We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Matemwe hotels

Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Zanzibar Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
97%
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Graham B London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
92
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at Zanzibar Retreat Hotel for a week in March. Had a very nice stay and we got off to a good start when we got lost upon arrival, ending up at another property. Jan sent over a taxi for us right away which was most kind! Our room was close to the pool which worked out well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This well ran small hotell with a perfect location on the beach, is a very good choice when visiting Zanzibar. A short drive south of the more populated beaches in the north, you will find peace and quiet. There are activities such as snorkelig, fishing, safari and spice tours or you can opt for a day at the pool or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

After a safari we spent 6 gorgeous nights at ZRH. An awesome experience! It was small, intimate, great food, beach, pool, international, fabulous. Owners/managers were personable,always available, and perfect hosts. We shed a few tears on leaving! LOVE Zanzibar Retreat Hotel. Jan and Karin are the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Jan and his staff will made my wife and I feel very at home, they were warm and welcoming and attended to our every need. The rooms were clean, spacious and nicely appointed and the grounds were like something out of a movie. The pool was the highlight as it was well cared for and always the right temperature. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

There are hotels where you are a customer, treated with all due respect but all after all you are a customer. And there are places like the ZR where you instantly feel at home among friends. That is the big plus you can not buy with money but requires a special attitude and special personality of the people. We made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roskilde, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

A stay at the Zanzibar Retreat Hotel will be an experience you will never forget and I simply cannot recommend it strongly enough. First let me start by saying that the contribution from the Stockholm-visitors that you will find under my recommendation – I do not understand it in any way. Please do not pay attention to this – It´s... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Location: you can't see much of the beach from the hotel. It was difficult to have a bath. There are fewer sun beds on the beach than there are guests. We never used the pool. There are hardly any beach boys though, which is good. Food: food was the biggest problem and really a disappointment given what we had read... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GoZanzibar, Manager at Zanzibar Retreat Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests. Thank you for your time sharing your oppinions about our hotel. Im sorry you had a rough stay with us, but to be perfectly honest... I do not understand some of the complaints. It seems you have been checking on tripadvisor beforehand, and got the impression this would be the most high standard place on island. Too high... More

Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Overall a really good experience; we spent 8 days there after some days in the Old City of Sansibar and safari on the mainland. The location is superb, right on the beach. It is essentially in the middle of nowhere (if you are looking for a cute spot to hang out, voila this is it). This place is not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Zanzibar Retreat for three nights in December, and it was just right type of a retreat for me: very quiet and peaceful, with lovely food, and above all, awesome staff: The Scandinavian management team, Jan & Karin, as well as their local colleagues - Everyone was just so helpful and nice. As it's a small hotel, you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon , and it was definetly a great choice we made , we stayed 5 days , and were made feel like at home , the manager Jan from Finland , is really sweet and helpful. The food is delicious. 5 star menu and chef. the rooms are clean , the location on the beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Zanzibar Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Also Known As:
Zanzibar Retreat Matemwe
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel Matemwe
Address: Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zanzibar Retreat Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small beach Retreat. Good food and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Zanzibar Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Retreat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.