We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Wanaka hotels

Fairway Motel

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2 MacPherson Street | Central Otago District, Wanaka, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great online rates!
Save Saved
You added Fairway Motel to your Saves list
Fairway Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
86%
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Wanaka
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
LoveFlyingAlways Denver, Colorado
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A young couple recently bought the motel, and they are great owners! Clean, tidy, fabulous room, perfect kitchen amenities. The sign said "Great Rates" and it was right. I liked supporting this couple.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brilliant warm clean and tidy motel, we had no booking yet Rob the manager gave us a very fair price, loved the room, we will be back for sure :-)) Happy 2nd half of our honeymoon stopover, and quiet to

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Hi guys, Thank you for the review and again congrats on the honeymoon we are glad we could be a small part of your post wedding experience! Glad you enjoyed your stay here, best wishes moving forward! Kind regards Rob More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I'm Dutch, so forgive my poor English... We booked this motel for 1 day with option to extend to 2 of more days. We got a excellent room with seperate kitchen and bathroom (with spa and separate shower). All we needed was there. My wife injured her knee and wrist when falling during a trip. The owner's wife is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Hi Guys, The pluses of having a nurse :-) It was great we could accommodate you here while your wife recuperated. I hope you managed to still get around Wanaka and see a few things. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we hope to see you back here again, next time fit as a fiddle!... More

High Wycombe, England
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Booked this the day before as we weren't sure whether we'd be in Wanaka at all. This motel is perfectly acceptable, with large rooms - the two of us could choose from a double bed or the other two beds on the other side. There is a small pool (no time to use), and the room and kitchen was well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed it here and found us to be helpful! Kind regards Eve and Rob More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is a great little motel! It basically has everything you need and feels very comfortable. Like other readers I appreciated the washer, dryer and kitchen. Also Rob was friendly and very helpful especially about suggesting walks in the area. The hotel is situated right on the edge of town. It's easy to drive or even walk into the heart... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We love giving information about the walks in Wanaka and hearing the buzz from people at the end of the day that truly enjoyed it out there. Wanaka is famous for its walks and it is awesome we could host you here at Fairway and act as your gateway... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a 2-bedroom unit and it was clean and comfortable. The washer and dryer were the newest and the most efficient I had during my 2-week trip in New Zealand. It was a blessing to be able to do laundry- we were running out of clean clothes to wear. The kitchen was well-equipped and we able to cook a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are chuffed that you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again. Apologies that you couldn't use the pool as I was away for 4 days and am the only one that can do it. Have a safe onward journey, enjoy NZ Warm regards,... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

A fantastic motel, helpful friendly staff, close to town, warm, dry and quiet rooms with space to move, plenty of everything - linen, towels, utensils, modern fridge and oven/microwave, tv with sky but above all the was spotlessly clean, lots of nice touches like flowers on the table, lots of complimentary things like tea, soaps and best of all salt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thank you for the review. The pool definitely helps in the long hot days. So glad you enjoyed your time with us in Wanaka, hopefully we see you again, maybe a winter ski?? Cheers and kind regards Rob More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I booked a studio type room and when I arrived had been upgraded to a 2 bed unit which I found surprising. My first night's sleep was interrupted constantly by the adjoining apartment's bathroom which was the noisiest bathroom I have ever heard in any motel anywhere. I told the man in the office the next day and he told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I do apologise your stay at The Fairway wasn't up to the high standard we try to provide our guests. The guests in the room you had booked had unfortunately contracted food poisoning and needed to stay on, therefore we upgraded you to the larger 2 bedroom apartment next... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We arrived after a long drive from Hokitika and is very glad to find a accommodating host and also a very spacious and clean unit. We are a family of 4 adults and a 4 year old with rather fussy needs. We are all very happy with the stay, the unit is quiet even though it is near the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Hi Guys, thank you for the review and no problems borrowing the stock pot! Nothing like a good cook up to keep the family quiet :-) We are rapt you had a good time here, enjoy the rest of your travels and hopefully we can host you again. Kind regards Rob, Eve and Frank More

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Everything (the room, kitchen, garden) was very clean and well kept. We had a ground floor room, what is nice because you have some private space when you sit in the garden. In the summer, the roses are really nice. Because it is not in the city center but nearby (10 minutes walk) you don't have parking problems or noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thank you for your comments about the garden! While I wish I could take all the credit, my dad must take most of it.... I made him put his skills to work when he came over on holiday! Glad you enjoyed your stay here with us in Wanaka, hopefully we see you again sometime soon. Kind regards and... More

Been to Fairway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Motel

Address: 2 MacPherson Street | Central Otago District, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairway Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fairway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.