We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Laoag hotels

Grand Octagon Resort

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Airport Avenue | Barangay 50, Buttong, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Hotel amenities
Grand Octagon Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Octagon Resort to your Saves list
54%
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014
DarkPhoenix901 Luzon, Philippines
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Luzon, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Overall, good value for the price. Rooms are nothing fancy and the shower only let out hot steaming water. However, the room, pool and public areas were clean. Greatly appreciated that they accepted pets. The food was ok. However, service needs work. As stated above, only extremely hot water came out of the shower. We informed them regarding this and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you iasp for sharing your experience with us. I am constantly in contact with the manager and I am aware of what has transpired throughout your stay. I appreciate several concerns that you have pointed out. a). Accommodation & Reservation, It was recorded on our booking system that it was ONLY TWO occupants for the room that was reserved... More

Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We checked in here along with my officemates as we have a convention in Laoag last August 2013. The room is ok, it's equipped with the things that you just need for a night stay. The water in the faucet has a funky smell, I recommend that you buy a liter of water outside for your dental hygiene. I do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

MyGillian, thank you for your time and getting back to us since your last stay which was August 2013. We are pleased to hear about your experience that it was "OK" and enjoyed the sprawling garden of the resort. The water from the tap/faucet, we are not aware of this. However, we are going to immediately check and monitor our... More

Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked our stay through Asiatravel.com. It was an overnight stay for April 16. When we arrived at around 9PM, the reception was surprised to see our party of 19pax. He said that we were booked for the previous day. I don't know who made the mistake, either Asiatravel or their reception. It was good that they have the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Syimeem for taking your time in giving us your feedback. I hear your concerns clearly that there was a confusion with your booking. The agent and our team at Grand Octagon would like to apologise for this. We are currently investigating and dealing this matter. Both parties aim to provide a smooth service delivery to our customers. This... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Actually its not what I expected, but I am happy for choosing this hotel to stay for 2 nights and 3 days... Thanks to Ms. Jean for patiently answering and giving me advices during the time I was preparing everything for our stay. They also arrange our tour in laoag and pagupud. The thing we like the most during our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience Jane A. Am glad that you had a restful night which we continue to aim and maintain to deliver to our customers. My apologies for a disappointment for not providing the ILOCOS Vinegar with your breakfast, this should have not happened. And thank you for flagging this up. Ms... More

Paranaque, Philippines
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

To start the year with family time we decided to have a tour of luzon on the 1st day of January visiting friends and relatives along the way. Upon reaching Laoag,we decided to stay in Grand Octagon with 9 adults and 2 kids. We were given the family suite and much as to compare with the cozy place you'll find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review Robustus D. I am so pleased that you have chosen Grand Octagon Resort to spend your "Family Time". In addition, I am happy that that you were comfortable and cozy with the room that you stayed in. We aim to provide the food (Local Vegetable) that you desired at the restaurant when given... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
607 reviews 607 reviews
76 hotel reviews
1,142 helpful votes 1,142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Due to a change in our Cebu Pacific flight to a late flight from Manila we decided to spend a night in Laoag before heading off to Vigan. Used the airport pickup service offered by the hotel for 300 Php which was reliable. We stayed in the hotel matrimonial room. Room was small and very basic. Very rustic style Accomodation.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review tommomelbourne. First of all, I am delighted for you to have chosen our resort and thank you for taking the time for sharing your experience with us. Apologies if toiletries were not supplied as you and I have expected. I have been constantly supervising this particular area of our service and this should... More

Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Check in is fast and ok, we opted to take lunch at their restaurant as soon as we arrived but the food they have is almost no stock at all, we waited for atleast an hour to get it served and settled on what is available. The next time we just went outside and find other nearby restaurants nearby this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience at Grand Octagon resort. I would like to apologise for the service that you have experienced in ordering your food. We aim to provide a selection of food available for guest to enjoy. The unavailability of stocks is being investigated, and we do not want this to happen again. Food that... More

Olongapo City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've searched a lot of places to stay for a one night stop over in Laoag and the best I can find is Grand Octagon Resort. We have 3 kids in the family and one of their request is a pool where they can spend time playing. Since it was just a stop over, I did not choose those pricey... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Grand Octagon Resort, but I was very disappointed to hear your experience. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Grand Octagon Resort strives to provide BEST service and experience for every guest. The fixtures and room bookings that you have pointed out have... More

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days... Hospitality at its BEST!!! They will really make you feel at home!!!!Staffs and the owner are friendly... Good service, nice hotel with a character, yummy food!!!Worth the money!!!highly recomended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and will share your comments with the Grand Octagon team. This feedback will serve as an encouragement to our team to continuously strive to be the BEST. We hope to see you soon with your friends and family on your next stay. Again, Thank you for sharing... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

There were was no wow effect when We reached Grand Octagon Resort. Our junior suite room can accomodate up to 10 people as they have told us that us why we tool the place. We were 7 adults and 3kids, the room was just enough but the aircondition was too bad, its just a normal aircondition that can cool up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Octagon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Octagon Resort

Address: Along Airport Avenue | Barangay 50, Buttong, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Octagon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Octagon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Octagon Hotel Laoag
Grand Octagon Resort Laoag, Ilocos

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Grand Octagon Resort

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby