We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mnarani Beach Cottages

Hotel website
North Coast | P O Box 3361, Nungwi, Tanzania
Offers & Announcements
'Stay 6 pay 5'
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    119
    35
    20
    16
See reviews for
43
145
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (315)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everyone is happy and polite. Good rooms, nice and relaxed atmosphere. A very good get-away-pkace, when you want to get out of the city. Nice beach around the corner, snorkelling oppurtunities and other water activities.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte P, Thank you for your nice feedback on TripAdvisor! It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and everything Mnarani and its surroundings have to offer. Please come back soon! Sunny greetings from Nassor and the team! More 

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

The bed was pushed against one wall to give a bit more space on the other side, but that meant you could not get out of bed on that side, so we moved it. We also had to move the clothes cabinet against the front window so we could walk around the end of the bed. The bathroom is small,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Unbiased-Facts, Thank you for your very detailed review of your stay with us! I am delighted that you’ve enjoyed it, despite the fact that the Standard Room you booked was obviously too small for your needs; but, as you mentioned, we have a selection of rooms to suit every requirement. Thank you also for noting that our place is... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Avoid the cheek-by-jowl beachside hotels stringing the North West part of the Island - Mnarani is a real find, an oasis of calm and quiet, with stunning views onto the Indian Ocean, fabulous food and massages and a fantastic, hands-on owner. Visit and re-charge your batteries and senses.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear marpandc, Thank you for your lovely review of Mnarani Beach Cottages! How great to know you’ve enjoyed everything we have to offer and got your batteries recharged and your senses stimulated in our little oasis by the ocean. We’d love to welcome you again and spoil you some more ;-) Warm regards from all of us! More 

London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Had a very lovely stay at Mnarani over Easter. I agree with previous reviews regarding the friendly staff, great location (away from the madness of the main Nungwi strip which is great if you're after peace and quiet) and a beautiful view! My friends said the massage lady is amazing too, though I didn't get to have one unfortunately. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

You have arrived at the place where no further looking is required. From the driver (Sameer) who will pick you up from wherever you are in Zanzibar, to the reception (Amour, Khamis and the wonderful Margaret), to the restaurant where Gina, Naeemah and Saloom will bend over backwards to keep you smiling, to the bar which is occupied by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear nomi s, How wonderful to read your appreciative review! You are truly family now, knowing everybody and enjoying is what we are so happy to do for you. I have passed on your compliments to our team, I’m sure you can imagine their big smiles  Thank you so much for choosing Mnarani as your home, and we can’t... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

A nice place if you want to stay somewhere off the beaten path. The staff are warm and accommodating. The accommodations weren't fancy, but clean and quaint. The breakfast and lunch offerings were average, but the dinners were very nice. It was quiet and peaceful. However, I was told that it can be more crowded at other times.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear SasaHivi_bn, Thank you for your kind and detailed review of Mnarani Beach Cottages! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. True, we aren’t a fancy resort, but a family place, quiet and peaceful, as you pointed out - and even if we are very busy, the size and layout of our place make sure that it doesn’t ever... More 

Kiel, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Very close to the turtle Aquarium and to the beautifull beach of Nungwi. You are able to see how the fishermen with there Special Douws are landing big catches of Tuna, Marlin and Barracudas.....The Blue Beach Ocean Restaurant is the best to eat fresh fish.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Joern L, Thank you very much for your kind review of Mnarani Beach Cottages! It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and have nothing but good things to say about our team, the rooms, the cuisine and our lovely beach. And yes, a visit at the Nungwi fish market is really quite an experience - Zanzibar... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This was my second stay at Mnarani beach cottages - it is an absolutely fantastic place and I couldn't recommend it more highly. The welcome provided by the entire team at Mnarani and the lengths they went to to make our stay as perfect as possible was incredible - the beautiful Indian Ocean was a mere couple of metres from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear mopsarcas, What a delight it was to welcome you back at Mnarani, and now to read your great review! A heartfelt “thank you!” for staying with us again, and for writing all these wonderful things about us! We love to go that extra mile for our guests, and of course it’s a big reward for us if it is... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Not the greatest value for money. The rooms are very small, the bed is not a double bed. The electricity goes off and on all day. The beach is not really for swimming, you can take long walks looking for seashells, but you can swim as its very shallow for half of the day. The bar is extremely expensive (4$... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Josipa R, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We appreciate all comments, as they tell us what we are doing right and where we can improve. We can’t change the tidal beach (and wouldn’t if we could, as this is exactly what provides a livelihood for the village people), and... More 

Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We had a lovely time at Mnarani. Beautiful ocean view from our cottage, seeing local fishermen sail ech day in their boats. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was realy nice especially the Swahily meal, wich was superb! Do visit the natural aquarium when your there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Amsterdamdriver2012, I'm grateful to see a such positive review! I will pass your compliments about the Swahili dinner to our Chief, and his team will definitely appreciate to hear that. For years, we keep this tradition of glorification of Swahili culture through the similar dinner on every Tuesday and Friday most of our guests appreciate it sometime we even... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

760 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (311)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (94)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (355)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Beach (60)
Viewed
Double Room (38)
Viewed
Family Room (66)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Triple Room (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (94)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay