We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Vaalwater accommodations

Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa

Save
You added Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Site 26 Welgevonden Game Reserve, Vaalwater 530, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vaalwater
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Wonderful lodge! Great service! The chefs prepared beautiful meals for our group. Spa was a really nice to have after some long hours in the bumpy jeeps. But, I would say the highlight of our trip was witnessing the circle of life right before our eyes. Large male lion stalking and taking down a zebra...pretty emotional for the group. Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

High level of service, friendly staff and game rangers. Good personal touches, and impressive presence of management. Amazing game drives, beautiful scenery, tranquil besides the noise of barking baboons. Very nice, fresh, home cooked food. Rooms are amazing. Very comfortable, well decorated, warm, and modern - a rare combination.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We always go to Shibula for a a relaxing and exciting break. The staff and management are always welcoming and attentive. They listen to what you have to say, and endeavour to put things right. Sitting in a warm outside Jacuzzi, with a glass of champagne, no sounds other than the bush, what could be better! Our ranger Larrie was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We got in last minute for a 3 day safari and had the best time with perfect weather. The staff put together an outdoor braai for our first nights dinner and even baked me a cake for my birthday. We saw lots of animals, but a few of the big cats were missing after a big storm that hit the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This stay was for myself, United Kingdom and South African Swallow and my long-standing South African friend, Mary-Monica who lives in Jo'burg. She recommended the beauty of this area; my job was to search for accommodation; Shibula Lodge sounded to "Fit the Bill". Our stay was in every way amazing; the Staff, especially Greg and Tour Guide Cara were outstanding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Shibula is a 3-star lodge, striving for a fourth star. The problem is that the lodge claims to be a 5-star place and prices itself accordingly. They are therefore bound to underperform at all levels. Some of the disappointments: - Cigarettes in the shower, shattered glass on the patio, and half-used bags of coffee by the kettle. - Water-temperature in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shibula L, Manager at Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner, Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s): *Respectful of Personal Privacy No speculation as to the identity of the reviewer. Personal information of any person, including names, addresses, phone numbers or other information that may be... More

The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Shibula is a beautiful lodge 3 hours drive from Johannesburg in welgevonden game reserve. It has a small pool with a beautiful view over the rocks. Nice game drives (we spotted big 5)!! and great food, friendly staff, beautiful rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oer-Erkenschwick, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We loved being at Shibula, were made very welcome and enjoyed excellent service, good food and excellent game viewing with a knowledgeable guide. The well appointed, spacious and luxurious rooms exceeded our expectations and were better than we had experienced at other lodges.

Was this review helpful? Yes
surrey, uk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and i stayed here a few years ago, and we both agree it was the best holiday we have ever had. The lodge was luxurious in the middle of the reserve compound and the hospitality, food, guides knowledge as well as the experience of the Big 5 was superb. We cannot wait for our daughters to be old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had an amazing 6-night stay at Shibula lodge.This 5* Lodge deserves every star to its maximum. The service of the whole staff was terrific, the personal attention felt very sincere. David and Frans thank you for that. The food was more than excellent. It was unbelievable that there was a different menu every day. One person in our party... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa

Address: Site 26 Welgevonden Game Reserve, Vaalwater 530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa Vaalwater, Waterberg, South Africa

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay