We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Wanaka hotels

Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Wanaka
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Explorercarl Tauranga
  • Overview
  • Reviews (507)
  • Photos (114)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (77)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    175
    99
    51
    23
See reviews for
115
264
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Oakridge resort. Our apartment was very spacious and clean and the kitchen was very well equipped. The hot pools are amazing after a day up on the mountain, great way to unwind. Conveinent location to the ski fields and Wanaka. Will be back again next season

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

3 nights here fore skiing and rooms were excellent. Loved the hottub after skiing although the lap pool should be heated too. We were mucked around with changing rooms due to full capacity but tolerable. Breaky was excellent. 33km from our room to the car park at cadrona...tops !,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our hot tubs facility, breakfast and convenient location. We apologize that you had to move rooms during your stay and believe it was because your travel agent's reservation was made for two separate room types over the course of your stay. We do advise... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night and thank goodness. Reception was rude on arrival, I think this was because I was young and was not feeling good so I didn't look like a 5 star customer. The room heater hardly worked so we froze with no extra blankets or pillows. I would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations and that you felt that you were not properly looked after. Please rest assure we do not make any discrimination upon age and we reiterate to every staff member that every guest be treated equally and with the best possible service. Whilst we do hold... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This review is so long overdue but I really wanted to share my fantastic experience at Oakridge. We held our wedding in Wanaka and had approx 50 guests travelling from out of town who stayed here (including us). I must admit after reading some of the reviews I was very nervous and considered changing hotels but there were none large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you choosing us to hold your guests for your wedding celebrations. Thank you for your kind words regarding our helpful staff, clean rooms and our fantastic facilities. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you for your... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment as this was all we could get at the time when we booked through our vacation club. The apartment was lovely! It had all the facilities needed to be able to cook lunch and dinner when needed, separate bathrooms were great in times of need and the sizing was fantastic. We loved the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review on our establishment, we are delighted you enjoyed our facilities and were well looked after. We are surprised to hear regarding the confusion about the burger being served on our snack menu nights. We have had a meeting with our front of house team to eradicate any future confusion. We look forward to welcoming... More

Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Oakridge Resort. The hot tubs were amazing after a days skiing and our apartment was very clean and spacious. The restaurant was very nice and cosy and overlooks pool complex. Staff were friendly and informative. Would reccommend for a family ski trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you were happy with almost everything about your experience with us. Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback and we wish you a warm welcome on your next visit to Wanaka. More

Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment at Oakridge Resort and booked through Home for Hire. What a lovely place. We had 2 bathrooms which was ideal for us as two couples. The main area lounge was big enough to feel comfortable in and the kitchen was well equipped. it gave us enough privacy as well. Staff were very friendly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review on our establishment, we are delighted you enjoyed our facilities and were well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oakridge Resort on your next visit to Wanaka. More

Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second week-long stay in a 2 bedroom family suite at the Oakridge Resort in Wanaka, arranged after having enjoyed our first in August last year so much. Then we were travelling with our two teenage sons, who spent most of their daylight hours snow boarding at Cardrona or Treble Cone, while we snuck off on day trips... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us so much. Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us and appreciate your time taken to post your comments. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us. More

Alexandra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Wanaka, NZ is an excellent place to visit; even better than Queenstown, NZ. We spent a week at the Oak Ridge Resort in a self contained unit and went to the "War Birds over Wanaka", brilliant. The service at the resort was excellent and the staff very attentive. It is out of town a little way but the quietness of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time taken to leave your kind words and are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our service, peaceful location and value when dining with us. Once again thank you for your review and we wish you a warm welcome on your next visit... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: Corner Cardrona Valley & Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wanaka #11 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
173

See which rooms travelers prefer