We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Edgewater

#7 of 19 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edgewater
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Edgewater
Add Photo

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    210
    133
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
109
193
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (403)
  • Mar-May only
    (120)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
There are newer reviews for Edgewater
See the most recent reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great location, friendly service, unit was very spacious with great kitchen and dining area, sitting room, washing machine and dryer included. Didn't eat at the restaurant but the coffee was good and the menu looked great. Would book in here again, thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Frieda, Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater. We're pleased you had such a nice time. It sounds like you stayed in one of our suites which offers great amenities, including the kitchenette and washer/drier - the latter being particularly handy on a holiday! Looking forward to welcoming you again to Edgewater. Hopefully you'll have... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What better location than on the lake edge! Our room had a perfect view, was clean and comfy with a good selection of teas & coffee. Bar / Café area very pleasant setting with an open fire place and that great lake view. Staff were friendly and helpful, with plenty of information about what to do in the area. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Hi Kiwi Flyer Thanks for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The Wineglass Cafe, with its roaring fire and lake view is a nice spot, and you also enjoyed our lakefront walk to heart of Wanaka. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards Trish More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at Edgewater for 4 nights as part of a skiing/wine touring holiday. On the plus side - reasonably priced, close to the ski fields, the room was clean, big, had reasonable kitchen facilities (hot plates, small fridge, microwave) and had a laundry in the 1 bedroom suite. Nice walk into town (15 minutes) around the lake. Less good -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Julie Great to have you stay with us and sounds like you enjoyed the ski/wine combo. I am sorry about the overhead noise you experienced. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Trish P. S. Spring skiing is great at present! More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in August 2013, and thought the hotel was fine...and the location spectacular. The hotel has a bit of a "ski lodge" feel to it -- a central building with restaurant, reception, etc., and the rooms are more like condos in adjacent buildings. We found the staff to be friendly and knowledgeable (especially the concierge). And... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater. It is a great location and I'm pleased you enjoyed the Wineglass Cafe. We appreciate you comments about our concierge, George. He brings a wealth of information about our area. As you would have realised we're still enjoying the ski season in Wanaka hence the ski lodge... More 

Bacolod, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The location is great. The view of the lake any time of the day is wonderful. However, maybe you can find that in other hotels as well. My concern is the room. Although it is spacious, it really is just OK..considering the price. A little renovation wouldn't hurt. :) so next time, maybe I'll look for other hotels in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia ora Thanks for taking the time to share your impressions of Edgewater. The location is very special and unique within Wanaka, offering uninterrupted access to the lakefront. We aim to refurbish regularly and trust that by the time you come back to Wanaka we will have completed our next round of refurbishments. Kind regards Trish More 

Ahmedabad, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We decided to spend a night at the Edgewater en route Queenstown while on our honeymoon. This hotel has an excellent location but apart from that there is really nothing on offer. To our surprise, even though they were well aware that we were on our honeymoon, the hotel didn't even have the basic courtesy to at least put in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora Further to your review we’ve analysed all our guest stays during March and unfortunately, without further detail, we are unable to identify your visit and thus investigate details further to more fully respond. However I can confirm that during the month of March our review showed that we had no guests from India where we knew those guests... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Really disappointed. Photos are misleading - the hotel is 3 star at best and needs a complete renovation to bring it out of the 1980's. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbours, the "kitchenette" consists of a hot plate and a bar fridge, and our room had a really bad odour and smelled like the cleaners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Mezz We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay and hope that your experience won’t deter you from continuing to enjoy Wanaka in the future. As you mentioned you did change rooms which we were very happy to offer to you in the circumstances, though the two piece musical group and vocalist played from 9.30pm until... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed on several occasions and will do again. I negotiated a for a multi night stay and was satisfied with our room. The hotel is lovely, although not new, it is still a lovely place to stay. Upon check out however, I was completely taken by surprise. When I went to pay the account by Visa, I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Harry and Heather Thanks for taking the time to make this review. With regards to the credit card surcharge it is unfortunate you were taken by surprise as it was indicated on your booking confirmation, advertised at reception and we also accept EFTPOS debt card transfer (which would have avoided that charge). As it happens it is also stated... More 

Wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful location, good service, rooms are small and not set up for doing any work for those of us compelled to do some work while on holiday - ie little room for working on laptop, what space there is sits in front of large mirror - when you are in a place like this I would far rather observe the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora from Edgewater, Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us. As you may appreciate, by our location on the lakefront, and within Wanaka, that the hotel and room design was generally for leisure guests in a pre-internet age. It is a shame that work needs to come with you but a sign of the modern... More 

Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We've been staying at the Edgewater at least once a year over the last 5 to 6 years. Always make a mental note to look for an alternative but end up at Edgewater. Why? Excellent lakefront location within walking distance to town. Property is a little tired but suits the needs of family and this is made up for by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora from Edgewater Thanks for taking time to provide us with your feedback. You make a good point about recognising our many repeat guests and I am sorry on this occasion it seems we may have not recognised your many past visits. We know guest history from the name the booking is made under and/or guests’ home address. So... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (120)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay