We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairway Motel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
2 MacPherson Street | Central Otago District, Wanaka, New Zealand
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairway Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fairway Motel has plenty of of street parking and close to town. tea and coffe is available including plunger coffee. fresh milk is provided. a small kitchen suitable for your own cooking. bed is very comfortable and large flat screen TV offering Freeview channels. Lower floor opens out to a small balcony or garden. washing facilities are available. small couch,... More 

Helpful?
Thank coaster2
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff, a plain, clean motel that slept 4 of us comfortably. Near the road into Wanaka from Queenstown so road noise a little loud. Beds comfortable and the roses outside the room were a lovely surprise.. A 2 minute drive from the lake and centre of town.

Helpful?
Thank Brissooze
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Felt welcomed when walked into reception. Great price for room. Great pool VERY cold but enjoyed it. Cleaners were very kind and friendly (1st time ever staying at a place) would stay again. 2 bbq to use so had a wee cook up for a dinner. Thanks.

Helpful?
Thank Travis B
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you :) More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was very cramped and small for what it cost to stay, 4 beds all in a small space, tiny kitchen which limits ability to do any cooking. Room hadn't been cleaned very well, the toilet was dirty from previous people. We told reception and they did send someone up to clean it which was good.

Helpful?
Thank nicd258
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

I am very sorry you felt this way. I can only do so much, when I pay staff to clean and then someone to check the room, I expected it to be up to standard. And $150 for 4 people to stay in Wanaka is pretty well priced. If you wanted a larger room maybe you should have up graded... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at a 4 bed room just above the reception and it was very noisy. There were car noise all the time. The room were quite warm so we have to open up the windows which made the noise even worst. There's not much space in the room either. With 4 beds and 4 luggage the room was quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank meann e
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
297 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Fairway for one night in late December. As it was the holiday season it was very busy, this was no problem though. We were impressed to find accommodation so close to the centre of town for such a good price.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah53187
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. More 

Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are a little old but well maintained and very clean. They are self-contained units so have everything you need. Wifi is limited and then you have to pay. Helpful staff and a swimming pool which looked well looked after. About a 10 minute walk into town which we enjoyed. Lots of free parking right outside the rooms.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay T
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you. I wish we had faster internet too! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. More 

Curistchurch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

Very friendly host, clean, spacious, and the room does have everything you need. good price too. The room was very well insulated so we had a quiet and cosy night. The pool looked nice but the day was too cold to enjoy swimming, but it seem to be very well maintained, definitely a great luxury in hot days.

Helpful?
Thank forju97
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

Stayed with our elderly mothers for a night. Although looking old, the two bedroom was very clean and had heaps of room. Owners were friendly and helpful. Had two bathrooms on of which could fit a chair to wash on.

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

This motel is located on the edge of Wanaka as you arrive into town. Handy to shops and restaurants. The units are older and slightly run down but very clean and comfortable. The units I have stayed in all have kitchens and plenty of parking outside the unit.

Helpful?
2 Thank 190ady
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#5 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#4 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 19 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#9 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay