We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Wanaka hotels

Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
67%
Ranked #18 of 21 hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Hobartite Hobart, Australia
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    166
    95
    44
    20
See reviews for
112
246
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I love it here. We stayed in winter, so it was lovely coming back here after skiing and being able to use the hot spas. The apartments are fantastic, with a decent kitchen for meals and a great balcony for an evening drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a return visit for us and, happily, we were upgraded due to a fault with our room telephone. The suite into which we were moved was delightful in every way and we would love to go back there on a future visit to NZ. Housekeeping and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and comfortable,... More

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our friendly and helpful staff, and clean, comfortable and well appointed rooms. Regarding your comment regarding pool users travelling through the bar area, we do not encourage pool users to walk through the bar and this is not the primary entry and exit, we... More

Durham
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
46 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The complex is out of town but we had been driving all day and just wanted to park the car, get a shower and have dinner. This place fitted the bill for us. We were given keys at reception and I felt a little disappointed when we drove past some lovely looking buildings to a single storey row of "... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your time taken to leave your comments and are pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments comfortable rooms, nice bathrooms and evening meal at our restaurant Jacobs Grill. Once again thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your recommendation to other travelers. More

Roxburgh, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were asked to contact the hotel manager via this website to make a complaint about damage to our espresso coffee pot while staying at the Oakridge last weekend. Whilst we do not agree that this is the correct way to address our problem, we are doing what was asked of us. Apparently this needs to be addressed to Mark... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

We have contacted this guest directly because unfortunately due to language barrier contact instructions were misread. We do not handle guest issues through trip advisor. More

Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was one of the cheaper places we stayed at, so I wasn't expecting much. We were pleasantly surprised! The room was very clean and the bed comfortable (though a little small). We absolutely loved the views from the hotel, and the pool area was fantastic! Yes, the hotel is a bit out of town, but we actually liked the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your time taken to leave your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our comfortable and clean rooms, fantastic views and great pool area. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Wanaka. More

Whakatane
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall we found this Hotel rather disappointing. The check in staff member was very unenthusiastic and borderline rude. The room was quite shabby and in need of a good tidy up - it was clean but tatty. The sound proofing between the rooms is very poor and we had to endure a lot of noise from an adjacent room. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize we did not meet your expectations and thank you for your time taken to leave your comments. We have taken on board your comments and will work on ways to address these issues. We often receive feedback about how friendly and polite our front of house staff are so I have spoken to... More

London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's a bit out of town, so take the car if want to pop down to the lake - and you should, because it's absolutely stunning! Pleasant staff, a good room and a pretty good evening meal. We would be happy to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our friendly staff, rooms and evening meal with us at Jacobs Grill. Once again thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your recommendation for other travelers. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I stayed at this resort coming all the way fron America. We were so thrilled with all the modern conviences our suite had such as heated towel racks, full kitchen, large soaking tub, and washer/dryer. The location is great & the view from our room was gorgeous. Best of all every single staff memeber we met was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly appreciate your time taken to leave your feedback. Thank you for your comments about our room facilities, view and your dining experience with us at Jacobs Grill. I will make sure your comments do get past on to our whole team. Once again thank you for your feedback... More

Darwin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at Oakridge Resort for 1 night in studio room. The location for this hotel is quite far from town center if you're walking, only 5-10 minutes drive by car. The atmosphere of the hotel was great but we're not really happy with our room. The lay out of the room is not efficient, so it make the room cramped.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie H, Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your comments will go a long way to improve future guest experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our fantastic hot pools and that you also enjoyed a nice dinner at Jacobs Grill. We apologize you did not like the layout of the studio room and we would love to... More

Been to Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka
Address: Corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#11 Family Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.