We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Hatton hotels

Governor's Mansion

Save Saved
You added Governor's Mansion to your Saves list
Ottery Bungalow | Ottery Estate, Hatton, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (47)
  • Photos (47)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Governor's Mansion
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hatton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    6
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Having married just a few days earlier, my new husband and I decided to climb Adam's Peak for our first adventure as man and wife. We booked the Governors Mansion as our base for the last couple of days of what had been an idyllic trip. We arrived to the hotel, which is in a stunning location- the views are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
chrismanagergm, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

We are shocked to note the contents. Two guests did stay at the GM during the period. We have file notes to suggest their behaviour was far from socially acceptable. There were VVIP guests present during the period as well. There is some truth with regards to making the VVIP guests most uncomfortable with the couples conduct. The couple were... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a nice stay at Governor's mansion – for two nights in March. The staff were very friendly and very efficient. When we arrived late in the evening, our large amount of laundry was ready for us early the next day. The grounds and surrounding valley are beautiful. Well worth walking around for a few hours in the hills... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chrismanagergm, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We try to cater for all preferences. We agree with you that we should encourage our guests to consider Sri Lankan cuisine. Experienced travelers do want to try local cuisine rather than other dishes from all around the world. We will discuss with our client relations coordinators and the chefs. You will be pleased... More

Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just returned from a warm, sunny, relaxing holiday in Sri Lanka and a very enjoyable stay at the Governor's Mansion. One of the fellow guests who were at the GM during our stay wrote in the hotel guest book, "Heaven cannot be far away from here" referring to the GM. As a christian I cannot share the sentiments in its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GOVERNORSMANSION, General Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments that are of the highest order. We will thrive to enhance our service delivery to you our valued guests. We were privileged to be given the opportunity to show our own brand of hospitality. Look forward to you and your family returning to the Governor's Mansion in the future. More

London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The good: beautiful grounds and gardens, lovely scenery. Very good facilities - tennis court, croquet, bikes, full size beautifully maintained snooker table. Plenty of rooms for lounging,, games, etc. Nice, although limited, walks. Can take 45 min car journey to reservoir. So perfect place to do nothing except play tennis and read, except..... Not so good: although staff are super... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrismanagergm, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

Thank you for all the positive comments made about the Governor's Mansion. The remarks are accurate with regards to “the good: as you refer to the comments”. GM stands proud in the middle of 147 acres of tea and one is not limited to stimulating walks. One can undertake walk to ones hearts content and never be limited? We need... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at the Governor's Mansion for two nights in mid-January 2014 and enjoyed it very much. The location is stunning -- up in the highlands, on a hill in the middle of a tea plantation. The mansion sprawls over a large property with lovely gardens filled with tropical flowers and trees. If you are into gardening, this is the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Franksilva20, General Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks based on the perception of the services and facilities we offer at the Governor's Mansion. We place a lot of importance on how our valued guests experience their stay at the Governor's Mansion. We will continue to make desirable changes to maintain our quality service and enhance the quality offered in every respect. It... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

- Wonderful views overlooking the tea fields from the hotel - Lovely garden - Great staff, which was very flexible and service minded - standard food - Expect a bumpy ride up to and down from the hotel due to the road's poor condition. On our way home, it took our driver about 30 minutes to get us down from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
787christhetraveller, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

We appreciate your valuable remarks. I am sorry to note that you felt the food was standard. We have such an extensive menu and choices available and as you state our staff i.e. client service co-ordinators and chefs are there to meet with your requests. We have looked at the items you have requested and served. It would have benefitted... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It is hard to criticise such a marvellously situated property,it is breathtaking....this combined with it's beautiful garden,and excellent staff make any critique appear churlish...but it has to be said the dinner was truly awful.The quality of the ingredients was poor to say the least,the steak was frankly inedible . As a general comment we would add that Sri Lankan hotels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
787christhetraveller, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

No such person from Kandy Sri Lanka has checked in at the Governor's Mansion. We challenge the person to come forward and offer genuine credentials via Trip Advisor or directly and prove to us all, when you claim you stayed at the GM. You picked the wrong dish altogether. We do not serve steak from Sri Lanka but instead offer... More

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We recently had a one night stay at the Governor's Mansion and this was located in a fairly remote and hard to access location but we were prepared for this and the bumpy roads and enjoyed the whole process as part of discovering and relishing the fact that this is still not a commercial operation overrun by tourists. Once we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
787christhetraveller, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

We thank you for your review of the Governor’s Mansion. We agree with the valued guests that we are very fortunate with the location in an area which is still not overrun by people and commercialized. I am sorry to note that the cuisine was only OK and not up to your expectations? We do cater for many guests from... More

Oxford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This historical hotel has a wonderful position amongst the tea plantations with views to die for and it's own immaculate gardens within the immediate surroundings. We were slightly daunted on arrival not least of all by the terrible access road; there seemed little evidence of repairs promised to previous reviewers. However, we soon forgot this as we were welcomed by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
787christhetraveller, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

Thank you for your genuine review of our boutique hotel. The main road (access road) did become very bad due to some problems road development authority had run into with the earlier contractor. The new contractor has completed 4/5 of the stretch of the main road. There is just 1/5 left to do and we are given to understand the... More

leeds
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
60 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had three nights here over Christmas and it was first rate. The staff were attentive down to the last detail and the food great. The rooms are splendid - we visited several - all different and with lovely views. As others have commented the road to the hotel is not in good shape but this is set to improve... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
787christhetraveller, Manager at Governor's Mansion, responded to this review

We are pleased to note that the valued guests feel they were well served at the Governor's Mansion. We thrive to improve and enhance our service delivery. Our staff appreciate your positive review and remarks. Look forward to you returning if at all possible. Thank you More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Governor's Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Governor's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Mansion

Address: Ottery Bungalow | Ottery Estate, Hatton, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Governor`s Mansion Hotel Hatton
Governor's Mansion Sri Lanka/Hatton

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Hatton with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FULLY RESTORED ENGLISH STYLE MANSION SET ABOVE 4700 FEET ABOVE SEA LEAVEL IN THE TEA VALLEY OF DICKOYA. OFFERS THE GUESTS A TRIP BACK IN TIME WHERE BRITISH PLANTERS MADE IT AN EXCLUSIVE HOME. FREQUENTED BY ROYALTY IN THE PAST. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Governor's Mansion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer