We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Hatton hotels

Governor's Mansion

Ottery Bungalow | Ottery Estate, Hatton, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Governor's Mansion
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hatton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The good: beautiful grounds and gardens, lovely scenery. Very good facilities - tennis court, croquet, bikes, full size beautifully maintained snooker table. Plenty of rooms for lounging,, games, etc. Nice, although limited, walks. Can take 45 min car journey to reservoir. So perfect place to do nothing except play tennis and read, except..... Not so good: although staff are super... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrismanagergm, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

Thank you for all the positive comments made about the Governor's Mansion. The remarks are accurate with regards to “the good: as you refer to the comments”. GM stands proud in the middle of 147 acres of tea and one is not limited to stimulating walks. One can undertake walk to ones hearts content and never be limited? We need... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at the Governor's Mansion for two nights in mid-January 2014 and enjoyed it very much. The location is stunning -- up in the highlands, on a hill in the middle of a tea plantation. The mansion sprawls over a large property with lovely gardens filled with tropical flowers and trees. If you are into gardening, this is the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Franksilva20, General Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks based on the perception of the services and facilities we offer at the Governor's Mansion. We place a lot of importance on how our valued guests experience their stay at the Governor's Mansion. We will continue to make desirable changes to maintain our quality service and enhance the quality offered in every respect. It... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

- Wonderful views overlooking the tea fields from the hotel - Lovely garden - Great staff, which was very flexible and service minded - standard food - Expect a bumpy ride up to and down from the hotel due to the road's poor condition. On our way home, it took our driver about 30 minutes to get us down from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
787christhetraveller, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

We appreciate your valuable remarks. I am sorry to note that you felt the food was standard. We have such an extensive menu and choices available and as you state our staff i.e. client service co-ordinators and chefs are there to meet with your requests. We have looked at the items you have requested and served. It would have benefitted... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It is hard to criticise such a marvellously situated property,it is breathtaking....this combined with it's beautiful garden,and excellent staff make any critique appear churlish...but it has to be said the dinner was truly awful.The quality of the ingredients was poor to say the least,the steak was frankly inedible . As a general comment we would add that Sri Lankan hotels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
787christhetraveller, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

No such person from Kandy Sri Lanka has checked in at the Governor's Mansion. We challenge the person to come forward and offer genuine credentials via Trip Advisor or directly and prove to us all, when you claim you stayed at the GM. You picked the wrong dish altogether. We do not serve steak from Sri Lanka but instead offer... More

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We recently had a one night stay at the Governor's Mansion and this was located in a fairly remote and hard to access location but we were prepared for this and the bumpy roads and enjoyed the whole process as part of discovering and relishing the fact that this is still not a commercial operation overrun by tourists. Once we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
787christhetraveller, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

We thank you for your review of the Governor’s Mansion. We agree with the valued guests that we are very fortunate with the location in an area which is still not overrun by people and commercialized. I am sorry to note that the cuisine was only OK and not up to your expectations? We do cater for many guests from... More

Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This historical hotel has a wonderful position amongst the tea plantations with views to die for and it's own immaculate gardens within the immediate surroundings. We were slightly daunted on arrival not least of all by the terrible access road; there seemed little evidence of repairs promised to previous reviewers. However, we soon forgot this as we were welcomed by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
787christhetraveller, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

Thank you for your genuine review of our boutique hotel. The main road (access road) did become very bad due to some problems road development authority had run into with the earlier contractor. The new contractor has completed 4/5 of the stretch of the main road. There is just 1/5 left to do and we are given to understand the... More

leeds
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
57 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had three nights here over Christmas and it was first rate. The staff were attentive down to the last detail and the food great. The rooms are splendid - we visited several - all different and with lovely views. As others have commented the road to the hotel is not in good shape but this is set to improve... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
787christhetraveller, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

We are pleased to note that the valued guests feel they were well served at the Governor's Mansion. We thrive to improve and enhance our service delivery. Our staff appreciate your positive review and remarks. Look forward to you returning if at all possible. Thank you More

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed one night at Governer's Mansion before climbing Adam's Peak and we mostly enjoyed our stay. We understood the roads in Sri Lanka are a bit rustic, but these roads were just ridiculous. Our talented driver did an amazing job driving up, trying his best to avoid the potholes, but the ride that could have taken 20 minutes ended... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
787christhetraveller, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

"Words are like leaves where they are much abound much sense of truth is rarely found". This review reminded me of something I had learnt during my college dates. I agree that the main road was in a poor state. How could you not notice that they are busy repairing it. RDA had to clear the potholes, clean the culverts... More

Moratuwa, null, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is fabulous & a amazing hill country retreat in the beautiful Otterly tea estate with the stunning views of the Holy Adams Peak offering heavenly comfort. Highly recommend for any community even the expatriates to experience as an unforgettable getaway of a lifetime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location and the property are fantastic. We enjoyed the bike ride and walk in the area. It is relax in an old English style in the Sri Lankan highlands. Compared with other similar locations during our Sri Lankan trip, we found the food not great. But it is not dramatic. When we were there, there was only one other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GOVERNORSMANSION, General Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

I am sorry to note that our cuisine did not meet with your personal expectations. We do our utmost to please all our valued guests and in this instance I can only apologise that we could not please you completely. It could have helped us if only you had highlighted your requirements to our experienced guest service coordinators. Our staff,... More

Been to Governor's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Mansion

Also Known As:
Governor`s Mansion Hotel Hatton
Governor`s Mansion Hotel
Governor's Mansion Sri Lanka/Hatton
Address: Ottery Bungalow | Ottery Estate, Hatton, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya District > Hatton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FULLY RESTORED ENGLISH STYLE MANSION SET ABOVE 4700 FEET ABOVE SEA LEAVEL IN THE TEA VALLEY OF DICKOYA. OFFERS THE GUESTS A TRIP BACK IN TIME WHERE BRITISH PLANTERS MADE IT AN EXCLUSIVE HOME. FREQUENTED BY ROYALTY IN THE PAST. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Governor's Mansion to your Saves list