We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harolds Mansion

205 Hibbard Avenue, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Asia Travel to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Harolds Mansion
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    113
    97
    63
    39
    41
See reviews for
15
105
99
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (353)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Hong Kong Region, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My hubby and I were staying in Harolds during New Year time. We are both OWD level, as newbies or as divers when go diving and choose the places to stay... Be honest... At that time when I was working on our trip to dumagete, I was a bit worried after had read all the comments about Harolds. But First... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived looking for simple cheap and cheerful accommodation. We found it minus the cheerful. The receptionist was extremely unfriendly and very unwelcoming (not that you look for a first class greeting). We had booked a room and when we got to it, it was depressing and very uncared for. Basic is fine, but we felt it was not for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HaroldsMansion_Mgmt, Manager at Harolds Mansion, responded to this review

Hi Dom, we're sorry to hear that you were not happy with the room and cancelled your reservation. We are continuously trying to improve the standard of rooms and service provided from our staff and appreciate your comments. We hope you enjoyed your time in Dumaguete. Please feel free to contact us directly if you have any further comments. More 

Travelers are raving about these Dumaguete City hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

Probably the worst hostel I've ever experienced. I arrived on the ferry from Cebu at 3AM and woke up with terrible food poisoning. I was pretty distressed and told the staff I needed to stay an extra night because I was really sick. They were adamant I needed to pay the previous night before staying and that I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HaroldsMansion_Mgmt, Manager at Harolds Mansion, responded to this review

Hi Maphrao26, we're sorry to hear that you were sick and did not have a pleasant stay with us and appreciate your comments. We hope you recovered quickly and were able to enjoy the rest of your trip. Please feel free to contact us directly if you have any further comments. More 

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

This mansion is conveniently located in the heart of the city and is the hub of dive activities and the heaven for backpackers. We really enjoyed our 3 night stay here, especially the local food, simple but good (e.g the huge delicious spring roll, chocolate, hot pan de sal..). Our room was spacious with enough basic amenities. The price of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Stayed at Harold's May 2011 and November 2013 and definitely go back. Staff friendly, courteous and helpful, affordable rates, free local breakfast. I lost my cp and cant figure out where, a couple of hrs later the lady the desk hand me my cp, the diving instructor found it in Dauin. while at the tour in Hotspring it rained and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Harold's is great. For around $5 a dorm you really can't beat it, even in SE Asia. Dorms are all male or all female, they are clean, well lit and have a western toilet with a seperate shower. No towels are provided but you can ask at the front desk for one. The rooms have fans and air con. Wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

went here twice already. December 2012 and May 2015. what I like it here is their room rates are affordable. however need to go to the rooftop or the frontdesk just to surf the net using their free wifi. but overall it was good :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

This place is basically a diver's refuge. I booked for a night and stayed there for a week or so, that should tell you something. My dorm was a 10 or 12 beds, some nights empty, some nights full, but very spacious with a VERY NICE bathroom inside. Yep, inside. Anyway, dorm is great, clean & safe (big lockers). They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

There is nothing special about this place except for the fact that every backpacker comes here to do the Apo island dive tour - which I would highly recommend. For 250 pesos for a dorm bed (fyi - males are all separated from the females), you get a basic bed and shower and free breakfast. The bed is comfortable, nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

People are very unpleasant, not smiling at all and service is super slow. I would not recommend to stay in this hostel (room & bathroom dirty, Air-Con not clean). Just going upstairs for checking your emails on the rooftop and that's it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HaroldsMansion_Mgmt, Manager at Harolds Mansion, responded to this review

Hi fruffat, we're sorry to hear that you were disppointed with your stay at Harolds. We appreciate your feedback as we are continuously trying to improve the standards of our rooms and service provided by our staff. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our dive trips and hope that the rest of your time in Dumaguete was pleasant. Please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumaguete City hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 29 in Dumaguete City
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Check Inn Pension Arcade
Check Inn Pension Arcade
#21 of 29 in Dumaguete City
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
1.3 mi away
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Go Hotels Dumaguete
#16 of 29 in Dumaguete City
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
7.5 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#1 of 13 in Dauin
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island's Leisure Boutique Hotel and Spa - Dumaguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay