We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Edgewater

#5 of 19 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Edgewater
Add Photo Write a Review

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    222
    140
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
115
198
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (422)
  • Mar-May only
    (120)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
Mt. Cook Village, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had a great stay. I spent two nights at Edgewater resort. My room was spacious, clean and tidy. I was excited to find my bathroom had a bath(with a faucet that lets the water in the center so the hot water dispersed evenly), a shower (with TWO?! showerheads) and a kitchenette. The view overlooked the front lawn and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Edgewater is in a glorious location in Wanaka, full views of the lake and mountains, lovely easy walk along the lake into town. Have stayed many times and the quality and cleanliness of the whole facility has never faulted. All the staff are very friendly, helpful and genuinely enjoy working at Edgewater which is pleasant to be around.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved the atmosphere at Edgewater. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and clean with an amazing view & very comfy bed. Free wifi, gotta love that. Unfortunately just not walking distance to the restaurants in town. Would absolutely stay here again though!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a location - right on the lake with wonderful views. All the staff were so welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to help. After our crazy early morning skiing starts, it was great to be able to just walk to the bar/restaurant to have dinner, or just self-cater in our room. Our apartment was warm, clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora We appreciate your comments about Edgewater, especially about our helpful, friendly staff....all part of our Southern warmth. We hope you enjoyed the skiing. It has been fabulous over recent weeks. See you again in the future. Kind regards Trish More 

Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location in Wanaka. Quiet, clean, warm and in a stunning location by the lake. Nothing over the top in service and luxury. It was just right. Good landing spot after a long and tiring day of skiing. We got a two bedroom two storey apartment with a double bed upstairs and two single beds downstairs and a reasonably comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora Thank you for your review of Edgewater. Sounds like you had some epic days on the slopes. Hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Trish More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location in a quieter area, with access to a great walking path along the waterfront. You can walk into town or further out, which also has a detour from the path to a winery. Good restaurant or easy drive to the main part of Wanaka. Beautiful views!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Beth M We appreciate your very informative review and pleased you enjoyed our lakefront location. Hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Trish More 

Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On route from Queens town to Fox Glazier we had a one night stay at the stunning Edgewater, Fantastic view of the lake from our room, which was excellent, the staff couldn't do more to make my wife and i welcome, fantastic variety of food which was very good, Only complaint we could only stay for one night. We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us. Your feedback is really valuable. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New Zealand. Kind regards Trish More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall we had a great stay. Only comment is that the sound insulation between units isn't great. Try and get an upstairs unit. We were right on the lake, absolutely perfect. The noise probably isn't normally too much of an issue but we obviously had some kids upstairs and parents that let them run riot for a couple of hours.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Hi Riverrun_2372 We appreciate your review which cover a number of areas about Edgewater. Thanks for your feedback on our time and the Wineglass cafe. Your comments about the insulation and pillows are noted. As you'd no doubt realised we're in the midst of the Australian and New Zealand school holidays. Enjoy the rest of your trip. Kind regards Trish More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great for a quick stopover in Wanaka with 3 children. Great 2 bedroom apartment with nice lake views. A bit out of town but if possible I'd eat in town. Food at the cafe did not live up to the other aspects of facility. Not much to complain about really.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear TomTowoomba Thanks for your feedback and sounds like your family enjoyed their quick stop over. Hopefully you'll be able to come back in the future and enjoy Edgewater during other seasons too. Kind regards Trish More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Extremely tired. Bathroom with Lino floors. Very retro. That said staff were very friendly and welcoming. In need of a major dress up to match the location. Each room appears to have it's own Water Heater so if travelling as a family quick showers are the unfortunate order of the day even in very cold conditions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Hi Chester2003 Thanks for your feedback. You'll be pleased to know that our guest rooms are either in the process of have already received an interior refurbishment. It includes new carpet, new curtains, painting throughout, new lighting, new occasional furniture, new bedding and throws, new cushions. It is a staged refurbishment which will be completed by June 2016. Hopefully you'll... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

169 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 19 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#4 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#2 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay