We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel

A14 Westbound, Haughley, Stowmarket IP14 3PY, England
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    30
    28
    28
    29
See reviews for
32
47
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Nottingham
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel has recently been refurbished and the rooms have been refreshed. There was still paint ordur outside the rooms, but there was no smell in the room. The rooms are very well sized, but the rooms could do with some additional furniture such as a table, sofa bed or desk.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked two nights to see family. Read reviews on here and was a bit worried, because they didn't seem very good. My room was recently revamped and was clean, bright and pleasant and I slept really well. During the stay I spoke to four different staff and they do the hotel credit because all of them were pleasant, cheerful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was a building site during my stay and should never have been in operation at the time. No operational facilities, temporary access route passing through construction areas and an overpowering paint smell in both the room and circulation areas.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Stowmarket hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not good arrived smell off paint and gloss fumes filled the building, and in our room which the smell was very strong, not good when your 7 months pregnant. And I still had to pay full price. Not good

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pleasant stay. The Travelodge was being upgraded so there was a smell of paint but we had been warned about this beforehand and fans had been provided in our room which also helped with the heat. Clean and comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

85.00 for a drab, tired and not terribly clean room - the worst Travelodge I have ever stayed in. 4.95 for a boxed cold breakfast (glad I gave that a miss). I don't mind basic - but the price for a room is just not justified. Staff very friendly, but still cannot get over the fact that this is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media team at Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Sue. Travelodge have an ongoing refurbishment program and we are pleased to confirm that this hotel will be undergoing a refurbishment very soon. We pride ourselves on delivering a great service to our guests and will ensure your feedback is used to improve our service in the future. More 

Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good size rooms seem all to fitted out for disabled guests. Situated close to marina, shops nearby. Car parking on site. Rooms could do with bedside lockers and comfortable chair as no choice but to lie on bed. Good breakfast served buffet style.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South West
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff who couldn't care, corridors that stink and rooms that look like they were last decorated in 1804. My room had the added attraction of insect remains on the wall where someone had taken their frustration out on something with wings and left it smeared across the wall by the bed. Attractive I'm sure you'll agree. The general standard of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We know the importance of offering a clean and comfortable room and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not deliver our usual high standards. As the overall experience you had was not satisfactory please be aware that you can always contact one of our Customer Services Advisors. Thank you again for your... More 

Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love and trust Travelodge and use them often knowing what to expect. However the Ipswich Stowmarket one is not up to Travelodges usual standard. Their refurbishment starts 6th July so I am sure it will be great once done. I would not recommend to go before hand our room was damp and very very smelly.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chiswick London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Travelodge near Stowmarket as it was close to an appointment we had early the next morning. It was advertised on their website as having a new look coming and , when we saw our room we could see why. The bed was comfortable but just about everything else was awful. The room had a cold damp... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media team at Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel Paul. We are sorry to learn of the experienced you had with us. As you rightly said this hotel is still to be refurbished with a new look which is due to happen later in the year. As you encountered a few issues during your stay we would appreciate it... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stowmarket
9.9 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich North Hotel
5.4 mi away
Limes Hotel
Limes Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham Market
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
14.1 mi away
Belstead Brook Hotel
Belstead Brook Hotel
#12 of 22 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#15 of 22 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top