We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Weligama hotels

Weligama Bay Resort

4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Weligama Bay Resort to your Saves list
Weligama Bay Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Weligama
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014
TheSunToucher London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (123)
  • Photos (59)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • More
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    12
    13
    4
See reviews for
35
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Third visit. Expected old charm experienced years ago Ouer appearance neat when you check in but rooms have seen better days. Infact had to change room coz AC was not working. Hopeless bar. Everything out of stock if you select from the card. Staff friendly, Pool dirty. Beach good to relax. Forget bathing it's not the place. Can't complain about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katerina P, General Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear client, thank you for your valuable comments. Regarding your complaint described above, I am suggesting you, if you will visit our property next time and if you will face such a problems, please contact directly and immediately me or my staff to solve the problem on spot, in June 2014 I am not able to solve the problems you... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were here at the end of the season and so virtually had the place to ourselves. Room (garden villa) was spacious and clean, although there was a line of ants on the bathroom wall. Nonetheless, plenty of room, air con, large bathroom with bath tub and separate shower. Fresh juice and towels on arrival, lovely setting (except the horrendous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night as we wanted to go whale watching the next morning in Mirissa. On arriving it looked ok. We were served a cold drink in reception and a towel. On entering the room we noticed the towels were very dirty. Like they had been used to clean the floors then washed and given for general... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katerina P, General Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear client, thank you for your comment and let me please react as following: unfortunatelly you have not informed our staff or even me about the problems you have described in your comment during your stay in December 2013 in our property as we normally react and investigate immediatelly to satisfy our clients and make them stay more than comfortable... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great hotel, the best cuisine on the island, beach was clean, nice staff and friendly manager. We had no problem, our 4 nights were best nights on the island. Navic pro neznalé Čechy je výhodou česky mluvící managerka... Miluje čokoládu a gumový medvidky, tak si je přibalte ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

In need of a relaxing few days in Sri Lanka this hotel met our requirements. It is in a great location on the bay and the rooms have lovely views out to sea. The Marriot construction next door is very large, but over the 4 days we stayed no work was happening on the site and it did not affect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had booked a 3 night stay at this hotel. Finding no vegetarian options for breakfast on 2 day also, we politely asked for a vegetarian omelette. Also asked for basic cutlery that was missing and did not get it even after repeated reminders and after waiting for 10-15 minutes. Soured by this, we decided to opt out of breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katerina P, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear client, I have to react on your comment which is absolutely not corresponding with the reality, what exactly happen. Many time you mention in your review, I am Indian, because we are Indian etc. We keep all clients the same way even if they are from India or from Europe, America etc.... The only problem you had, you have... More

Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Super clean rooms, very tasty food in restaurant, nice staff, family swimming pool with the ocean view, hotel just few meters from surfer waves, palm tree garden and local pet Dasha:)) overall really comfortable, refreshing, family hotel in Sri Lanka. Thank you, very glad we could experinced that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
405 reviews 405 reviews
58 hotel reviews
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is definitely one of the most comfortable and well situated hotels in the Weligama Bay area. We have eaten in it on numerous occasions. It is relatively expensive, but you get what you pay for. The Sri Lankan rice and curry dishes are excellent and other foods equally tasty. The grounds are very pleasant as is the swimming pool.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
East Jutland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We spend 6 lovely days at welligama Bay resort after New Year. Everything was really nice and I think tha it is the most comfortable hotel in the area. The food is very nice and not expensive even though the hotel is quite pricy during high season. But the contruction of the hotrrible Mariot Hotel is a problem in this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We've spent there a beautiful time in the garden villa which is spacious and very simply but nicely accommodated. The restaurant offers nice variety of food that is really tasty. The staff is very friendly as at most places in Sri Lanka. We simply like it here :-) Only one bad thing is that there is a construction work of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Weligama Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer