We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Weligama Bay Resort

Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Weligama Bay Resort
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    76
    43
    21
    15
    5
See reviews for
51
76
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (160)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Nymburk, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were here just for one day,but it was absolutely great.Hotel has a very good location,because is on the beach.Stuff is very friendly and nice and do everything what you want.Can speak english quite well and also czech,so it was great for us.Everything is clean.WiFi is avaible in restaurant and lobby.Food was delicious,we had some sea food,soup and fruit for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warsaw
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to choose this resort due to the convenient location. Weligama Bay is a key spot for blue whale and dolphins watching and it is on the way to national parks Yale and Udawalawe and last but not least just a short ride to Gale Fort. We didn't expect much as we knew nothing about the resort and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Visited for lunch on the way from Matara. Very nice hotel and friendly staff. Nice environment and well kept grounds. Quality of food is nice but overpriced for the the quantity. Very small portions compared to other hotels. Good for foreign tourists but locals should probably keep as 3rd option in case. Beach area is good and shower facilities are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to bring to our attention details of your recent visit at our hotel. I know your expectation bit big portion of food after read your comment, if you are request something more from my staff, they will definitely flexible for it. And also variety of cuisine carefully prepared by our very own culinary... More 

Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

This is not a 4.5 star hotel, more like 2.5 star. This is why. This is the link for my video review: https://vimeo.com/126136138 There is a big constructionsite next door. No matter what the hotelmanager says the working hours is 07-21, 7 Days a week, sometimes even longer. I don´t understand The people hwo says there is no sound from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Ok priced. Nice villas which are quite spacious. Smily and service minded staff. Right on the beach. Yes there is a construction site next door but we have hardly heard it so wouldn't worry about that - though it ain't pretty.... Super nice beach that is kids friendly and at the same time good for surfing further out. Restaurant is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We stayed here for 5 days and wanted to extend our stay, the hotel, facilities and staff were fantastic. The location is fantastic for surfers, walk out straight onto the beach, pool is great and refreshing. The food was really good, for a little resort I felt the food was great with a good option to choose from, the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

This area of Sri Lanka was badly affected by the 2004 tsunami and the marks are still evident. The hotel was rebuilt after the event and I strongly recommend it for the quality of the service and of the rooms which were spacious and well equipped with good bathroom, mini bar and safe. The breakfast buffet was good and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We stayed a week at the hotel last year with our two children and loved it. The accommodation is right on the beach, with its own pool and nice bar/ cafe. It is also really near to the turtle sanctuary, Weligama village, local temples and not far from Galle for day trips. The service at the hotel was great, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Overall very disappointing. The hotel itself was nice but everything else wasn't. Nice room, nice veranda, average pool and lounging area. Poor service and not great food. Lots of flies around the restaurant. Terrible value for money; everything is overpriced and not worth it. The hotel car was an appalling price also but it was worth paying to get out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for your comment and i am really sorry for the inconvenience you face during your holiday at WBR and let me please react as following: unfortunately you have not informed our staff or even me about the problems you have described in above your comment during your stay at WBR. If you complain, i will do... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Pros: Right on the beach, nice room and verandah, nice staff, nice food Cons: 10 storey hotel construction site right next door, room is very overpriced and not good value for money, cleanliness not of a high enough standard for the price, poor Wifi signal in room We booked this late in the week after working in Colombo and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
0.0 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#2 of 10 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
0.0 mi away
W15
W15
#1 of 10 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#13 of 48 in Galle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saman Villas
Saman Villas
#1 of 27 in Bentota
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eden Resort & Spa
Eden Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Beruwala
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay