We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Hondarribia hotels

Parador de Hondarribia

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Armas de Castillo 14 | Guipúzcoa, 20005 Hondarribia, Spain
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Parador de Hondarribia to your Saves list
Parador de Hondarribia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Hondarribia
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Relax_tourist Brussels, Belgium
  • Overview
  • Reviews (221)
  • Photos (177)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (41)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    84
    38
    14
    3
See reviews for
31
155
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Parador is in a beautiful historical building, nice and very clean rooms. Superb breakfast and friendly staff. No WIFI in most rooms but in the lobby. Excellent place to stay, plenty of restaurants nearby. English spoken.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience staying at our Parador. We get the whole team your comments and hope to see you soon in our hotel. Best Regards More

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is not really a hotel but more like a posh B&B. No air con. Small rooms. No facilities or restaurant. Breakfast was OK but stone cold coffee on our first day and when I asked for another pot is was also cold. Not as good a choice of breakfast as I have had in other Paradores. Not allowed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador, we get to the team your comments and hope to see you again soon in our Parador More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

wonderful (expensive) hotel; superb setting and building in a lovely town. Excellent staff and great breakfast. Best of all - the view from the bedroom and the balcony over the estuary to the northeast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador, we get to the team your comments and hope to see you again soon in our Parador More

Uyo, Nigeria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

by car, rather difficult to trace, as our GPS got lost on the access road (for cars) to the parador, to park in private outdoor parking space. beautiful building, as lots of Paradores, warm and fast welcome, excellent room with nice view on the bay.insignificant bar in the lobby. reception recommended us same excellent restaurant as did our red Michelin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador, we get to the team your comments and hope to see you again soon in our Parador. More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our third time here and its great to come back to,after touring spain for x4 weeks this is our last stop before going back to the uk. The old castle is full of things to see with every thing you need no restauraunt on site but in the town there are plenty to chose from.The Wi-Fi is free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador, I'll get the whole team Parador your comments and hope to see you again very soon in the Parador of Hondarribia. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here a year ago (I'm a bit delayed in writing my trip advisor reviews!). This was the first parador that we stayed in, and it was a great experience. The parador was in the old town, and about 5 minutes walk into the shops and restaurants in the new town. The rooms very pretty basic with no air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador. We get the whole team your comments and hope to see you again soon in our Parador. Best regards. More

Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The building is very beautiful, you can get a great view of the bay. All clean and correct. The weakest point is that there is no air conditioning and WiFi is only available in the common areas. The staff was really nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador. We get the whole team your comments and hope to see you again soon in our Parador. Best regards. More

UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We often stay in Paradors when touring Spain and usually find them to be of a very good standard and sometimes excellent. We were disappointed by the Parador at Hondarribia as it missed some basic things we've come to expect - there was no restaurant. Although there are places to eat in this Basque town, we'd travelled all the way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador. We get the whole team your comments and hope to see you again soon in our Parador. Best regards. More

London, England
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
79 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We always try to stay in government run paradors when we are in pain because they usually guarantee a historical location and good value for money without cutting back on quality. In this regard Hondaribbia was a tad disappointing. The views were there all right - our room looked across the river that divides Spain from France and was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jesus d, Gerente at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you very much for sharing your experience staying at our Parador. We will reach the entire team Parador your comments and hope to see you soon in our Parador de Hondarribia. Kindest regards More

ft worth
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Million dollar views from this castle on the ocean, and not 5 stars? Why? Service. Very heavy on history and very light on service. Nevertheless, worth spending a night because the property is simply magnificent. The Spanish government spent 40 years restoring this castle. Expect a similar wait for room service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jesus d, Manager at Parador de Hondarribia, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you very much for sharing your experience of your stay at our Parador. We will move your comments to the team and look forward to seeing you in our Parador of Hondarribia. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Parador de Hondarribia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Parador de Hondarribia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Hondarribia

Address: Plaza Armas de Castillo 14 | Guipúzcoa, 20005 Hondarribia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Hondarribia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Parador de Hondarribia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hondarribia Hotel Hondarribia
Parador De Hotel Hondarribia
Hondarribia Parador De Hotel

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer