We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Weligama Bay Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Weligama Bay Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
harveysnaps London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    43
    19
    15
    4
See reviews for
47
74
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (152)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed a week at the hotel last year with our two children and loved it. The accommodation is right on the beach, with its own pool and nice bar/ cafe. It is also really near to the turtle sanctuary, Weligama village, local temples and not far from Galle for day trips. The service at the hotel was great, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall very disappointing. The hotel itself was nice but everything else wasn't. Nice room, nice veranda, average pool and lounging area. Poor service and not great food. Lots of flies around the restaurant. Terrible value for money; everything is overpriced and not worth it. The hotel car was an appalling price also but it was worth paying to get out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for your comment and i am really sorry for the inconvenience you face during your holiday at WBR and let me please react as following: unfortunately you have not informed our staff or even me about the problems you have described in above your comment during your stay at WBR. If you complain, i will do... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: Right on the beach, nice room and verandah, nice staff, nice food Cons: 10 storey hotel construction site right next door, room is very overpriced and not good value for money, cleanliness not of a high enough standard for the price, poor Wifi signal in room We booked this late in the week after working in Colombo and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nassjo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second trip to Sri Lanka and this year we stayed at Weligama bay resort for a week in february and we loved everything about this place!! We stayed in one of their villas and it was just great. The villa was spacious and had a really comfortable bed and a the bathroom had both a bath and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MARGARETVILLE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days (we arranged a late checkout so had an entire extra day). The standard room was very comfortable with a beautiful bathroom, including large stall shower and a terrace facing the ocean. We ate all our meals at the restaurant that is near the pool and outdoors facing the ocean. Good food. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed at the garden villa for a couple of days to learn surfing. it's steps away from the beach, very nice. we felt a bit out of place as a couple as it was mostly families, however it never felt crowded, loud, etc. rooms are great, we loved the style. included breakfast is good (finally decent coffee!) but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of days and wasn't satisfied with service and facilities at all. First it's a room: the shower was smelly and not clean, the fridge wasn't working at all,the balcony was connected to neighbors balconies and was separated only with a thin wooden curtain (not a wall) absolutely no privacy. Second its a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

This is a nice hotel, easily the best on Weligama Beach. This hotel isn't in Mirissa. It is on a surf beach where lots of people learn to surf. The hotel is right on the beach, which is full of plenty of surfers. The hotel offers surf lessons. It is a shallow beach with relaxed waves. The rooms here are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and had a great time learning surfing. Hotel is located at the beautiful beach with a long line of a shallow ocean which helps to learn surfing without risking your life, especially for children. We enjoyed huge rooms and even bigger bathroom, nice buffet breakfast. Food in a restaurant is OK especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kigali
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
69 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I loved the privacy of the hotel and the fact that there weren't huge crowds or buffets - it's a nice change from most beach hotels around. The family rooms is it's own bungalow whereas the others are two rooms to a bungalow. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The pool is lovely and never overcrowded and you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question