We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Whitney-on-Wye B&Bs / inns

New Inn at Brilley

Brilley, Whitney-on-Wye HR3 6HE, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added New Inn at Brilley to your Saves list
New Inn at Brilley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
95%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
JacqLondon London, UK
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Wagon over the Valley, in the grounds of the New Inn, is very pretty and interestingly furnished. It's very comfortable and cosy with feather duvets and a wood-burning stove (one generously sized box of wood is provided free; we hardly made a dent in it!). The interior has bench seats to sit on as well as the bed, storage... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived not knowing what to expect . We were more than pleasantly surprised. If you are looking for glamping with all the mod cons look away now. Our host Daphne showed us round and explained everything to us, then let us get on with it. We stayed in the yurt. Wood burning stove for heating,,, no mains electricity (solar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daphne T, Owner at New Inn at Brilley, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind and sensitive response, I actually feel fortunate that I am given the opportunity to please and make a difference... if I am able to give something more than what you expect, some relaxing time and peace ... as it touches your heart it touches mine as well... Waiting to see you all in... More

Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Daphne is absolutely marvelous and accommodating. The location is perfect and we loved the rustic quality of the little flat we stayed in. We had dinner at a great pub down the road the first night and then ditto in Hay-on-Wye the second night. We would return in a heartbeat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daphne T, Owner at New Inn at Brilley, responded to this review

Thank you !! so happy you've enjoyed it!! seems like you both know how to enjoy whatever comes your way, hope to see you next season Love Daphne More

Santiago, Chile
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Grumpy landlady on arrival, gave us different information from what was on acceptance email; dusty, ran down accommodation, old, shabby. If you are (even slightly) bothered about health & safety, avoid! If you are (even slightly) bothered about ancient and rusty cooking appliances, lack of even minimal mod cons, disgusting and very dusty old blankets and settees, lack of and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daphne T, Owner at New Inn at Brilley, responded to this review

There is no place on this earth that is absolute for every body (if it was the case we would be crammed in one single space!) You obviously chose the wrong place for yourselves, you are right this place is not for you, and just because it is not to your taste you do not need to say nasty things,... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from 3 days stay at the New Inn - we were staying in the Rising Sun cabin. This was our 10 year anniversary present to ourselves and we could not have wished for anything more romantic and more removed from the stresses of everyday life. Daphne our host has poured her heart and soul into this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daphne T, Owner at New Inn at Brilley, responded to this review

To know that you really did enjoy your time here makes it all for me, your sensitivity and appreciation is touching... Thank you for your presence and thank you for making most of it, hope to see you both again, Daphne More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights Daphne is lovely. A weekend to remember staying in creative spaces surrounded by beauty. Hay on wye is just a short drive away great place to explore Interiors shops, second hand book shops etc.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Charming and friendly, an oasis of delight ... Just a few miles from Hay. Pub next to the river at the bottom of the hill. Toll bridge is fab and a taxi back from Hay is only about a tenner. Between the tapas bar, Tomatitos in Hay and the New Inn, who needs London to feel at the centre of... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Gypsy wagon. The wagon is set in a field to one side that it very private and has stunning views. There is a fresh spring at the bottom of the field full of tadpoles and watercress. In the porch of the wagon was a wrens nest, the fledglings must have flown shortly before... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We only stayed 1 night but would have stayed on if we could. Most unusual, quite charming and the eggs for breakfast were excellent. Very nice views from the house. If you are staying in the outdoor accommodation I suspect you made need wellies to get over the wet grass.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed in the Fresh Spring Yurt and it would perfect. The yurt had everything we needed and also had an outdoor toilet, shower and kitchen nearby. This is a great place for a peaceful escape. We stayed in July and lit the log burner and it quickly became toasty - I'm pretty sure you'd be warm enough in here... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage New Inn at Brilley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to New Inn at Brilley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn at Brilley

Address: Brilley, Whitney-on-Wye HR3 6HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Whitney-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Inn at Brilley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn At Brilley Whitney-On-Wye, England

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Whitney-on-Wye with
any amenities