We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Elslack hotels

The Tempest Arms

Save Saved
You added The Tempest Arms to your Saves list
Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
The Tempest Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    76
    30
    15
    7
See reviews for
64
242
4
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (468)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (115)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
Leeds
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Four of us has a Sunday roast an while their wasn't anything poor about it, it just wasn't anything special. The veg that came with the meal (an when I say veg a bowl of carrots nothing else) seemed a touch different , I expected a mix of veg. Also got brought some source for the table an the mustard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelled 17 miles to visit this restaurant as we had driven past on several occasions and were impressed by the reviews, so we booked a table for Sunday Lunch at 4pm. Table not ready when we arrived but were seated by around 4.10, not too bad, but tried to order Deep Fried Brie for Starter and Roast Beef for main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Husband and I stayed in a hot tub room for one night. Room very nice, clean, good decor, comfortable, bathroom tiles were a bit chipped and a spotlight out. It would have been nice to have some toiletries with conditioner rather than a bottle of showers gel nailed to the wall like a travel lodge. There were robes provided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed a very luxurious stay in suite 13 with the hot tub last weekend for my birthday. The food was simply amazing , and the customer service very professional and attentive. Staff here obviously work hard long hours and aim to please. The decor and little extras make all the difference, high spec decor too with huge beds. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

THANK YOU so much for your lovely fab review we are chuffed to bits that you had a great stay and certainly look forward to seeing you again very soon! Ps We are in Yorkshire! But only just!! Lots of best wishes from all the team at the TEMPEST ARMS ! More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here the day after our wedding, to get away from the craziness and relax a little! I did so much research in the area looking for something really luxurious for a special occasion and I chose right with the Tempest Arms. We went with one of the rooms with a Jacuzzi and stand alone bath in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Cheers and thank you very much for you lovely review, we are thrilled that we where able to give you such a special time and such lovely memories! I hope that your honeymoon was splendid and we wish you many, many happy years ahead and look forward to seeing you both again very soon! With all best wishes Martin, Veronica... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We stayed at this delightful hotel from 12th September for 3 nights! We stayed in room 16 what a beautiful room !! We were Overwhelmed with how every detail had been thought of from chocolates on the bed to dressings gowns hanging up waiting for us. Flapjacks and a wide array of teas/coffees were also supplied in the room. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

What a perfectly lovely review and THANK YOU for taking the time to post one! It has made our day and certainly sent us all off with a big smile this morning! So thank you Emily and your partner of course! may I add that you where a pleasure to serve and always smiling! It must be catching! We look... More

Watford Herts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We visited this pub/hotel for dinner recently and it was very busy for a Wednesday evening. There were some children who were rather loud which made it feel a little like a Toby Carvery/Brewers Fayre type of place but the decor was very nice and the staff were friendly and helpful. I had duck breast which was very nice. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Please don't worry about them they did get served and enjoyed all it really depends on what you order and on this occasion they had ordered the steak pudding which does need that extra time!! I am so pleased you enjoyed your evening and sorry about the noise but we do welcome families and I suppose the noise of chattering... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the 10th September my husband had booked the hot tub suite for my 30th birthday. I had high expectations as we knew it was a busy and well loved place. We checked in and on arriving in the room we found it was not that clean. I'm not a fussy person so wouldn't allow this to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Well I suppose its true! You only get one chance to shine! Sorry to hear you have decided you wont be back, thus not giving us a chance to put it right! If you do however decide differently please call myself on 01282 842450 I would be very happy to talk through your comments and hopefully you may like to... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Just spent 4 days at the Tempest Arms and cannot praise it enough. It was really very good, the rooms were lovely quite large and spotlessly clean, the only fault if it can be called a fault was that the shower was a little on the small side, but did not cause us any problems really. The meals were lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

THANK YOU so much for your lovely review! We got it right for you but sadly not for the lady above! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and certainly enjoyed looking at your super cars and of course many of our customers made extremely favorable comments! Thank you and I do hope you call again very soon! Lots... More

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Having just enjoyed a weeks holiday in Fuerteventura and driving back home from Leeds and Bradford airport as it was going up to 18:00 we were ready for something to eat and drink and I'm glad we did we had two starters two mains Devine is the word I'm looking for the pan roasted partridge Brest delicious as was everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review

Well we will see you soon! THANK YOU though for your great review it really makes all the difference! I will certainly pass on your comments to our staff! Lots of best wishes from us all at the Tempest! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Address: Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Elslack, Skipton, Yorkshire

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay