We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tempest Arms

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Tempest Arms
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is busy. So busy you need to book. The owners are helpful and pleasant. The food is amazing. Fantastic choice. Good value when you consider the quality of the food. Book. You'll be glad you did.

Helpful?
Thank Butterlips
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

THANK YOU so much for your FAB review cheered us all up !! its stopped raining and the sun is shining! Triple whammy! See you soon! More 

Catterick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited for lunch and were able to go straight to our table, which was just as well it was very busy and therefore seating was limited in the very warm comfortable surroundings. We were shown to our tables and I was surprised given everything I had heard about the place, that no-one offered to take our coats, which were bulky... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank J
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

What a disappointing review to receive and as certain comments are in correct, I thought best to leave this response some what shoter. I will apologise to your sister this week as I believe she is booked in for lunch. I am sorry that you may not visit us again, and for the lack of traditional serving standards used. With... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Came here on the 9th Jan for my birthday, spent a night in room 19 which had the hot tub was an amazing night away X the room was cosy and the hot tub really did top it off. Relaxing in the warm water while watching the snow fall on the fields around listening to the stream flow by really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stacey P
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Wow sound super I'm booking in! Thank you for your lovely review we are thrilled! See you again very soon! Martin and the team More 

Wetherby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staying with friends just outside Skipton at their weekend home. We booked a table for four for mid afternoon. We were disappointed that the roast beef and Yorkshire puddings had been sold out, but we were happy with the alternative choices, but nevertheless a couple of us had our hearts set on a traditional Sunday roast. We were not staying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Decoyduck60
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

it is a problem but only now and then and we are happy to reserve a roast for you is you call in the morning. So pleased you enjoyed you meals and for taking the time to write a review albeit only a three dot rating !! :( See you again very soon x More 

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When we checked into our room, we were surprised we had been given an upstairs room with a very steep narrow staircase when travelling with an infant. This made it very difficult to go to/from our room. The room itself - could have been cleaner, required a good hoover and dust. The bathroom was nice and spacious sadly the towel... More 

Helpful?
Thank taurean28
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

WHAT!? WHEN!? Are you sure it was here! Sorry but I and me team don't remember any of the comments mentioned being made to us? is it a kiss and tell review? Please do call again and hopefully we will get it right for you and the little one. More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at this fantastic place twice... In each of the suites. The accommodation is superb, high quality decoration, relaxing environment and brilliant hot tubs. The pub is great, the service is very friendly and courteous, with an adorable pub dog. The food is really good and value for money. The surroundings are a delight, we went for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

THANK YOU so much for your brilliant review just a kiss and no tell cheers! More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the tempest arms on recommendation, and we were not disappointed the food was Excellent,good portions it has a warm friendly atmosphere and the staff are are very friendly and helpful, it is well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank S_G190729
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

And so are you a DELIGHT! See you again very soon! More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked as a birthday surprise we stayed in room 19. We have stopped at the Tempest many times over the years and always had a 5 Star stay but this time we feel the room is only 4 stars. Hot tub great, bed comfy but no where near the size of room 13 the bathroom is ok. For the price... More 

Helpful?
Thank WhatNoBiscuits
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Oh but for a horses shoe eh!? We still place coffee bags, hot chocolate, water, for all those who are worrying! Breakfast too rushed?? You just cant win......................... Ref toiletries changed about three years ago! Hope you are back soon...........best wishes the Team Tempest More 

Darwen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked several months ago and stayed last night. On arrival it was very difficult to park and had to wait about 15 mins before a parking space became available, this is not a pop at the parking facilities but more shows the popularity of the place. We booked a room, No 11 with a hot tub. On arrival a friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank J A
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Plumber has been all in order now! Blooming drains! Thank you for your great review and hope to see you again very soon! More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to the Tempest arms on many occasions and really enjoy the sunday lunch. We met up with friends as they have not been before the table was booked for 3 and we were all ready to order our beef sunday lunch as it is always so good but the waitress said they were out of sunday lunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank nb7x
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Hey I'd drive for one of our pies! And walk for a Steak pudding! Thank you for your review, honest, true and see you soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elslack
3.7 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous at Skipton
Rendezvous at Skipton
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
18.1 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
23.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel & Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities