We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel

#33 of 98 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Beach Road, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel
Management photosView all
Browse nearby
smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    108
    86
    43
    12
    19
See reviews for
74
70
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived to the hotel and was greeted warmly even though it had just gone 2am. He showed us to a table and offered us something to eat and drink as well as the wifi code. Following our short meal we were showed to our rooms which exactly as you'd expect; clean and set up for our needs. Although basic,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently spent one week in the Kyknos Smartline Hotel and had a mixed experience. Principally our disappointment was based on the expectations one has when booking a 4 Star hotel - the hotel would probably score better to downgrade to 3 Stars. While the reception area and the overall hotel set-up are extremely nice (apartment-style, small, well-kept, green), the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed her for 1 week in August 2015, Stayed in the Bungalow Rooms which were very spacious with 3 single beds, air conditioning included. Bathroom included bath and shower which were very good and spacious. Towels changed as often as you required. Breakfast was continental, we had Bacon once during our stay. The Food at Lunchtimes and Evening was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VasilisTsamandouras, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SSB464! Thank you very much for your very polite and honest review about our hotel! You are actually right about the pool toilettes. And there is a sign there, but it is no more visible due to the rich plantation. So, there you gave our maintenance staff a new task!!! We too would love to see you here in... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was more like a three star than a four. The staff in general were helpful and friendly however the guy (no name badge) who runs the pool bar in the evening is rude, The pool itself lacks shade and more parasols would be useful along with towels being available. The food in the restaurant was good but the cat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Arrived at 00.00 was greeted well and shown to our room. We then were offered a cold plate of food which was amazing. Greek cuisine. We then went to the bar and were greeted in an spectacular manner by Olga and Manuel who offered us amazing drinks and were really friendly and talkative. The photos of the rooms do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VasilisTsamandouras, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Hello you 2!!! Thank you very much for the great review! It was for us too a pleasure having you here and we are looking forward to seeing you again real soon! Best regards your smartline Kyknos Beach team More 

Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Stayed here for a week with around 20 friends. To start with a positive, the maid was an absolute star and cleaned our room spotless every single day. However, the food was absolutely vile on most days and did not even include name tags so you had no idea what you was eating! The man who shows people where to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Stayed here for a week with a group of friends, absolutely awful!! The staff are the most unhelpful, rude and downright miserable group of people to be around, the nicest member of staff i came across was our maid. The hotel seemed nice and clean until we walked into our room on our first night and found not one but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VasilisTsamandouras, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lois! Thank you very much for your review about our hotel! And we are more than happy that you are not coming bak ever again, because we don't want to have customers like you!!! Because of you personally, but also because of your friends we only had problems and complains from almost everybody else in the hotel. The reason... More 

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

hotel is good,food,plenty of choice .Staff were the friendliest ever and during the day atmosphere around hotel was good.Our only complaint was that our room had a balcony you could not use due to size and air conditioning unit.Our balcony faced the wall of next door hotel. the problems started at 3am when parties of young guests arrived back shouting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VasilisTsamandouras, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey! Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel, the food, the friendliness of the staff, etc. Although I must confess, your are right about the young english boys and girls. They did party a lot and we didn't know your age during the room allocation and gave you a room in the same building with... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

3 of us 18 year old girls came here as we wanted to be close to the strip to party but be really relaxed in a quiet place during the day which it was perfect for. only a 10/15 minute walk to the strip straight down one road. The food was great just wish dinner ended at 10 rather than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VasilisTsamandouras, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle! Thanks a lot for the lovely review! We are glad you had such a great time here in our hotel! Looking forward to seeing you again here some time very soon! Best regards your smartline Kyknos Beach team More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Visted this hotel in june/july 2015 with 7 of my friends. This hotel is great if your looking for your first lads/girls holiday. Only taking 15 mins to walk to the strip its ideal for the nightlife. Friendly atmosphere around the pool. Not much selection on the bar and it shuts at 11 which is annoying when we where leaving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VasilisTsamandouras, Διευθυντής at smartline Kyknos Beach Hotel, responded to this review

No Sir, sorry but this hotel is not great when you are looking for your first lads/girls holiday. Please come back after you are above 25 years old! Best regards The hotel management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

239 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (34)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (69)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.7 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#22 of 98 in Malia
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#23 of 98 in Malia
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Ariadne Beach Hotel
Ariadne Beach Hotel
#17 of 98 in Malia
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay