We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Weligama Bay Resort

Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Weligama Bay Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Weligama
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Abizer R
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    43
    21
    15
    5
See reviews for
49
76
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited for lunch on the way from Matara. Very nice hotel and friendly staff. Nice environment and well kept grounds. Quality of food is nice but overpriced for the the quantity. Very small portions compared to other hotels. Good for foreign tourists but locals should probably keep as 3rd option in case. Beach area is good and shower facilities are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to bring to our attention details of your recent visit at our hotel. I know your expectation bit big portion of food after read your comment, if you are request something more from my staff, they will definitely flexible for it. And also variety of cuisine carefully prepared by our very own culinary... More 

Sweden
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is not a 4.5 star hotel, more like 2.5 star. This is why. This is the link for my video review: https://vimeo.com/126136138 There is a big constructionsite next door. No matter what the hotelmanager says the working hours is 07-21, 7 Days a week, sometimes even longer. I don´t understand The people hwo says there is no sound from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Ok priced. Nice villas which are quite spacious. Smily and service minded staff. Right on the beach. Yes there is a construction site next door but we have hardly heard it so wouldn't worry about that - though it ain't pretty.... Super nice beach that is kids friendly and at the same time good for surfing further out. Restaurant is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We stayed here for 5 days and wanted to extend our stay, the hotel, facilities and staff were fantastic. The location is fantastic for surfers, walk out straight onto the beach, pool is great and refreshing. The food was really good, for a little resort I felt the food was great with a good option to choose from, the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moraira, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

This area of Sri Lanka was badly affected by the 2004 tsunami and the marks are still evident. The hotel was rebuilt after the event and I strongly recommend it for the quality of the service and of the rooms which were spacious and well equipped with good bathroom, mini bar and safe. The breakfast buffet was good and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We stayed a week at the hotel last year with our two children and loved it. The accommodation is right on the beach, with its own pool and nice bar/ cafe. It is also really near to the turtle sanctuary, Weligama village, local temples and not far from Galle for day trips. The service at the hotel was great, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Overall very disappointing. The hotel itself was nice but everything else wasn't. Nice room, nice veranda, average pool and lounging area. Poor service and not great food. Lots of flies around the restaurant. Terrible value for money; everything is overpriced and not worth it. The hotel car was an appalling price also but it was worth paying to get out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for your comment and i am really sorry for the inconvenience you face during your holiday at WBR and let me please react as following: unfortunately you have not informed our staff or even me about the problems you have described in above your comment during your stay at WBR. If you complain, i will do... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Pros: Right on the beach, nice room and verandah, nice staff, nice food Cons: 10 storey hotel construction site right next door, room is very overpriced and not good value for money, cleanliness not of a high enough standard for the price, poor Wifi signal in room We booked this late in the week after working in Colombo and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nassjo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

This was our second trip to Sri Lanka and this year we stayed at Weligama bay resort for a week in february and we loved everything about this place!! We stayed in one of their villas and it was just great. The villa was spacious and had a really comfortable bed and a the bathroom had both a bath and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MARGARETVILLE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days (we arranged a late checkout so had an entire extra day). The standard room was very comfortable with a beautiful bathroom, including large stall shower and a terrace facing the ocean. We ate all our meals at the restaurant that is near the pool and outdoors facing the ocean. Good food. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay