We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Special Rate
NZ$190 (NZD)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cape Kidnappers, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We were passing through Wanaka and found this charming little B&B run by the adorable Clare. We didn't have a cottage as there was only the 2 of us. It's excellent value for money and my only problem was on 2 small windows in our room which, on a hot day, made it difficult to keep cool, especially at night.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lonestarbc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the two bedroom cottage and it was supreme. Clean, quiet, well appointed and the fastest wifi we've encountered in New Zealand travels. Rooms are arranged around a lovely lawn garden, nice for sitting in morning. The owners paid a lot of attention to design details when built in 2003. About a km from town center. And Netflix... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil R
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Hello Phil, First thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on us. I am so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear about the WIFI as we have worked hard to get it right. I hope the rest of your travels around NZ were... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights during a busy time, and our room was right beside main road to glendue bay. Who would have guessed traffic could be so persistent day & night. Add to this the party goers returning late at night and noise was an issue when trying to sleep. Our room was long & narrow with a sloping ceiling... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Caroline for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. Yes there are two weeks (Christmas/New Years) in Wanaka that become very loud day and night and cause issues for myself as well. I do hope this didn't effect you too much. The south room can get stuffy in very hot weather i am sorry... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Our room was exactly as pictured. It is comfortable with very good bed and quality linens. Everything worked. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast good. Location is excellent – close enough to walk to town yet away from the bustle. Very clean and quiet. Excellent value. Very good WiFi.

Helpful?
Thank DAS102
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am so happy to hear you had a good time with us and Wanaka. I hope the rest of your travels were enjoyable as well. Thanks! Regards, Claire More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

We recently stayed two nights in a King Room at this lodge. Claire, the hostess was fantastic, so helpful and hospitable. The lodge is gorgeous, beautifully appointed and in a gorgeous location. I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank annaley2015
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Hello Annaley, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am so pleased you had a good time here with us and in Wanaka. All the best. Kind regards, Claire More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

My partner and I loved Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, Claire was amazing and went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. There was a great atmosphere and the room and facilities were fantastic, the place has a cozy, homey feel about it, we loved the fire place! We will be staying here again next time we... More 

Helpful?
Thank MissChardy
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks Chardy, I am glad you both enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you here. As you got to enjoy the winter side of Wanaka, please come back soon and enjoy the Summer side, it's already got the feel it will be a good one. Take care. Claire More 

Yamba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

I stayed here with my friend a few weeks ago after staying at many backpackers in New Zealand and it was beautiful! Can not fault a single thing! The room was amazing and the bed was huge, we were very appreciative of the little things such as free WiFi, towels and laundry services. Brekky was great and the spa outside... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ebonie P
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I am so glad you both had a good stay with us and got to enjoy all we had to offer. I hope the rest of your travels were great. Come back soon. Warm regards, Claire More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

This review is long overdue, but I stayed here with a friend while on a limited trip to Australia and New Zealand in early 2013. When we arrived in Wanaka, we learned the road up to Franz Josef washed out at Arthur's Pass and we were stuck. While we were disappointed that we were stranded, the owners (who were lovely),... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sixdown
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Hello, I am so glad you had such a good time when you were here. I was not here but I would like to say thank you for your review and we still aim to help out guests as much as we can. Take care. Kind regards, Claire More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile

This place is like a home away from home. Thank you Claire for looking after us. The rooms are comfortable and the facilities well maintained. Great base for a family ski holiday. Good range of accomodation from self-contained cottages to B&B.

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Mark for your review. I am so glad you and the family had such a good time here with us and up the mountains. Hope to see you again. Warm regards, Claire More 

Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 via mobile

January 2015 visit. Very clean and very large room and bath. About as far of a walk as I'd like from town. Thankfully the sunset was quite late. Could tell that the manager was not the owner, not the same level of care. Loan of two bikes was nice but only knew about them having read in prior reviews. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PCBCool
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you felt I was detached, didn't mean at all to come across that way as I like to make my guests feel at home and relaxed. I always aim to give all my guests the highest level of service at all times. It was a shame the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#5 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 19 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#4 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#9 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#7 of 56 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay