We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Verandah House

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Stowmarket | Suffolk, Stowmarket IP14 1BD, England
Verandah House
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
20
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have a very good time in the hotel, the hotel is not far way from the city. The owner are very friendly, very nice rooms and the breakfast was perfect for us. Next time, if we have the next business trip,we will go as well to the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

We are so glad you had a wonderful time here at Verandah House and we look forward to your visit again when you are in the area. Kindest Regards Suzanne More 

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here while on a training course and had to leave early each morning before breakfast time, the owners prepared me a packed breakfast each day which was much appreciated. my room was lovely, nice and warm and plenty of light, the shower was nice and powerful. overall nothing was too much trouble from the owners.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you liked your packed breakfast. We liked to offer this is our guest has a very early start in the mornings. Kind Regards More 

Peterborough UK
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Stayed here for work last night. Last here 3 years ago and if anything has got better. Brilliant hosts lovely quiet room and excellent breakfast are just a few points that come to mind. It's also nice and central with parking. 5 minutes stroll to the pleasant town (with some nice pubs seek out the Walnut Tree). I don't work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suzanne ', Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We like to welcome back our business clients as well as holiday makers, and it was lovely to see you again. Kindest Regards Suzanne More 

norfolk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

It is very hard to walk the line between being welcoming or intrusive and and Suzanne does it very well, rooms are beautifully clean and my room was quiet despite being on a main road. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice, Very easy walk into town. I can't think of anywhere better I could have stayed. very personal comment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is so appreciated! We try and welcome our guests into our family friendly home, giving consideration to guests privacy and to provide good accommodation and food. Kindest Regards Suzanne More 

Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

I only had two nights here but found Franco and Suzanne attentive and pleasant hosts throughout my stay. Spacious room, ditto ensuite shower etc. Glad to have blankets as I prefer them to duvets. Bed comfy. Breakfasts cooked to order - what a great idea! If you like stronger than average coffee, ask Franco and I am sure he will... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Dear Ruth Thank you for your kind comments, we really appreciate them. I agree the car park is slightly on the small side, however if clients park sensibly it is never normally a problem, we are very lucky to have a carpark available so near the town, and we are also very lucky to have a road beside us that... More 

2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel from friends in the area and wasnt dissapointed.. Very welcoming owners who showed us to our room,gave us our key and we could come and go as we please!! Unfortunately our 4 year old daughter was sick all night from something she ate and had a rough night cause of it.. Im giving 5 stars as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Dear Jason Thank you so much for your kind comments. I do hope your little girl is feeling a lot better now! We understand that children can get very sick when they have eaten something not good, and it happens, we have children ourselves!! We really appreciated you letting us know of your little one being poorly. It was a... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Theres not a huge choice of B& B in Stowmarket so we ended up trying Verandah house. It is a lovely building with gardens. Parking is a little 'tight' But I think they do their best with that. The owner was very thorough in showing us our room and bathroom and explaining in great detail the workings of the bathroom,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments on our house and rooms, this means alot to us. As you know it is a very old house and we have brought it back to the comfort with cleanliness you see today. Regarding the breakfasts, as you know it is of high quality food produced locally. We always start our guests... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My mother and I stayed here a few weeks ago whilst visiting family for her birthday. The room was a lovely size and was very clean and homely. We had a lovely walk in shower and big bathroom. The room was absolutely fantastic overall. The breakfast was great too and the owners were both very welcoming and polite. We really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review - we really appreciate it. It was lovely having you to stay with us . We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Stowmarket Gianfranco More 

San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I've stayed at Verandah House a few times. It's a strange little place. Well situated for Stowmarket, and the (very) few restaurants in the town. But the owner is very cost-conscious, and clearly makes cuts wherever he can, and seems proud of it. The breakfasts are quite sparse - I've had to go to the kitchen and ask for proper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Dear Sir We have read your comments with great curiosity! We have looked back at our records over the last 6 months and unfortunately we do not appear to have had anyone staying with us from California!! Whilst we have been away ourselves for two weeks at the end of July, we only offered a room only basis which was... More 

Milton Keynes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have stayed at the Verandah in the past but not for several years. Pleased to say that standards are still very high. Accomodation was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Unfortunately owners were away so breakfast was taken at local Wetherspoons 5 minutes walk away. Also the many changes of level in the property made life a little tricky for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate your comments. Even though we were away we are so glad that you were looked after, and it was handy for us to have the Willow Tree so near to us to provide breakfast for you. I am glad you thought that our place was spotless. We realise that it isn't always... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question