We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Stowmarket B&Bs / inns

Verandah House

Save Saved
You added Verandah House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 Ipswich Road, Stowmarket IP14 1BD, England
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Verandah House
Ranked #2 of 8 Stowmarket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stowmarket
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
20
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Found this hotel from friends in the area and wasnt dissapointed.. Very welcoming owners who showed us to our room,gave us our key and we could come and go as we please!! Unfortunately our 4 year old daughter was sick all night from something she ate and had a rough night cause of it.. Im giving 5 stars as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Dear Jason Thank you so much for your kind comments. I do hope your little girl is feeling a lot better now! We understand that children can get very sick when they have eaten something not good, and it happens, we have children ourselves!! We really appreciated you letting us know of your little one being poorly. It was a... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Theres not a huge choice of B& B in Stowmarket so we ended up trying Verandah house. It is a lovely building with gardens. Parking is a little 'tight' But I think they do their best with that. The owner was very thorough in showing us our room and bathroom and explaining in great detail the workings of the bathroom,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments on our house and rooms, this means alot to us. As you know it is a very old house and we have brought it back to the comfort with cleanliness you see today. Regarding the breakfasts, as you know it is of high quality food produced locally. We always start our guests... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My mother and I stayed here a few weeks ago whilst visiting family for her birthday. The room was a lovely size and was very clean and homely. We had a lovely walk in shower and big bathroom. The room was absolutely fantastic overall. The breakfast was great too and the owners were both very welcoming and polite. We really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review - we really appreciate it. It was lovely having you to stay with us . We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Stowmarket Gianfranco More

San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I've stayed at Verandah House a few times. It's a strange little place. Well situated for Stowmarket, and the (very) few restaurants in the town. But the owner is very cost-conscious, and clearly makes cuts wherever he can, and seems proud of it. The breakfasts are quite sparse - I've had to go to the kitchen and ask for proper... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Dear Sir We have read your comments with great curiosity! We have looked back at our records over the last 6 months and unfortunately we do not appear to have had anyone staying with us from California!! Whilst we have been away ourselves for two weeks at the end of July, we only offered a room only basis which was... More

Milton Keynes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have stayed at the Verandah in the past but not for several years. Pleased to say that standards are still very high. Accomodation was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Unfortunately owners were away so breakfast was taken at local Wetherspoons 5 minutes walk away. Also the many changes of level in the property made life a little tricky for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate your comments. Even though we were away we are so glad that you were looked after, and it was handy for us to have the Willow Tree so near to us to provide breakfast for you. I am glad you thought that our place was spotless. We realise that it isn't always... More

Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our family have just spent the weekend at Verandah House,to attend a wedding.Our rooms were very clean, beds very comfy, very large en-suites,superb breakfast,and hosts very accomadating.Outside garden to relax in. We would recommend Verandah House,also it is in a good location,and also has car parking which is a bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I know that it is always a bonus to have a car park especially as we are located so near to the town centre. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Kindest Regards Gianfranco and Suzanne Neroni More

Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

just spent one night at Verandah House with a friend enjoying the delights of Suffolk. Stayed in a twin room (room 2). Extremely comfortable and clean, separate shower room and toilet. Excellent breakfast lots of choice lovely hosts. Lovely walled garden to enjoy. If visiting Suffolk we would recommend. so go on, book now.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Dear Ladies Really appreciate your lovely comments, we enjoyed having you stay with us, even though for a short time. l hope it won't be too long before you come and visit Stowmarket again. Kindest Regards Suzanne and Gianfranco More

Ouistreham Riva Bella
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Five of us have just spent three nights at Verandah House. What a lovely place to be! A really friendly welcome and spotless bedrooms, all well equipped to meet our every need. WiFi easy to use, too. Suzanne greeted us each morning, so lovely to have a friendly hostess who attended to our every need. Gianfranco cooks the most amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Dear Julia Thank you for your kind comments. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and we are delighted that you all had a good time staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kindest Regards Suzanne and Gianfranco More

Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had a most enjoyable stay at Verandah House we were in a party of eight friends. When we arrived we had a very warm welcome and were personaly shown to our rooms which were spotless. We had breakfast and evening meals during our stay. The food was first class, very tasty and hot as was the breakfasts. Individualy cooked... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely comments. Our son was also very chuffed that he was mentioned in the kind review. It is always a pleasure to look after our wonderful guests. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Verandah House and we look forward to your return! Kindest Regards Suzanne and Gianfranco More

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Travelled to the area for just a few days. Very large sized room with very comfortable bed and all other facilities. Suzanne and Gianfranco were most welcoming and very sociable. Easy to find on the edge of Stowmarket, very convenient. Hope to return some time soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Dear Madame Thank you very much for you kind comments. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your short stay with us at Verandah House and also appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again! Kindest Regards Suzanne & Gianfranco More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Verandah House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandah House

Address: 29 Ipswich Road, Stowmarket IP14 1BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stowmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Verandah House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Verandah House Stowmarket, Suffolk

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay