We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Vaalwater accommodations

Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa

Save Saved
You added Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Site 26 Welgevonden Game Reserve, Vaalwater 530, South Africa
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (40)
  • Photos (64)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • More
Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vaalwater
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

High level of service, friendly staff and game rangers. Good personal touches, and impressive presence of management. Amazing game drives, beautiful scenery, tranquil besides the noise of barking baboons. Very nice, fresh, home cooked food. Rooms are amazing. Very comfortable, well decorated, warm, and modern - a rare combination.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We always go to Shibula for a a relaxing and exciting break. The staff and management are always welcoming and attentive. They listen to what you have to say, and endeavour to put things right. Sitting in a warm outside Jacuzzi, with a glass of champagne, no sounds other than the bush, what could be better! Our ranger Larrie was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We got in last minute for a 3 day safari and had the best time with perfect weather. The staff put together an outdoor braai for our first nights dinner and even baked me a cake for my birthday. We saw lots of animals, but a few of the big cats were missing after a big storm that hit the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This stay was for myself, United Kingdom and South African Swallow and my long-standing South African friend, Mary-Monica who lives in Jo'burg. She recommended the beauty of this area; my job was to search for accommodation; Shibula Lodge sounded to "Fit the Bill". Our stay was in every way amazing; the Staff, especially Greg and Tour Guide Cara were outstanding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Shibula is a 3-star lodge, striving for a fourth star. The problem is that the lodge claims to be a 5-star place and prices itself accordingly. They are therefore bound to underperform at all levels. Some of the disappointments: - Cigarettes in the shower, shattered glass on the patio, and half-used bags of coffee by the kettle. - Water-temperature in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shibula L, Manager at Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner, Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s): *Respectful of Personal Privacy No speculation as to the identity of the reviewer. Personal information of any person, including names, addresses, phone numbers or other information that may be... More

The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Shibula is a beautiful lodge 3 hours drive from Johannesburg in welgevonden game reserve. It has a small pool with a beautiful view over the rocks. Nice game drives (we spotted big 5)!! and great food, friendly staff, beautiful rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oer-Erkenschwick, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We loved being at Shibula, were made very welcome and enjoyed excellent service, good food and excellent game viewing with a knowledgeable guide. The well appointed, spacious and luxurious rooms exceeded our expectations and were better than we had experienced at other lodges.

Was this review helpful? Yes
surrey, uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and i stayed here a few years ago, and we both agree it was the best holiday we have ever had. The lodge was luxurious in the middle of the reserve compound and the hospitality, food, guides knowledge as well as the experience of the Big 5 was superb. We cannot wait for our daughters to be old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had an amazing 6-night stay at Shibula lodge.This 5* Lodge deserves every star to its maximum. The service of the whole staff was terrific, the personal attention felt very sincere. David and Frans thank you for that. The food was more than excellent. It was unbelievable that there was a different menu every day. One person in our party... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my first time on a game reserve and I enjoyed it immensely all the staff and our guide were very nice and helpful. The lodge catered for all our needs from hot water bottles on the game drives to a wonderful selection of food. One particular detail which I enjoyed was our guide’s wide knowledge of the animals... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa

Address: Site 26 Welgevonden Game Reserve, Vaalwater 530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa 4.5*
Also Known As:
Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa Vaalwater, Waterberg, South Africa

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Amenities

Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shibula Lodge & Spa offers the discerning visitor a luxurious taste of wild Africa. Situated in the malaria free Welgevonden Private Game Reserve, Limpopo Province, a mere 2.5 hours' self-drive from Johannesburg. Look forward to an encounter with an lion on the hunt, a cheetah on the plains, a rhino calf with its mother or a herd of elephant during a game drive with experienced rangers.Return to the luxury of peace, experience nature in the comfort of each of Shibula's eight luxurious en-suite rooms. Equipped with telephone, air-conditioning, full bathroom, tea/coffee facilities, own patio and an outside shower. The Suite option of outside jacuzzi,private pool or inside spa bath caters for your preferential choice.Sooth the stresses of daily life with the sophisticated pampering of our Bush Spa, feast on fresh delights and experience Africa in all its untamed magnificence with our starlit boma dinners.Our superbly decorated main lodge boasts a reading corner and an elegant lounge and dining area. A sprawling deck with magnificent views leads one to the swimming pool overlooking the surrounding bush.Daily guided safaris on an open safari vehicle in the 36 000ha Reserve, afford guests the opportunity to get up-close and personal with some of Africa's untamed and most majestic creatures, as well as the magnificent plant life which abounds in this region of the country. The reserve is well stocked with lion, leopard, cheetah, wild dog, rhino, elephant, zebra, giraffe and many other mammals, birds and trees. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shibula Lodge & Bush Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer