We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parador de Hondarribia

4.0 of 5 Plaza Armas de Castillo 14 | Guipúzcoa, 20005 Hondarribia, Spain
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Hondarribia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Parador de Hondarribia
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    95
    41
    15
    4
See reviews for
32
174
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (247)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
There are newer reviews for Parador de Hondarribia
See the most recent reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

wonderful (expensive) hotel; superb setting and building in a lovely town. Excellent staff and great breakfast. Best of all - the view from the bedroom and the balcony over the estuary to the northeast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador, we get to the team your comments and hope to see you again soon in our Parador More

Uyo, Nigeria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

by car, rather difficult to trace, as our GPS got lost on the access road (for cars) to the parador, to park in private outdoor parking space. beautiful building, as lots of Paradores, warm and fast welcome, excellent room with nice view on the bay.insignificant bar in the lobby. reception recommended us same excellent restaurant as did our red Michelin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador, we get to the team your comments and hope to see you again soon in our Parador. More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is our third time here and its great to come back to,after touring spain for x4 weeks this is our last stop before going back to the uk. The old castle is full of things to see with every thing you need no restauraunt on site but in the town there are plenty to chose from.The Wi-Fi is free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador, I'll get the whole team Parador your comments and hope to see you again very soon in the Parador of Hondarribia. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here a year ago (I'm a bit delayed in writing my trip advisor reviews!). This was the first parador that we stayed in, and it was a great experience. The parador was in the old town, and about 5 minutes walk into the shops and restaurants in the new town. The rooms very pretty basic with no air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador. We get the whole team your comments and hope to see you again soon in our Parador. Best regards. More

Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The building is very beautiful, you can get a great view of the bay. All clean and correct. The weakest point is that there is no air conditioning and WiFi is only available in the common areas. The staff was really nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador. We get the whole team your comments and hope to see you again soon in our Parador. Best regards. More

UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We often stay in Paradors when touring Spain and usually find them to be of a very good standard and sometimes excellent. We were disappointed by the Parador at Hondarribia as it missed some basic things we've come to expect - there was no restaurant. Although there are places to eat in this Basque town, we'd travelled all the way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador. We get the whole team your comments and hope to see you again soon in our Parador. Best regards. More

London, England
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
94 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We always try to stay in government run paradors when we are in pain because they usually guarantee a historical location and good value for money without cutting back on quality. In this regard Hondaribbia was a tad disappointing. The views were there all right - our room looked across the river that divides Spain from France and was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador. We will reach the entire team Parador your comments and hope to see you soon in our Parador de Hondarribia. Kindest regards More

ft worth
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
45 hotel reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Million dollar views from this castle on the ocean, and not 5 stars? Why? Service. Very heavy on history and very light on service. Nevertheless, worth spending a night because the property is simply magnificent. The Spanish government spent 40 years restoring this castle. Expect a similar wait for room service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
jesus d, Manager at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you very much for sharing your experience of your stay at our Parador. We will move your comments to the team and look forward to seeing you in our Parador of Hondarribia. More

GARZA GARCIA , NUEVO LEON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Is a travel in time, love the castle and all the accommodations. You need to choose if you travel in Spain all the "paradores" that you can. The experience of staying in a hotel that in the past was a castle, you dont have it in another place... Hondarribia is one of my favorite places in the world. I come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience staying at our hotel, we'll get the whole team your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon at the Parador de Hondarribia Best Regards More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The most expensive parador we stayed in during our visit to Spain and Portual which included 14 Paradores and Pousadas. The room was fine, but the facilities are very poor due to the conversion of the castle ruins not leaving a lot of space for a bar and lounge. WiFi was poor again probably due to the 2m thick stone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia de su estancia en nuestro Parador. Haremos llegar a todo el equipo... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Parador de Hondarribia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Hondarribia

Address: Plaza Armas de Castillo 14 | Guipúzcoa, 20005 Hondarribia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Hondarribia 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parador de Hondarribia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hondarribia Hotel Hondarribia
Parador De Hotel Hondarribia
Hondarribia Parador De Hotel

202 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay