We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baby Bush Lodge Zanzibar - Kiwengwa View

Certificate of Excellence
Cairo Village, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baby Bush Lodge Zanzibar - Kiwengwa View
Professional photos View all
Baby Bush Lodge Zanzibar - Kiwengwa View
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    47
    28
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
4
20
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

My stay at Babybush was fantastic because of the fabulous Mel, Jonty and Teacher who were managing the place during my stay. For the 5 days I ended up staying it was like a home from home. It is very peaceful and the perfect place for some chill out time. There are some super comfortable mattress chairs around a veranda... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Baby bush Lodge is the place to be if you like to have a relaxed time. The view is absolutely wonderfull, in a local fisherman's village, 2 steps away from Kiwengwa Beach. The staff is really helpfull and helped me out to book some excursions (Stown Town - Prison Island, spice tour, snorkling at Nemba Atoll.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here with a group of friends over the new year. So fun and they were very attentive/open to feedback. Safety conscious and fun loving crew. It's great that they can help you set up tours as well right from reception. Thanks so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

I visited this place for 5 days in January 2015. Baby Bush is a nice budget hotel, intriguing by the look and with breath-taking views of the ocean, adjacent to a long and sandy beach. Baby Bush was just what I needed after hardships of Kilimanjaro and dusts of Serengeti: a quiet and inexpensive hotel with a little bit of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

It was exactly what we need after Kili climbing and Safari. Perfect relax with perfect hospitality. Manager Eva is the best manager ever! She is the best to resolve any problem which you have. From money exchange to taxi and perfect company!!!! Thank to her we had the best staying in Baby Bush. We are recommending to try their Sea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We had a nice stay here. Our friends were staying at a super fancy place up the beach, and it was nice to be able to stay somewhere a lot cheaper but close to them. The beach is gorgeous, so is the view, and the lounge area is great. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Baby Bush is so great. Breakfast was ready for us every morning, its free and it was delicious. The guys took care of us every minute and they cleaned our room everyday with a smile. Selma, the house keeper left us flowers on the bed that spelled a new message every day. Its right off the beach and beautiful. One... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Baby bush lodge is an amazing place if you want a nice relaxing holiday. Its right on the beach and next to the sweet stalls representing the African culture. Not only was the staff lovely they're also so friendly and welcoming. Food here is easily better than a 5 star restaurant it was amazing. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

The view was okay, the food was okay at best, the waitstaff was sweet & the manager was horrible!! Our room was okay, clean with little sand, however now bathroom curtain to separate bedroom & bathroom, looked like it broke & never got replaced. During the day & at night, there were 20 locals hanging out, pretty sure not staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Babybushlodge, Manager at Baby Bush Lodge Zanzibar - Kiwengwa View, responded to this review

Hi Megan, after reading your review we would like go over the points you made. 1. Horrible Management: First off we would like appologize for the managment that was there at the time of your stay. This guy was not our normal manager and he was just filling in for a couple weeks during low season. We had just finished... More 

Lusaka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 via mobile

Baby bush has glorious views, situated right on the beach, and the communal area makes the most of it with bed style hammocks and lounge areas on various levels. However, it think my rating would be lower if it weren't for the location. All water was salty so it was impossible to get clean and not be continually sticky, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 9 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mvuvi Resort
Mvuvi Resort
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zanzest  Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 24 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
#3 of 5 in Pwani Mchangani
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Madrugada Beach Resort
La Madrugada Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Makunduchi
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Back to top