We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sultan Sands Island Resort

Certificate of Excellence
P.O.Box 3276 | Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sultan Sands Island Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    221
    128
    33
    7
    11
See reviews for
79
239
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (400)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (106)
All months
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When you arrived so well rated resort you expect a lot, but in this case you should expect little above standard. Nowadays in high rate hotelsm you have wifi in your room, here only in one place near the beach, TV is in the room but you could see almost nothing. Room design is also important, room is small, could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gail A, Manager at Sultan Sands Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear AndrzejKatowice, thank you for your review. We agree you do expect a great deal when arriving at a place like Sultan Sands, you expect a high level of comfort, you expect the food to be good and the environment condusive to relaxation and rest. You expect that the service will be prompt and efficient and the environment beautiful well... More 

Captiva Island, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful place, we had a sea view room, with direct access to the beach, 30 meters from the sea and fantastic views on the Indian Ocean at all tides. Rooms comfortable, kept very clean. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at good quality and a lot of variation. Staff friendly and truly making you feel welcome. Non intrusive animation for the kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gail A, Manager at Sultan Sands Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Robbert, thank you for your review. Our Bahari rooms are very special, like all our rooms they are light and bright with huge windows offering a lovely view. But the location right on the beach is very special. Nothing like being able to open your doors and within a few steps curling your toes in the white sand while... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,662 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 702 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

I was in Zanzibar for a week recently after a visit to Masai Mara in Kenya. I stayed at the Sultan Sands and had a wonderful time. Being a repeat guest (probably my 8th visit or so), I am now very comfortable with the Sultan Sands resort. The rooms are nice - true they need updating - especially the bathrooms,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gail A, Manager at Sultan Sands Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ibadanboy, we were all so happy to welcome you back to Sultan Sands yet again. It is a huge compliment you pay us by returning time and again bringing friends to enjoy our beautiful resort and facilities. You take great advantage of all we are and all we offer – we enjoy seeing you relaxed after a massage, happy... More 

Barberton, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

The hotel is clean but the beach towels very old, the staff can hardly speak English and the food is poor. Going for a swim in the ocean is a mission as the locals are bugging the tourist a lot. The beverages are poor and the cocktails well their it must be given another name it taste awful. When the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gail A, Manager at Sultan Sands Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear U4950UClouise, we welcome constructive and useful criticism. I took the time to read through your reviews and can see that you had not intended to stay with us but were booked with us as a result of a fire in another hotel. As you had been promised services in another hotel which were either not communicated to us, or... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Sultan Sands is a pretty resort. Located conveniently on the beach...you can literally roll off your beach bed into the ocean. The breakfast buffet is incredible with a variety to satisfy any palette. There is no need for lunch. Dinners were great, offering a different theme every night with entertainment. The tea/coffee and wifi area is very dissatisfactory with poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Unfortunately our stay at this resort was very average. From the onset when we arrived at the airport, our transfer from the hotel was not there. When I spoke to management they didnt seem to phased by it. Our room was not ready on time, we had to wait an hour. To sum it up, below are the positives and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

We vistited Sultan Sands for 9 days, and we absolutely loved the place. Relaxing and quiet. We travel a lot and we sometimes worry about the standard of hotels, but we had no worries arriving here. You are in Africa, so you have to understand that some things just take a bit more time than in other places. Pole pole.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Zoeterwoude, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Last week my husband and I visited Africa, Zanzibar and Sultan Sands for the first time. We wanted to spend a week relaxing, sunbathing, good food and some culture/nature. In Sultan Sands we found a wonderful, relatively small resort with a personal touch. Compliments for both staff and manager! We loved our beach cottage. Imagine walking 5 yards to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We stayed 8 days in this Arabic style hotel. The rooms are very clean and near the beach, cleaning lady will pass two times a day, morning and evening. If you want to relax have a drink and read a good book, this is the right place. The food, for me very important, the food is excellent every single day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We stayed her for 6 nights after a Kilimanjaro climb. The hotel is very nice in arabic style. Helpful staff, reasonably good value, clean & tidy cabins, good food, and entertainment every night. This resort is reputed to offer better than average value and the experience is pleasant. The hotel offer the beach experience. You lie around in the sun,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,044 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (665)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (97)
Viewed
Room/suite (81)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (190)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Other (218)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (369)
Viewed
Amenities (98)
Viewed
Bahari Room (59)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Pwani Room (68)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (80)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
3.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
4.6 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.7 mi away
Mvuvi Resort
Mvuvi Resort
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay