We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 40 Dumaguete City B&Bs / inns

Harolds Mansion

205 Hibbard Avenue, Dumaguete City, Philippines
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Harolds Mansion to your Saves list
Harolds Mansion
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #12 of 40 Dumaguete City B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
eleothegreat Cagayan de Oro, Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
  • Reviews (262)
  • Photos (60)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    72
    34
    25
    29
See reviews for
11
83
70
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cagayan de Oro, Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel last May 2 and 3 and I must say, I have mixed feelings about the hotel. Here's my review: 1) Location: GOOD Harold's is five minute ride (ten minute walk) to the city center. It's so near everything so location is definitely great. 2) Rooms: SO-SO I booked using another website (and was already confirmed)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent our 3nights in Harold's just this recently. At first I was hesitant to book the place because of its cheap room rates yet breakfast is included. What made me book for it was because of the different tour packages they offer and the room pictures on their website looks pretty decent to me, so I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I do not recommend this place. It is one of the few backpacker places, and it is decently priced, but the problem is the staff; they're horribly unprofessional and seemingly can't think for themselves at all, let alone on their feet. If you do decide to go there, try eating on their roof top "restaurant". It is a ten-minute battle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HaroldsMansion_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Harolds Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Mattias P - First off, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write an honest review about our accommodations and secondly I would like to apologize for you negative experiences with us. We are working to improve our accommodations both at our hostel and dive shop and will use your honest review to make such... More

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great little hostel. Accommodations are inexpensive, ac dorms and a roof top play area with TV, pool table, couches where plenty of backpackers go and settle in. Dumaguette is a cool city but doesn't have too much there besides caves but it's the perfect place to depart from for diving, snorkelling and island hoping adventuress. Harold's Mansion also has plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HaroldsMansion_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Harolds Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Mlmbu14, Thank you so much for your positive words and for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our tours. We look forward to seeing you again :). -Harold's Mansion More

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Yes, Harold's probably is the only backpacker place in town; yes, you can get a dorm bed for 250; yes, there is a nice rooftop to socialize with other travelers. But they are really not professional and service there is one of the poorest I have experienced during my 2-year wandering. There is an army of staff (mostly young girls)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HaroldsMansion_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Harolds Mansion, responded to this review

Dear louzdelaluna, Thank you for your review and I am sorry you had a negative experience at our hostel. We are working to improve our hostel and dive shop, so your review is very important to us. I will discuss your comments to our staff, especially about the room's cleanliness and work habits our the employees. As for your Apo... More

utrecht
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We didn't stay at Harold's Mansion but we did join their snorkel/dive trip today. It was amazing!! Great helpfull staff, food inclusive (plenty of fresh fruit), reasonable price and gorgeous snorkeling spots. On our way back we saw many dolphins. We highly recommend this trip. Thank you for the fantastic day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HaroldsMansion_Mgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Harolds Mansion, responded to this review

Dear lauraannechris, Thank you so much for you positive words and review! That is wonderful that you saw dolphins during your Apo trip, must have been magical! :). Again, thanks for your wonderful review and hope to see you again soon. Next time try staying at our hostel and enjoy the amazing food and fun/friendly atmosphere at our rooftop. -Harold's... More

Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Really nice place to stay, I loved the rooftop area! Despite the smelly dorm, the wifi not working very well (but then I headed to Beracah, lovely little family eatery, 2 min walk in the same street on the way to the cc, delicious food, perfect wifi) and despite the staff not really helpful (I wanted to go hiking but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

At first glance this place looks good, cheap rooms, AC and free breakfast. What could go wrong? Unfortunately Harold's Mansion does not deliver. The rooms are old with most things like hooks, lights, etc broken. The AC is either ON or OFF with no thermostat, hence you either freeze with it on or leave it off. The fan is weak... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed at Harolds mansion twice during my stay in Dumaguette. It was a very pleasant stay both times. The staff are usually helpfull and friendly (you do have to get a little lucky with who you talk to, some don't speak english very well and are a bit helpless). Rooms are clean, showers are good, airco works well. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

About 10 min walk to the port, Siliman University and Rizal Boulevard. The staff is very helpful, allows early check-in without extra charge and any room comes with free breakfast of pan de sal and stick rice (like champorado). The 1K tour per person for Apo Island snorkeling is reasonable, includes all fees, snorkeling w/ flippers, transportation and snack and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Harolds Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Harolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Mansion

Address: 205 Hibbard Avenue, Dumaguete City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Dumaguete City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Harolds Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harolds Mansion Hotel Dumaguete City

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Number of rooms
8

See which rooms travelers prefer