We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lindstroem Hotel

Village Centre, 6887, Norway
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lindstroem Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lindstroem Hotel
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The rooms are small, furniture old and worn out. Even tv is old style tube tv. The installation betwéen rooms is vrry poor. You can hear the cough at the next room. The staff is terrible. Someone has to teach them how to smile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Knutlindstroem, Owner at Lindstroem Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that we have been such a disappoinment to you. Yours sincerely Knut Lindstroem More 

Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We came on this hotel by chance on our tour of Norway in the pretty little village of Laerdal. The hotel is large and charming and comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful.The breakfast was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Knutlindstroem, Owner at Lindstroem Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. Sincerely yours Knut Lindstroem More 

Oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a room on the 3rd floor in the 'new' (70s addition i'd guess) facing the old houses. The room has new but cheap furnishings, bathroom with standard from construction date. The general feel is clean but really worn down, and no love for details like fluffy pillows, soft towels, soft toiletpaper or even have a fresh roll in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Knutlindstroem, Owner at Lindstroem Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Regards Knut Lindstroem More 

Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed there for one night on our tour of Norway. The village of laerdalsoyri is small but very pretty. It feels like we could be staying in a museum. The family running the hotel is very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious and really well decorated, simple but lovely. Comfy beds, quiet area, would definitely stay there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Knutlindstroem, Owner at Lindstroem Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. Best regards Knut Lindstroem More 

Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were offered to have a look at a room in the «svetiservillan» and the hotel itself, but I opted for the «sveitservilla» after just having seen the beautiful old house. Both the room and bathroom were spacious and with a nice view of the gardens. The TV was rather small for the big room and watching it from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Knutlindstroem, Owner at Lindstroem Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. Yours Sincerely, Knut Lindstroem More 

singapore
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Thanks to the reviewer who commented about the curtains so I prepared my sleep mask and solved the problem. We stayed in the new wing where the reception and dining room are located. It would have been nice to stay at one of the 3 heritage wings. Anyway, the hotel grounds are nice and we took our drinks to enjoy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Knutlindstroem, Owner at Lindstroem Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Yes, I have realized that it was a mistake when we changed to these thin curtains a couple a years ago. We are now changing to dark curtains again, but still about 20 out of 86 rooms are with thin curtains. By the end of October all rooms will have dark curtains again.... More 

Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the old house, which has been renovated in a modern fashion. The room was very large and nicely appointed with minimalist decor. The food was good (breakfast) - we opted not to have dinner there due to the large proportion of fish and meat. The hotel owner, Knut Lindstrom, is the fifth-generation hotelier, and was very welcoming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Knutlindstroem, Owner at Lindstroem Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. Yours sincerely Knut Lindstroem owner More 

San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

One reviewer wrote "This was the worst hotel on our tour," and gave the hotel only one star. Another wrote "Ugly hotel with ridiculous prices for small rooms," and gave the hotel two stars. We can't agree with either reviewer. The hotel was adequate for our needs. We stayed there one night while we were traveling from Geiranger to Bergen.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Knutlindstroem, Owner at Lindstroem Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your report and comments. Yours sincerely Knut Lindstroem More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was the worst hotel on our tour. Thank goodness we only stayed there 1 night. Check in as usual was handled by the tour director. So it was quick and easy. Lobby is small, so when you have a large tour group it can be a bit crowded. Once we had our keys, we went up to our room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Knutlindstroem, Owner at Lindstroem Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that we were such a disappointment to you. Yes, we have got several feed backs on our curtains that they are to thin. and we will seriously consider changing those thin curtains. Your comment about tv, that it should be possible to turn will we rember for next time we mount tv. Yours... More 

Germany
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotel had no warm welcome, served an overpriced dinner with even more overpriced drinks. I am perfectly aware, that Norway is quite expensive.... We have not been asked if everything was satisfactory, no wonder, the owner seems to know, that nothing is satisfactory. The rooms are too small, with very soft beds. The pillows are small and to soft.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Knutlindstroem, Owner at Lindstroem Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am truly sorry to hear how much of a disappointment we were to you.. We will do our best to improve ourselves on the issues you are complaing about, lack of warm welcome, not clean windows and bathrooms. All of our guests, no mather if they travel with a group or alone should receive a warm welcome... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question