We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

#8 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Ayomide C Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Add Photo Write a Review

573 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    386
    111
    40
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
262
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (573)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (176)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (166)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed alone time and chose Hideaway of Nungwi. Great decision. Great food, great beachfront, great customer service& great spa. Loved the seafood and breakfast view. All in all great hotel. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived around lunch time and wanted to have a drink and a meal but I wasn't allowed into the resort! The guard at the gate had lengthy telephone communication with someone before telling me I was not allowed in and slamming and locking the gate in my face! I live in tanzania and vacation monthly on zanzibar, this is one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was there a couple of days and absolutely everything about the hotel rocks..Definately going back.Thanks to the awesome service of Ally,Leah,Khadija and all the others of Aqua and the bar of course.. The food was awesome loved the clean breathtaking beach,the pool, the evening entertainment.Keep it up Hideaway!

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked the presidential villa during New Year's eve. Accommodations were nice but there were bugs and ants in villa at all times despite numerous complaints. Sewage smell coming from shower drains. The food was not edible and of the poorest quality. They only served dark meat chicken. After complaining the the chef prepared us some private decent meals in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francesco G, General Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Shawn, Thank you for taking the time 5 months after your stay, to tell us about your experience at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. Kindly mind that we are in Zanzibar, Africa, and expecting not to see any ants it is definitely an unattainable hope. Regarding the shower drains issue I would like to remind you that... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review focuses on my main problem with this hotel, which was reported by my husband to Guest Services and never followed up on, thus my quite negative review of a hotel that was generally okay...although not a 5 star resort. On our first night at Hideaway, we were told there would be an evening of traditional African food, dancing,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha G, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear valued guests, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations; but please allow me to specify some incorrect information you have mentioned. You have informed us about your concern regarding the snake and some other small... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first vist with five couples. .spent 7 days and we all had an awesome time ...The food was excellent. .always something different to eat....The beach and activities is awesome. ...Our rooms always kept so neat and tidy...The staff are friendly and always willing to help and take care of us....Thanks you for an awesome time...special thanks to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Samantha G, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear valued guests, We appreciate your enthusiastic comments regarding your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will be a pleasure to share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the... More 

Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 7 days at this place and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff, Samantha, Gosh, Hedda, James, Mary, the reception staff, the restaurant staff, the barman, the cleaning staff, EVERYONE (except the guy at the dive centre) were exceptionally friendly and helpful and made our stay very pleasurable. The Aqua restaurant has a variety on the buffet but some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Samantha G, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear valued guests, Thank you for sharing your experience at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, it is a pleasure to read your thrilled feedback about your stay. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. It is our daily mission to make feel each and every guest unique and... More 

Dar es Salaam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my third visit in the last two years and this time it was purely business . Was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the presidential suite which is mind blowing ! Private swimming pool /jacuzzi and access to private beach can't get any better ! But even staying in a normal private junior suite it's the beach that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha G, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We are honored to have you as our loyal customer, it is always a pleasure when our guests come back at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. It is a pleasure to read that you are fascinated by the magic of our resort with its sunsets and stunning views on the Indian Ocean. We appreciate your positive... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hideaway is an excellent resort on the amazing beach of Nungwi, All Inclusive resort with a fine dinning experience, lovely beach and swimming pool, and most importantly excellent service, the resort is recommended for couples and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha G, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet... More 

Dubai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The main purpose of my stay at Hideaway Nungwi was to do nothing-but-dive at the excellent on-site PADI diving centre, but I was immediately charmed upon my arrival as the ever-cheerful Samantha and her team were waiting at the entrance to greet me. Despite the hotel being fairly well-occupied (despite the off-peak season generally in Zanzibar during April-May), the team... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Samantha G, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. It makes us proud to know that our guests feel and appreciate our daily commitment and passion, our satisfaction comes together with the guests’ satisfaction. As a member of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,092 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (559)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (100)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (188)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (90)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (494)
Viewed
Amenities (111)
Viewed
Beach (32)
Viewed
Mini Suite (74)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (142)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (59)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay