are right this place is not for you, and just because it is not to your taste you do not need to say nasty things,... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just returned from 3 days stay at the New Inn - we were staying in the Rising Sun cabin. This was our 10 year anniversary present to ourselves and we could not have wished for anything more romantic and more removed from the stresses of everyday life. Daphne our host has poured her heart and soul into this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daphne T, Owner at New Inn at Brilley, responded to this review

To know that you really did enjoy your time here makes it all for me, your sensitivity and appreciation is touching... Thank you for your presence and thank you for making most of it, hope to see you both again, Daphne More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights Daphne is lovely. A weekend to remember staying in creative spaces surrounded by beauty. Hay on wye is just a short drive away great place to explore Interiors shops, second hand book shops etc.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Charming and friendly, an oasis of delight ... Just a few miles from Hay. Pub next to the river at the bottom of the hill. Toll bridge is fab and a taxi back from Hay is only about a tenner. Between the tapas bar, Tomatitos in Hay and the New Inn, who needs London to feel at the centre of... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in the Gypsy wagon. The wagon is set in a field to one side that it very private and has stunning views. There is a fresh spring at the bottom of the field full of tadpoles and watercress. In the porch of the wagon was a wrens nest, the fledglings must have flown shortly before... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed 1 night but would have stayed on if we could. Most unusual, quite charming and the eggs for breakfast were excellent. Very nice views from the house. If you are staying in the outdoor accommodation I suspect you made need wellies to get over the wet grass.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed in the Fresh Spring Yurt and it would perfect. The yurt had everything we needed and also had an outdoor toilet, shower and kitchen nearby. This is a great place for a peaceful escape. We stayed in July and lit the log burner and it quickly became toasty - I'm pretty sure you'd be warm enough in here... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a magical place! We stayed in the pink room for one night at the end of a camping trip and found it warm, welcoming, blissfully comfortable (what a huge marvellous bed) and to pot totally unique. Half tranquil hideaway, half treasure trove, we couldn't have picked a better place to end our holiday! Meeting Daphne and hearing about her... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed in The Rising Sun cabin in late June. it was a perfect secluded hideaway for my girlfriend and I. There's a yurt and an old caravan on the same site but the rising sun is set on its own at the back of the property with plenty of room away from the others, secluded with only the back... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

What a wonderfully warm and welcoming host Daphne is... Just returned from a relaxing mini break at the New Inn this weekend. Daphne could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our bedroom - the yellow room - felt like a haven and the atmosphere was one of tranquility and peace. Daphne's breakfast (we enjoyed two of them) were out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daphne T, Owner at New Inn at Brilley, responded to this review

It has been delightful having you both here.. Happy you are coming back, lovely to share this place with you Meanwhile enjoy a wonderful summer and see you soon Daphne More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage New Inn at Brilley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to New Inn at Brilley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn at Brilley

Address: Brilley, Whitney-on-Wye HR3 6HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Whitney-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Inn at Brilley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn At Brilley Whitney-On-Wye, England

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
“New Inn Brilley” Karma Dechen Choling is situated in a tiny village called Brilley on the hillside slopes of the Welsh borders. With stunning views on to the Black Mountains and the Brecon Beacons. A former rural Inn, the main house is adjoined by a self contained Suite sleeping 4. There also is a brand new Yurt sleeping 4-6. and a meditation hall.After your long day come to our Tea Room and relax by the old range…….You may not feel like going out to a restaurant, feel at home and try our favourite pasta, risotto or curry or just a hearty soup with vegetables from our garden. We also like to mention our generous happy hens with their contribution at breakfast! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from New Inn at Brilley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer