We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Special Rate
$200 (NZD)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    196
    39
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
153
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (247)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My partner and I loved Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, Claire was amazing and went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. There was a great atmosphere and the room and facilities were fantastic, the place has a cozy, homey feel about it, we loved the fire place! We will be staying here again next time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yamba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my friend a few weeks ago after staying at many backpackers in New Zealand and it was beautiful! Can not fault a single thing! The room was amazing and the bed was huge, we were very appreciative of the little things such as free WiFi, towels and laundry services. Brekky was great and the spa outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is long overdue, but I stayed here with a friend while on a limited trip to Australia and New Zealand in early 2013. When we arrived in Wanaka, we learned the road up to Franz Josef washed out at Arthur's Pass and we were stuck. While we were disappointed that we were stranded, the owners (who were lovely),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Hello, I am so glad you had such a good time when you were here. I was not here but I would like to say thank you for your review and we still aim to help out guests as much as we can. Take care. Kind regards, Claire More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

This place is like a home away from home. Thank you Claire for looking after us. The rooms are comfortable and the facilities well maintained. Great base for a family ski holiday. Good range of accomodation from self-contained cottages to B&B.

Was this review helpful? Yes
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Mark for your review. I am so glad you and the family had such a good time here with us and up the mountains. Hope to see you again. Warm regards, Claire More 

Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

January 2015 visit. Very clean and very large room and bath. About as far of a walk as I'd like from town. Thankfully the sunset was quite late. Could tell that the manager was not the owner, not the same level of care. Loan of two bikes was nice but only knew about them having read in prior reviews. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you felt I was detached, didn't mean at all to come across that way as I like to make my guests feel at home and relaxed. I always aim to give all my guests the highest level of service at all times. It was a shame the... More 

Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Although only one night, we loved our brief stay. Claire at the front desk was lovely and helpful. We had the place to ourselves which was a treat. Property is beautifully kept and close to downtown Wanaka and the lake. Our room was upstairs and cosy and comfortable. We certainly appreciated being able to do laundry and were sorry not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Hello Allyson, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Although a short visit I am so happy you enjoyed yourself. Next time you will have to come for longer. All the best, Claire More 

Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

My husband and I spent two nights in Wanaka and enjoyed this rustic place. We stayed in the lodge and our room was a good size; the bathroom a little small but manageable. This place has lodge rooms and cottages opening to a small central yard. As a result, it can be a little noisy in the evening if folks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Hello Lynne, Thank you for your review, it means a lot that you took the time to do it. I am so glad to here you enjoyed your stay with us while exploring Wanaka, although sorry for the noise from other guests. I do hope the rest of your travels were good. All the best, Claire More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

This place is lovely, but it's right on the main road into Wanaka, so it's noisy, especially in the front rooms (and the cottage, I think). The wifi went out while we were there -- not a big problem for us, but it was for others. Host was very helpful about everything. Don't count on using their bikes for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you found it too noisy to really enjoy our place here. The bikes are serviced regularly, so are in working order. I am in the process of getting new seats though. The wifi is up and running better than ever now. I am glad you enjoyed my breakfast and I do... More 

Pittsburgh,Pa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We had a lovely room in the lodge. Bed was comfortable and had a nicely appointed bathroom with a large shower Located a longish walk or short drive to restaurants. With a satisfying breakfast provided, this makes a good choice when visiting Wanaka

Was this review helpful? Yes
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am glad you had a nice time with and enjoyed the breakfast. I do hope the rest of your NZ travels were good. Warm regards, Claire More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

This accommodation is a two minute drive from Wanaka and a 3 minute walk to the lake. The self catering cottages are gorgeous, great beds and nice bathrooms. Laundry on site. The only downside is they are not very private or quiet as they all face the grassed lawn. Privacy screens between the cottages would make the place perfect. An... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
evansteam, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Tripellen for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the walk through station park to the lake, i try to do it every day because it is so peaceful and beautiful. Thank you for your remarks on privacy, although i think screens would effect the feel of when you walk out onto the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 19 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#5 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
3.7 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#10 of 56 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay