We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Edgewater

4.0 of 5 Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Hotel website
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgewater
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Edgewater
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    105
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
92
149
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (323)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for a night. Place was good. We had a lakeview room which overlooked the green lawns and the lake. Place was nice and the room even included a washing machine though we did not need one. The room had everything we needed to spend the night. The only con was with wifi which was limited and then had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We drove from Queenstown to Wanaka on 31/10 and came to stay in Edgewater after our visit to Puzzling World. We asked for a lake side room and were accorded one on the 1st floor. The luggage was smoothly shifted by porter. We soon realised that this was more of a resort and not merely a simple hotel room. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richland, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in a suite because only thing available but got a great rate. Had washer/dryer which was great to do laundry - caution dryer doesn't work well - but if you have time to line dry - it's no problem. We got 3 small loads done - which got us thru the rest of our trip. Close to town and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Hi Ezflyer1 Thanks for sharing your experiences with us at Edgewater. I'm sorry the dryer wasn't as rapid as you may have expected but pleased you enjoyed the other aspects Edgewater offered. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Trish More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel has a great location right on Lake Wanaka which is breath taking. Compared to some of the hotels we had stayed in during our trip to the South Island of NZ this hotel is quite large and hence less personal. Our room was on the first floor over looking the lake. Trying to get luggage upstairs is not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm R Thanks for your review and I'm pleased you enjoyed our location on the lake shore. I am very sorry about the balcony door issue. I can understand your disappointment. You'll be pleased to know that we've a proto-type refurbished guest room already completed at the hotel. This is in place so that we can finalise the appearance,... More

Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Edgewater really seems to have got it right -- a beautiful setting, lovely rooms with everything you need including magnificent outlook, friendly and helpful staff. It's all there. If we left a couple of plates dirty, when we returned they'd been washed and put away, and the bed re-made [even though we'd already made it more casually] -- that's what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear 2ActiveKiwis60s Thanks for taking the time to write this review of Edgewater. It sounds like you had a super time with us, so we're thrilled. The baked-to-order scones are a real favourite with both hotel and day guests, but indeed they do take 20 minutes to bake. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Trish More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a 1 bedroom suite with a pull out couch and a cot with bedding for our baby. Very spacious and kept very clean. Great dining facilities. Incredible breakfasts (especially the borage honey). Gorgeous views, and lake walks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora Thanks for taking the time to write this review about Edgewater. We're pleased you enjoyed the spacious suite, views and lake walk. Sounds like the borage honey is a true hit on the breakfast menu. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind regards Trish More

New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we stayed at Edgewater a year or two ago, we loved it, the comfort, view, service, location. This weekend we went only for a meal. And WHAT a MEAL! I had fresh salmon salad - and this had to be the best salmon I have EVER tasted, it was like sunshine in the mouth, it was so beautiful. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear BeattieNewZealand We're delighted you enjoyed the salmon so much! It sounded sublime. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Edgewater. We'll see you back again, no doubt. Kind regards Trish More

Bacchus Marsh Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

26 members of my group were booked in here for the night of Thursday 6th November. A few weeks prior I contacted the Food and Beverage Manager asking if it was possible that we could have gourmet BBQ packs and enjoy that by the lake. A couple of days later I was contacted by ANZCRO NZ Travel Wholesaler that I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Noddy 47 We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and explain the circumstances of your visit to Wanaka. We were very sorry this situation developed but pleased you visited Wanaka and also that we were able to share just a little of Edgewater with you. I've passed your comments directly onto Fiona. She will appreciate them.... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our self drive holiday was designed to stay in the best accommodation we could find. Edgewater was by far the best experience we had with hotels/resorts.The room, view and amenities were excellent. What Edgewater provided that no others could was a far superior staff experience. I had injured my back during our trip and these lovely people, from Reception to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Raymond 169 Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your stay at Edgewater. I'm pleased our team looked after you so well and you enjoyed your time at Edgewater. We trust your back is well on the mend now. Kind regards Trish More

Lincoln
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is made up of a number of blocks which gets away from the large hotel feel. It's right on Lake Wanaka and the town is an easy and pleasant stroll away along the lakeside. We had a suite overlooking the lake which was very peaceful and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is fine although the staff were not aware... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Lemmus Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us at Edgewater. I am sorry about the discrepancy over your breakfast inclusion but pleased it was rectified quickly. Our layout does gives guests a feeling of spaciousness. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Trish More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay