We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Elslack hotels

The Tempest Arms

Save Saved
You added The Tempest Arms to your Saves list
Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Hotel amenities
The Tempest Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    75
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
64
239
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at this delightful hotel from 12th September for 3 nights! We stayed in room 16 what a beautiful room !! We were Overwhelmed with how every detail had been thought of from chocolates on the bed to dressings gowns hanging up waiting for us. Flapjacks and a wide array of teas/coffees were also supplied in the room. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watford Herts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited this pub/hotel for dinner recently and it was very busy for a Wednesday evening. There were some children who were rather loud which made it feel a little like a Toby Carvery/Brewers Fayre type of place but the decor was very nice and the staff were friendly and helpful. I had duck breast which was very nice. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Please don't worry about them they did get served and enjoyed all it really depends on what you order and on this occasion they had ordered the steak pudding which does need that extra time!! I am so pleased you enjoyed your evening and sorry about the noise but we do welcome families and I suppose the noise of chattering... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here on the 10th September my husband had booked the hot tub suite for my 30th birthday. I had high expectations as we knew it was a busy and well loved place. We checked in and on arriving in the room we found it was not that clean. I'm not a fussy person so wouldn't allow this to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Well I suppose its true! You only get one chance to shine! Sorry to hear you have decided you wont be back, thus not giving us a chance to put it right! If you do however decide differently please call myself on 01282 842450 I would be very happy to talk through your comments and hopefully you may like to... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just spent 4 days at the Tempest Arms and cannot praise it enough. It was really very good, the rooms were lovely quite large and spotlessly clean, the only fault if it can be called a fault was that the shower was a little on the small side, but did not cause us any problems really. The meals were lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

THANK YOU so much for your lovely review! We got it right for you but sadly not for the lady above! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and certainly enjoyed looking at your super cars and of course many of our customers made extremely favorable comments! Thank you and I do hope you call again very soon! Lots... More

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Having just enjoyed a weeks holiday in Fuerteventura and driving back home from Leeds and Bradford airport as it was going up to 18:00 we were ready for something to eat and drink and I'm glad we did we had two starters two mains Devine is the word I'm looking for the pan roasted partridge Brest delicious as was everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Well we will see you soon! THANK YOU though for your great review it really makes all the difference! I will certainly pass on your comments to our staff! Lots of best wishes from us all at the Tempest! More

Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Called for lunch mid week having passed by previously and noticed the number of cars parked, the food was excellent and be advised to be hungry as they do not use small plates, this is defiantly not a burger joint and though not cheap it is good value considering the quality and quantity of the food which is freshly prepared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Thrilled to bits and thank you for your lovely review! See you very soon! The Tempest Team! More

Cheshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Attended my son and (now) daughter-in-law's wedding last weekend. Arrived on Friday and made very welcome! Complimentary cakes for guests! Scrummy cakes! Our room was brilliant! Went down to the wedding venue to help with preparations. The Tempest staff just blended in, quietly and efficiently setting tables and obliging any requests regarding moving of tables etc. Evening meal was really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Well THANK YOU so much we are chuffed to bits! We enjoyed it too! What a super day and a super bunch of guests too! It takes a great deal of time to get it right and when our guests take the time to right such kind words it makes all the difference! So once again CHEERS! From Martin, Veronica... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellant country hotel / pub. Great accommodation, superb food and afantastic selection of real ales. What more do you want? I normally come here with a group of mates for a walking holiday but this time my wife decided that she would like to see what all the fuss is about. She loved it, however, the walking trip will still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

The walking is FAB round here and certainly helps many with the selection of great ales on your return, so thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you all & the wife again very soon! Martin and the gang! More

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really, really wanted to love this place, had booked as a mini honeymoon following our wedding earlier this year. My husband had arranged with the hotel flowers and a bottle of fizz to be in the room on arrival which the hotel had gladly arranged, however they had said they couldn't accommodate petals on the bed and made no special... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Oh dear we are too! I remember you both well and served you on both occasions so the short comings could be held only over me! I hadn't realised that I hadn't made you feel special I do remember chatting to you both and i am sorry that you left a little disappointed. I shall certainly take up the issues... More

co durham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

to start the girl on reception was very welcoming it has a cosy feel about the place .the room was very clean and tidy we couldn't fault anything at all .the hot tub was a luxury and very private with a stream out of the back of it !the food was delicious I had the lamb it was cooked to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and for taking the time to tell us via 'Trip Advisor' We are thrilled! We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Thank you from us all at the Tempest! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Tempest Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Address: Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Elslack, Skipton, Yorkshire

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)