We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa

4.5 of 5
Hotel website
Site 26 Welgevonden Game Reserve, Vaalwater 530, South Africa
Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

A girls weekend away started out with so much promise. My friend and I had booked far in advance and had been planning our girls weekend away complete with bush spa for quite some time. We were so excited. However I should have known from the start when trying to book our spa treatments, that things would go astray. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shibula L, Manager at Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Koch We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay at Shibula Lodge. Candid comments from our guests are important to us, as we are always looking at ways to improve our amenities and correct any deficiencies. We are sorry to hear that overall you and your friend were not pleased with your stay, and reading... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

The rooms are large & beautiful. The staff are very friendly & helpful. The food is good. The best thing for me was the peace & quiet and restful atmosphere. The gamerangers are very good. We saw allot of animals. I highly recommend booking a massage! Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shibula L, Manager at Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa, responded to this review

Hi Eileen Thank you for your lovely comment. We hope to see you soon! More 

Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

What a stunning setting, an amazing place and fantastic staff, Laurie, Larry, Frans, Ezekiel, Ronda, Isaac, Francine and Eva that make you very welcome! Our Ranger, Laurie, was brilliant and enabled us to see practically everything we wanted to see! We saw everything from the King of the Jungle to Weaverbirds! Highly recommended!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shibula L, General Manager at Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa, responded to this review

Dear Matt Thank you for your fantastic Review. Our staff at Shibula Lodge and Bush spa pride themselves in making each and every guests experience uniquely memorable and one of a kind. The Reserve offers an abundant variety of wildlife and you are sure to see a some of the Big 5 if not all in one day. We hope... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Saw big 5 out of six if you include the cheetah. Missed a buffalo. Great game drives and no overcrowding at game sites... All lodges cooperate with each other. Best boma and meal I have ever had. Relaxing, chilled, hidden and tranquil. Don't have time for a long game drive, this lodge offer time to unwind and relax. Will certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shibula L, General Manager at Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gary We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you visit us again soon. Warm Regards More 

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Wonderful lodge! Great service! The chefs prepared beautiful meals for our group. Spa was a really nice to have after some long hours in the bumpy jeeps. But, I would say the highlight of our trip was witnessing the circle of life right before our eyes. Large male lion stalking and taking down a zebra...pretty emotional for the group. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

High level of service, friendly staff and game rangers. Good personal touches, and impressive presence of management. Amazing game drives, beautiful scenery, tranquil besides the noise of barking baboons. Very nice, fresh, home cooked food. Rooms are amazing. Very comfortable, well decorated, warm, and modern - a rare combination.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We always go to Shibula for a a relaxing and exciting break. The staff and management are always welcoming and attentive. They listen to what you have to say, and endeavour to put things right. Sitting in a warm outside Jacuzzi, with a glass of champagne, no sounds other than the bush, what could be better! Our ranger Larrie was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We got in last minute for a 3 day safari and had the best time with perfect weather. The staff put together an outdoor braai for our first nights dinner and even baked me a cake for my birthday. We saw lots of animals, but a few of the big cats were missing after a big storm that hit the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This stay was for myself, United Kingdom and South African Swallow and my long-standing South African friend, Mary-Monica who lives in Jo'burg. She recommended the beauty of this area; my job was to search for accommodation; Shibula Lodge sounded to "Fit the Bill". Our stay was in every way amazing; the Staff, especially Greg and Tour Guide Cara were outstanding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Shibula is a 3-star lodge, striving for a fourth star. The problem is that the lodge claims to be a 5-star place and prices itself accordingly. They are therefore bound to underperform at all levels. Some of the disappointments: - Cigarettes in the shower, shattered glass on the patio, and half-used bags of coffee by the kettle. - Water-temperature in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shibula L, Manager at Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner, Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s): *Respectful of Personal Privacy No speculation as to the identity of the reviewer. Personal information of any person, including names, addresses, phone numbers or other information that may be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question